We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for short stays”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vagabond Inn San Pedro
Ranked #186 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good for short stays”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Centrally located. Room is clean and quite spacious with a a king bed, value for money. But a glass wall... Picture perfect when viewing the street but for sleeping..quite uncomfy for the psyche. Heavy curtains can be pulled to cover the glass pane. Attendants are accommodating. Continental breakfast in a separate room, not a dining area. Ice available all day. Good for backpackers or a short stay.

Room Tip: Request for a room nearest the front entrance and nearest the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MayetRomero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    99
    51
    28
    26
See reviews for
89
102
18
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed one night in our way to LA. It was clean, convenient, no luxuries but is not what you’re looking for here, with a reasonable price. Great location if you’re taking a boat to Catalina, either from San Pedro or from Long beach. It took us 10 minutes to reach Long Beach port.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yucca Valley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Our stay at the Vagabond was a worry free experience, Emmelin at the front desk was very friendly, professional and had answers for my inquisitive children. They were children friendly! I had frequented this hotel in the past and this was by far one of our better experiences! prices reasonable and rooms clean. the only negative was no coffee pot in the room, overall my family would use this hotel again.

Room Tip: If traveling with children, ask for a microwave or fridge to keep light snacks. Ground level room su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julianna s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This hotel is a disaster. We didn't even go into the room they gave us (which was the only one left according to the night manager) because as we approached it there were multiple transient type people hanging out on the railing off the 3rd floor who were loud, drinking and illegal substances being used. There was some female who was yelling at who knows what-we weren't staying to find out. Our safety felt compromised and there was no way I'd take my family into that unacceptable environment. The manager was a complete jerk. Disrespectful, rude, condescending... Beyond the worst I'd ever encountered...ever. I have no clue how there could be positive reviews after what we saw with our own eyes, the infestation of nasty people and the unexcusable way we were treated when we refused the room. We've stayed at many other hotels and have had great experiences that we've shared in other reviews...unfortunately this one was very bad. There are so many other affordable, clean, and safe hotels in the area that do not have the riff raff hanging out, loitering in the corridors that would be a much better choice for the traveling consumer in the area. Sad we had to find out the hard way!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Murrieta, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2013

My family and friends were taking a Graduation Celebration Cruise from Long Beach. I called the Vagabond Inn and the General Manager, Mr. Shiblee Ahmed, gave all of us a great rate which included breakfast, free shuttle transport to the cruise Port and leaving our cars at the hotel while we were on the cruise. He even honored the same price for family members who made their reservations at the last minute. The hotel was clean and the staff was polite, extremely helpful and our cars were safely protected while we were on the the cruise. Mr. Shiblee went out of his way to make sure that everyone had what they needed. If you are looking for a pre-cruise budget hotel, I highly recommend that you stay here.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with a fridge and TV. It is usually the same price if you have a group...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCM59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Very nice manager. Very nice women at the front desk. Breakfast of fruit, muffins and fresh coffee every morning. Very good Internet speed for a hotel. Stayed for a week when I was on business. Would stay here again definitely.

Room Tip: Some rooms have big LCD televisions some have old televisions. Also some rooms had an iron with an i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Stayed at this hotel on our Catalina Island getaway weekend. This hotel is located about a mile from the port, shopping, restaurants and the Catalina Express, riht by the freeway exit. Very convenient location. The rate was reasonable when I booked it and when I saw the room, I knew it was a steal!! The rooms are clean, the beds are very comfortable. The hotel sorroundings are kept nice as well. The pool was clean and kept. The staff was friendly and helpful.
The best thing I could say is that I've already referred other friends to go stay there this Memorial weekend!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Harbor
All Star Inn
All Star Inn
#188 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Harbor
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles Harbor Hotel
Harbor
Best Western Plus San Pedro Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Americas Best Value Inn
#2 of 2 in Rancho Palos Verdes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Harbor
Pacific Inn and Suites
Pacific Inn and Suites
#231 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Harbor
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Inn San Pedro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn San Pedro

Property: Vagabond Inn San Pedro
Address: 215 S Gaffey St, Los Angeles, CA 90731-2431
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #186 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn San Pedro 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vagabond Inn San Pedro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn San Pedro Hotel Los Angeles
Vagabond Hotel San Pedro
Vagabond Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing