We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, excellent service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Los Angeles Harbor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles Harbor Hotel
Ranked #126 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Sacramento
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

Used Priority Club points. As a platinum member I received an upgrade to a lovely Executive Suite. The room was very nice, a corner room that is U-shaped, with foyer, living, and sleeping areas, and the bathroom in the middle. Nice large windows are on the sleeping and living sides.

Service was attentive and fast. There were plenty of staff people relative to the number of guests in the hotel when we were there, and it was never a problem to get service.

There is free self parking for hotel guests in their private lot, or you can pay $10/day for valet.

They also gave us free internet access.

Pool was a comfortable temperature.

The only drawbacks to this hotel are: the rooms weren't designed with modern gadgets in mind, so there aren't enough electric outlets. Also, there is a dispenser of a complimentary drink in the lobby, which is some kind of terrible-tasting punch. Why not just offer water or coffee?

If you are looking for a restaurant outside the hotel, we had a very nice brunch at the Think Cafe, about 1 block up Fifth Street.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite upgrade. Views are probably better from upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    188
    119
    42
    42
See reviews for
120
212
19
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

PERFECT hotel for trip to the new historic musem, Battleship USS Iowa B-61, which opens to the public July 12, 2012. Location was only 5 blocks from IOWA, within walking distance for most (except elderly of course). Shuttle and trolley were available at certain times. 8th floor room with a view of the battleship was just GREAT. Nice staff. Beautiful lobby with grand piano, chandeliers, fresh ice water and small gift shop, but not overdone. Clean large room with comfy beds, clean bathroom, clean carpeting, and free Wi-Fi. Room had open window with nice breeze, 75 and sunny, but central AC also in rooms. Highly recommended and will definitely return.
TRAVEL TIP: Prime Time Shuttle Service from LAX airport to hotel was advertised as $16 per person for 30 minute ride, but took OVER AN HOUR since the driver stopped at several out of the way neighborhoods and drove on busy roads, so very disappointed in that. On return to LAX airport, we took hotel-arranged towne car for flat fee of $65, took less than 30 minutes and great service... worth the extra money for the 3 of us.

Room Tip: Upper level room with a view of the port gave a PERFECT view of the USS Iowa Battleship for day and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

I hate to be negative, love to live in the land of sunshine and roses, but this hotel needs help. The lobby it pretty with the love boat chandeliers but that's where it stops. The elevator grinds loudly to your floor and some of the buttons don't work. The brass (totally 80's) in the elevator is grimey, although the swipe mark down the middle of the mess made it look like someone tried and then just gave up. The bathroom was tiny, the room was too. At 5'7" I could touch the ceiling. The soap was cheap, the shampoo little more than water and oddly the toilet seat was flimsy too. The cups in the rooms are the cheapest plastic cups known to man. I asked for two doubles and was told I would have to pay extra for it. When I called down for two blankets for my unfortunate tween who had to sleep on the floor I got one. I must apologize to the poor homeless person they swiped it from, it was so ratty. Part of the problem might be that I booked on Priceline and sometimes I think they save the "special" rooms for us. One positive could have been the large bank I windows overlooking the seaport and bridge, if I could see out of them for the thick layer of black dust on them. Again, on the window was one swipe that looked like someone started to clean it but gave up there too.
There are also a number of signs WARNING you about stealing towels around the pool by way of bringing them to the pool from your room. That will be $25!!!! Tacky!
Check in was fast, professional and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Los Angeles Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear Gina A,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. I am glad to see that you left some feed back on what you liked as well as what feel below your expectations. I'm deeply sorry for any inconveniences you have experienced. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve.If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, Please do not hesitate to let us know.

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

We spend the last 3 nights of our holiday in Los Angeles in the crown plaza los angeles harbor, driving down there we got afraid the place might be iffy as it is located next to the huge harbor, but we got pleasantly surprised. A nice spacious room, comfortable king bed and quiet location left us with a good nights sleep. In the direct neighborhood there's not a lot to do, but Long Beach is only 10/15 minutes away, LAX airport about 25 minutes so your close enough to all the good stuff. Free parking as well, and last day we had the buffet breakfast for 12,95 per person which was very reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveltype31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

It is not up to the standards of the many crowne plaza hotels I have stayed at.
There is absolutly no good view from any rooms. And the area around the hotel is not the safest.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Thepenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

I am one of the very few tripadvisor users reviewing this hotel while not going for a cruise trip. I booked this hotel through Priority Club's point break promotion for merely 5k points, which is a good deal and I believe the right price I would pay for this hotel is around $100-120 per night.

The hotel is located near some restaurants, but there is no sightseeing spots within walking distance. So either drive your own car, rent a car, or use the hotel shuttle. I believe they offer free ride in 5-mile range (I didn't try it, but this is according to the hotel guidebook). There is a huge pier, and a nice park with Korean pavillions in a few miles. Except that there is not too much to see. From my observation in the car, the neighborhood might not be dangerous, but also not 100 percent safe.

The hotel room is huge and spotless, well equipped with all kinds of accessories. The TV is one of those outdated CRTs, and the variety of programs is limited. I stopped by the fitness room, it's small and like other hotels there is no free-weights. The swimming pool next to it is small but looks decent, I haven't tried it though.

One negative thing about this hotel is that as a platinum member, I wasn't greeted or offered room upgrade when I checked in, the only thing the staff has done was changing the normal envelope holding the door card for a more fancy one designed for gold and platinums. They reluctantly gave more two breakfast vouchers after I ask. Even though I understand for point break bookings, elite benefit are not guaranteed, I was still slightly annoyed by their cold attitude toward customers.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank junglyhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

This is a quiet property (mid-week) near the cruise port terminal with an effective courtesy shuttle. Our room was clean and comfortable with good beds. Pleasant day time walking in the neighborhood; but limited restaurant options (okay for 1 day). Staff were friendly and attentive.

Room Tip: Good pricing may be available on Expedia (unnamed hotel option)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mr__LS99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Harbor
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro
Harbor
BEST WESTERN PLUS San Pedro Hotel & Suites
Harbor
Vagabond Inn San Pedro
Vagabond Inn San Pedro
#174 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Harbor
All Star Inn
All Star Inn
#183 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Harbor
Pacific Inn and Suites
Pacific Inn and Suites
#212 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Westside
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles International Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Los Angeles Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Los Angeles Harbor Hotel

Property: Crowne Plaza Los Angeles Harbor Hotel
Address: 601 S Palos Verdes St, San Pedro, Los Angeles, CA 90731-3329
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Los Angeles Harbor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Gem of San Pedro! In this Los Angeles seaport town, you can enjoy cultural attractions, thriving businesses and a great coastal climate year-round. Recently renovated in cool hues with pops of color, our property is the place to stay! At the Crowne Plaza(R) Los Angeles Harbor hotel you are near the Port of Los Angeles, USS IOWA Battleship and Long Beach Convention Center. With almost 17,000 sq. ft. of flexible meeting space, our hotel is a great location for business and social events. We also have a Business Center, dedicated Crowne Meetings Director and Daily Meeting Debriefs, making us "The Place to Meet." Our hotel is within minutes of the Aquarium of the Pacific, Long Beach Convention Center, Terrace Theater, cruise and ferry terminals, historic Fort MacArthur and the HMS Queen Mary. You can play a round of golf at the nearby Trump National Golf Club or hop a ferry to Catalina Island for the day or weekend visit to Crafted at POLA. For a relaxing evening, spend time at the San Pedro Gateway, watch the dancing waters and light show of the Fanfare Fountain. Masters of the art of hospitality, our friendly staff will make sure your stay is excellent. You can start your day with a Guaranteed Wake-Up Call and enjoy our outdoor pool with peak-a-boo views of the harbor, fitness center and Blu Restaurant and Lounge. Make your reservations today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Los Angeles Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles
Los Angeles Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing