We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very underwhelmed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles Harbor Hotel
Ranked #136 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Stayed here with my wedding party while preparing for our big day. Crowne Plaza did nothing to make us or our guests feel special. The rooms were clean. The breakfast was standard. The staff were not particularly friendly. The free local shuttle is useful and you do not have to pay for wifi.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evada0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Los Angeles Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear EvaDa,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. It is regrettable that your visit was not 100% satisfactory due to the service received and if the breakfast was sub standard. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. Your comments are instrumental for us to improve what we can offer to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (622)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

336 - 342 of 623 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed one night Oct 4 before our cruise departed.
Pros
Excellent pricing
Free wifi in room
Free shuttle to cruise ship (very close to port)
Many neat restaurants and pubs on either side of hotel just up the street
Cons
Very dated hotel in need of upgrade
Our first room we were given key card but it appeared when we tried to open door we could hear tv on inside and someone in room, door seemed jammed not sure what happened there but they gave us a room beside it which wad o.k. until we discovered party next door, after 2 calls to front desk it got quiet after about 1:30 a.m.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Telegramsam88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Los Angeles Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Telegramsam88,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. It is wonderful to know you appreciate the location of our hotel. We are sorry to hear that we failed to meet your expectations with the condition of our facilities. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Thank you again for your review and have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Staffs are not friendly, they watch you walk by without saying a word or offer help. Other than that, everything is average, nothing special... Nothing really to talk about neither. If I have to say something good, I like the free indoor parking.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank NY917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Los Angeles Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear NY917,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Stayed here on a Friday night. Area seemed a little sleepy at first but after walking around a few blocks very nice restaurants and artsy community. Enjoyed view of port and activities. Room was very nice. Public areas are dated and worn, especially elevators. Hallways stuffy. Restaurant looks nice and classy, ate dinner at a cafe up the street. Convenient, free parking on site. Convenient to LAX airport. Left early on Saturday morning with a short, no traffic drive to airport. They have a large pool.

Room Tip: Away from elevators,higher floor, good view from either side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevendale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I just returned from a class reunion in San Pedro. I felt like I was in a very expensive hotel, but the price was very good. I found the staff to be very professional and pleasant. Anytime I had a request or question, they responded with the help or the answer. I stayed 2 nights. The room was everything I expected to be. I have nothing but good things to say about this property and the staff there. I would highly recommend this hotel to others. Definitely worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank azroadrunnergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The rooms were pretty, well appointed and clean. The front desk was understaffed but the clerk was nice and did her best.
Food at the resturant was well presented but not especially tasty. Service at the restaurant was very slow.
I did not visit the pool but my adult niece said it was not clean. She made a face and said it was awful.
Parking was plentiful and included in the room rate.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Los Angeles Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Lynda R,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. It is wonderful to know you appreciated our accommodations. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guests needs & expectations and on this occasion we apologize for your disappointment with the service you received. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. I sincerely hope you stay with us again in the future so we can show you just how exceptional we can be.

Thank you again for your review and have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We use this hotel for a Sail and Park each time we sail Princess. For one flat rate you get a room, breakfast for two, and 14 days parking. Additional days are $10.00 a day.

Everyone is so friendly from the Valet to the Bell Desk Staff. Only down side is the food is pricey but good.

The General Manager always seems to be in the lobby, chatting with regular customers and making sure each guest has a top notch experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a Harbor View and you might see your cruise ship come in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Harbor
Best Western Plus San Pedro Hotel & Suites
Harbor
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro
Harbor
Vagabond Inn San Pedro
Vagabond Inn San Pedro
#190 of 355 in Los Angeles
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westside
Four Points by Sheraton Los Angeles International Airport
LAX Area
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Los Angeles Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Los Angeles Harbor Hotel

Address: 601 S Palos Verdes St, San Pedro, Los Angeles, CA 90731-3329
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range: £97 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Los Angeles Harbor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Gem of San Pedro! In this Los Angeles seaport town, you can enjoy cultural attractions, thriving businesses and a great coastal climate year-round. Recently renovated in cool hues with pops of color, our property is the place to stay! At the Crowne Plaza(R) Los Angeles Harbor hotel you are near the Port of Los Angeles, USS IOWA Battleship and Long Beach Convention Center. With almost 17,000 sq. ft. of flexible meeting space, our hotel is a great location for business and social events. We also have a Business Center, dedicated Crowne Meetings Director and Daily Meeting Debriefs, making us "The Place to Meet." Our hotel is within minutes of the Aquarium of the Pacific, Long Beach Convention Center, Terrace Theater, cruise and ferry terminals, historic Fort MacArthur and the HMS Queen Mary. You can play a round of golf at the nearby Trump National Golf Club or hop a ferry to Catalina Island for the day or weekend visit to Crafted at POLA. For a relaxing evening, spend time at the San Pedro Gateway, watch the dancing waters and light show of the Fanfare Fountain. Masters of the art of hospitality, our friendly staff will make sure your stay is excellent. You can start your day with a Guaranteed Wake-Up Call and enjoy our outdoor pool with peak-a-boo views of the harbor, fitness center and Blu Restaurant and Lounge. Make your reservations today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Los Angeles Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles
Los Angeles Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing