We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Carriage Inn
Ranked #51 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersBronze level
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Just not great”
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

This is absolutely a 2 star hotel. How it got listed as 3+ is beyond me, it's a motor inn, a motel you see by the freeway on your way through town. That's not to say it was terrible, I just can't think of anything good to say about it. Upon exiting the rickety elevator we were greeted with two young people smoking pot right by our rooms door. They blew the smoke right at us and laughed. It was not a good way to start, the skunky marijuana smell stayed a good while.
The room was ok, it just isn't anything fancy at all. The lobby is a drive up, they have nothing like a nice hotel has. It's perfect I guess if you truly just want to stay the night somewhere comfortable and close to the freeway. But if you're looking for any type of amenity, you won't find it here.
There IS actually a pool. And the wifi is free. Parking is free too, if you're fortunate enough to actually find a spot. Denny's is a 15 second walk across the parking lot. I'm still not sure why it's called "best western plus".? Plus?
Plus what? Minus is more like it here. ;)

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ElleWalters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPCarraigeinn, Manager at Best Western Plus Carriage Inn, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
On behalf of our team, I would like to apologize for not meeting your expectation during your recent stay with us.

We accommodate many guests each evening, and we strive to make their stay
A satisfying one. The principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service
to all of our guests at reasonable prices. Consequently, it's disappointing to learn that you're not satisfied.

Please accept my sincere apology.

I want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive from our
Guests are taken seriously. They tell us what we're doing right, what we're
doing wrong and how we can improve. Your willingness to share your recent experience is genuinely appreciated.

Please be assured that the issues you've raised have been addressed, and the appropriate action has been taken.

Again, I want to thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    418
    184
    70
    49
See reviews for
423
245
89
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2013

This is the worst hotel in the best western chain I have stayed. The AC was not working. There was lot of repair work going on. The hotel was not clean and staff were very unkind. Though it was near to universal, it was no value for the money we spent.We paid almost 120$ for the room which was not worth it. Also,there was not complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarithaVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPCarraigeinn, Manager at Best Western Plus Carriage Inn, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip Advisor. On behalf of our team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. The issues you had experience during your stay is not the standard for our hotel and therefore it is disappointing to hear about your stay. These issues noted have been addressed with our staff to ensure a better experience for all of our guests. I also apologize about the problems with the air conditioning not working which was a result of an electrical issue which has since been corrected. Our first priority is the overall satisfaction of our guests and it is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide a superior customer service.

Please feel to contact us directly with any questions or concerns you may have at 818-787-2300.

Sincerely,
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carriage Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I always stay at this hotel when on business in LA and further north. Being at the junction of the 405 and 101 freeways it offers great communications (depending on the time of travel). Clean and functional bedrooms are fine for business but not glamorous. A good mid range hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
232 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This was much nicer than I expected. I chose it based on it's location to the 405. A quick exit on and off. It reminds me of the old-style motor lodges. I felt it was a reasonably good price, compared to some other hotels I've stayed in that weren't nearly as clean. My only beef, and it's no fault of the hotels, is that a few people woke me up by yelling at night, or talking loud on the phone outside - which tended to echo throughout the complex.

It's a little annoying that tour buses seem to be parked outside all the time I was there. It made finding it initially more difficult, and certainly more difficult getting out of the parking lot into LA traffic.

All staff I encountered were very friendly and helpful. A pleasant change.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank deruo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I frequently visit LA on business and I always stay at this hotel. It offers value for money and a good level of comfort and cleanliness. It is not luxurious or glamorous The staff are always friendly and helpful. There is free parking unlike LAX hotels. It is pretty easy to get into LA, Beverly Hills, Santa Monica and also the Valley (avoid rush hours).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granbury
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Service was very good as were the rooms. Both check in and out were quick and staff courteous, food @ the Denny's was decent and within walking distance. Will use this hotel again when in the area as it is close to the main freeway system.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here in June this year while travelling across the USA after booking groupon deals for a few best western hotels. This hotel on arrival looked great, the staff were friendly and helpful and we were checked in quickly. The room was large, clean and well appointed, the bed was very comfortable and the large television and fridge were definite plus points. We ate at the Dennys that was on-site and had some excellent meals in there.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
South San Fernando Valley
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda
Harbor
Best Western Plus San Pedro Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South San Fernando Valley
Hilton Woodland Hills/Los Angeles
South San Fernando Valley
The Sherman Hotel
The Sherman Hotel
#115 of 351 in Los Angeles
42 reviews
Airtel Plaza Hotel
#114 of 351 in Los Angeles
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Carriage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Carriage Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Carriage Inn
Address: 5525 Sepulveda Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 91411-3438
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > South San Fernando Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
#24 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#25 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#47 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#60 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Carriage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Carriage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Carriage Hotel Los Angeles
Best Western Carriage Hotel
Best Western Los Angeles
Los Angeles Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing