We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst experience ever!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vagabond Inn San Pedro
Ranked #191 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The worst experience ever!!!!”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This hotel is a disaster. We didn't even go into the room they gave us (which was the only one left according to the night manager) because as we approached it there were multiple transient type people hanging out on the railing off the 3rd floor who were loud, drinking and illegal substances being used. There was some female who was yelling at who knows what-we weren't staying to find out. Our safety felt compromised and there was no way I'd take my family into that unacceptable environment. The manager was a complete jerk. Disrespectful, rude, condescending... Beyond the worst I'd ever encountered...ever. I have no clue how there could be positive reviews after what we saw with our own eyes, the infestation of nasty people and the unexcusable way we were treated when we refused the room. We've stayed at many other hotels and have had great experiences that we've shared in other reviews...unfortunately this one was very bad. There are so many other affordable, clean, and safe hotels in the area that do not have the riff raff hanging out, loitering in the corridors that would be a much better choice for the traveling consumer in the area. Sad we had to find out the hard way!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    99
    51
    28
    27
See reviews for
89
102
18
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Murrieta, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2013

My family and friends were taking a Graduation Celebration Cruise from Long Beach. I called the Vagabond Inn and the General Manager, Mr. Shiblee Ahmed, gave all of us a great rate which included breakfast, free shuttle transport to the cruise Port and leaving our cars at the hotel while we were on the cruise. He even honored the same price for family members who made their reservations at the last minute. The hotel was clean and the staff was polite, extremely helpful and our cars were safely protected while we were on the the cruise. Mr. Shiblee went out of his way to make sure that everyone had what they needed. If you are looking for a pre-cruise budget hotel, I highly recommend that you stay here.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with a fridge and TV. It is usually the same price if you have a group...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCM59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Very nice manager. Very nice women at the front desk. Breakfast of fruit, muffins and fresh coffee every morning. Very good Internet speed for a hotel. Stayed for a week when I was on business. Would stay here again definitely.

Room Tip: Some rooms have big LCD televisions some have old televisions. Also some rooms had an iron with an i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Stayed at this hotel on our Catalina Island getaway weekend. This hotel is located about a mile from the port, shopping, restaurants and the Catalina Express, riht by the freeway exit. Very convenient location. The rate was reasonable when I booked it and when I saw the room, I knew it was a steal!! The rooms are clean, the beds are very comfortable. The hotel sorroundings are kept nice as well. The pool was clean and kept. The staff was friendly and helpful.
The best thing I could say is that I've already referred other friends to go stay there this Memorial weekend!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

First time staying in San Pedro before boarding our ship.
Good choice my daughter made for us and their free shuttle to the ship was a bonus! Their driver was very friendly and chatted with us on the way. The assistant manager was a plus.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front will be noisy because of the busy street; rooms facing the back are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eatsallinsects
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Stayed in Vagabond Inn overnight before a cruise. Used SuperShuttle from LAX and free hotel shuttle to the cruise terminal. I would have given a top rating except for the fact that internet was not operating while we were there(and we had been counting on it for some last-minute communications and tourist info), and staff did not seem particularly concerned about it - a common occurrence, or a one-time problem??
-some touches we did not expect from a budget property, such as offer to carry our bags to our room, microwave for guest use in the office, personal check to make sure room was in order and all lights, Tv, etc in fine working order
-manager was friendly and extremely helpful with recommendations re restaurants and public transportation
-receptionist allowed me to use the office computer to look up a phone number
-room spacious with large desk and large counter next to sink (it's a pet peeve of mine when chi-chi properties have modern bathroom fixtures with absolutely no place to put your toiletry bag)
-basic in-room toiletries and "breakfast" (coffee and doughnut)
-location convenient -- we took the bus (just 25 cents for seniors!) a block and a half away - #205 north took us to Trader Joe's, then the bus back took us to the recommended Mexican restaurant Puesta del Sol (see my review).

-a relaxing way to start a cruise vacation - i would highly recommend this hotel -- just don't assume internet will be working

Room Tip: -rooms at the back are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chinookgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

everything adequate you'd want and expect for price. walk to places to eat (we went to pizza place, $ 10 also selling pitchers of beer, walk out front door to Rt and on Rt side off Street in strip mall) also a dollar store same direction other side of street to stock up b4 cruise. brkf and shuttle to cruise ship free. from airport $ 38 / 2 Super Shuttle took 1 hr. no hair dryer, bad light to read by.

Room Tip: we stayed in back and it was quiet. the door to room opens to an outside hall, like a motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ReadyToGoMore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Harbor
All Star Inn
All Star Inn
#187 of 351 in Los Angeles
33 reviews
Harbor
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles Harbor Hotel
Harbor
Best Western Los Angeles Worldport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Americas Best Value Inn
#2 of 2 in Rancho Palos Verdes
41 reviews
Harbor
Pacific Inn and Suites
Pacific Inn and Suites
#229 of 351 in Los Angeles
101 reviews
Harbor
Best Western Plus San Pedro Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Inn San Pedro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn San Pedro

Property: Vagabond Inn San Pedro
Address: 215 S Gaffey St, Los Angeles, CA 90731-2431
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn San Pedro 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Vagabond Inn San Pedro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn San Pedro Hotel Los Angeles
Vagabond Hotel San Pedro
Vagabond Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing