We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine little business spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Los Angeles Sherman Oaks
Ranked #74 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fine little business spot”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

You're right off the highway, the rooms are clean, the lobby is nice, the wifi works well... no frills, but thats not what this hotel is going for. Only complaint is that the rooms are locked with glass sliding doors- no windows to speak of- and the balconies outside (which you cant access anyway) are pretty old/filthy.

I had a room overlooking the pool and the highway and a gas station. I am guessing the view from the other side of the hotel was significantly better....

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nb424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G, General Manager at Courtyard Los Angeles Sherman Oaks, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear nb424,

Thank you for sharing your experience at The Courtyard by Marriott in Sherman Oaks. I'm glad to know that our property fit your business needs.

As you noted, we are located very close to freeways in Los Angeles. Our location at the intersection of the 405 and 101 freeways is one of the property attributes which makes it an ideal location for many business travelers. Unfortunately, surrounded by freeways, many of our guest room views do include where those of us who live in Los Angeles spend much of our lives. For future reference, our guest rooms on the higher floors offer more expansive views of the Hollywood or San Fernando Hills.

Our guest room windows and doors do offer limited access to the outside. This is required by building code in Los Angeles, but also a feature for the safety of our guests. We do recognize the importance of building cleanliness both on the inside and out. I'm sorry that you found your balcony area to be worn and dirty. I am reviewing our balcony cleaning process with our engineering team to improve your future experience of our building.

Thank you again for sharing your feedback. We appreciate you choosing our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Courtyard by Marriott in Sherman Oaks.

Very best,

Paul Gardner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    142
    30
    7
    7
See reviews for
103
55
11
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

The location of this hotel is excellent and the staff was very welcoming and helpful. We got into LAX late and grabbed hamburgers in the hotel restaurant - outstanding! {{outstanding hotel food is not all that common}}. Parking was easy and secure.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G, General Manager at Courtyard Los Angeles Sherman Oaks, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Kimberly M,

Thank you for sharing your experience at The Courtyard by Marriott in Sherman Oaks. Our team always appreciates our guest's comments and feedback.

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your meal in our restaurant and bar after a long day of travel. We are pleased to offer a made-to-order menu for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. We also offer room service 24 hours a day.

It was great to share your service comments with our team. We are always focused on providing outstanding service from the time our garage attendants greet you, to your final interactions with our team. I'm pleased you found our team welcoming and helpful.

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you back in Sherman Oaks for your next visit to Los Angeles!

Kind regards,

Paul Gardner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Hotel is good, staff friendly...very near Galleria mall...good eating choices nearby....rooms were clean..bed was comfortable...The hotel had a goof business center, pool and work out facility...view from 8th floor was great

Room Tip: I would choose high floor...view is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anurag A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G, General Manager at Courtyard Los Angeles Sherman Oaks, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Anurag A,

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your experience at The Courtyard by Marriott in Sherman Oaks! Thank you for your review.

We are always focused on maintaining our facility and service standards to ensure that you have a comfortable and enjoyable experience. I'm pleased to hear that you got the chance to use our recently upgraded business center as well as many other hotel amenities.

Thank you for sharing your experience!

Sincerely,

Paul Gardner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanab, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My friends and I are on a wonderful trip across America and I've stayed in many nice hotels. This Courtyard is AMAZING! Doesn't feel like a Court Yard and it was a last minute booking. It was central to the freeway system, TONS of restaurants and the staff was INCREDIBLE! Rooms were clean and HUGE! Good price, great location, could not have found a better place to stay for a few days if we had looked. The pictures represent this hotel perfectly! LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE this hotel! AND the price!

Room Tip: Maybe ask for second floor. First is handi-capable
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lana b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G, General Manager at Courtyard Los Angeles Sherman Oaks, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Iana b,

Thank you for your kind review of The Courtyard by Marriott in Sherman Oaks. I'm very happy to see that we exceeded your expectations!

We are fortunate to have a great facility with a full fitness center, outdoor pool and spa, and a full service restaurant. I'm pleased that you enjoyed our many amenities.

We are also very lucky to have a terrific team of individuals who recognize that our guest's experience is always our focus. It's very rewarding to read and share your comments with our team.

Thank you again for your review. We hope to see you again on a future trip across America!

Very best,

Paul Gardner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Big for a Courtyard, this is convenient for travel to the Ventura/Selpulveda area. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The workout room has a nice selection of equipment. There's a wide variety of restaurants within a few blocks, as well as the lobby cafe and room service. There are 3 improvements they could make that would transform my next visit:
1. Have coffee available in the lobby when the cafe is closed
2. Have more reliable wifi (it was down one morning when I needed it for work)
3. Have working radio on the clock-radio. Currently there are 3 station presets, all of which play static. You can't tune to other stations. So the "radio" plays only static. If one sets the alarm to wake to radio, the only sound the alarm plays is static ... which may not wake a sound sleeper.
Overall, a decent place, but they could do a little better.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street. There's a nearby fire station.
See more room tips
Green Features: Really appreciate the recycling/water use initiatives.
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToniOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G, General Manager at Courtyard Los Angeles Sherman Oaks, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear ToniOhio,

I'm pleased that you enjoyed many aspects of your visit and I appreciate your valuable feedback.

I'm sure it was frustrating to be left with the impression that we don't offer coffee throughout the day. Challenges with your internet connection must also have been distressing, and finding your I-Home radio settings not tuned to a station must have been concerning when you were relying on this for your alarm. I'm sorry that your experience included these shortcomings.

We do recognize that it is important to always have a fresh cup of coffee available for our guests. We are pleased to offer Starbucks Coffee at any time in our Cafe. During the hours between lunch and dinner service, there is always someone available in our Guest Services Team to assist you with a fresh cup of coffee or your favorite Starbucks specialty drink. As you'll see on signage posted at the bar, please feel free to ask our Guest Services Team for assistance with coffee during these afternoon hours.

During your visit, we had a very unusual interruption to our internet connection. We worked with our vendors to provide a temporary fix to this challenge on Sunday evening and we were able to secure the new server required by Monday afternoon. I do recognize that some of guests experienced intermittent challenges and I'm pleased to assure you that this issue was quickly resolved.

Your feedback regarding your I-Home settings has lead to a program where all I-Homes are pre-set with radio channels that we anticipate our guests will enjoy. I very much appreciate your feedback and I'm pleased to tell you that we've taken action to ensure that we offer you a better experience on your next visit.

Thank you again for your review of The Courtyard by Marriott in Sherman Oaks. Our goal is to continuously improve our guest's experience and your feedback is critical in that process.

Our team looks forward to hosting you on your future visits to Los Angeles.

Very best,

Paul Gardner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. George, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

If you must be in the Sherman Oaks area then the Courtyard Sherman Oaks is as good place to stay. Great front desk, free snacks (I'm a Marriott Platinum member, they may not be free if your not) and a small restaurant bar that serves good food. If you up for it there is a Cheesecake Factory about three blocks East.

Beds are comfortable and the room are clean.

I have stayed there on several occasions and not been disappointed.

Room Tip: I did not notice any street noise; however as a general rule the higher the room the better for less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G, General Manager at Courtyard Los Angeles Sherman Oaks, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Tim S,

Thank you for being one of our many repeat guests in Sherman Oaks. Thank you also for your loyalty to Marriott Hotels!

I'm very pleased to hear that you have consistently had a good experience at our property. We are one of the larger Courtyard by Marriott Hotels in the Los Angeles area. Because of this, we are able to offer some expanded amenities, like a full service restaurant and bar with made to order dining available for breakfast, lunch, and dinner daily. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your dining experience.

Our team will look forward to your future visits to Los Angeles. Thank you for choosing The Courtyard by Marriott in Sherman Oaks and thank you again for your loyalty to Marriott Hotels.

Sincerely,
Paul Gardner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Super easy to find and parking was a breeze. I actually think it was easier to park in the garage after check in and then bring luggage up from the garage since the elevators of directly to the floors you need (with a room key). We were checked in swiftly and told about the great pool and hot tub on deck 4 which we didn't have time to use. There are so many dining options in the surrounding area an it is right next to the Sherman Oaks Galleria. We actually went downstairs and grabbed a light snack from the bar and the bartender was very nice and chatty while we waited. The rooms were very nice as well. We will definitely return to this Courtyard.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tululahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G, General Manager at Courtyard Los Angeles Sherman Oaks, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Tululahh,

I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Los Angeles and The Courtyard by Marriott in Sherman Oaks!

As you mentioned, there are many great restaurants within a short walk from the hotel. Some of the well known brands like Cheesecake Factory and PF Changes are located at The Galleria next door, while Ventura Blvd offers many unique options, including one of the oldest restaurants in Los Angeles, The Valley Inn.

I'm pleased that you found our property easily and that your arrival process was pleasant. Located at the corner of the 405 and 101 freeways, we are both easy to find and accessible for travelers coming to Los Angeles from all directions.

Thank you for your review and thank you for choosing our hotel. Our whole team will look forward to your future visits!

Very best,
Paul Gardner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
South San Fernando Valley
The Sherman Hotel
The Sherman Hotel
#125 of 351 in Los Angeles
46 reviews
South San Fernando Valley
Best Western Plus Carriage Inn
Best Western Plus Carriage Inn
#45 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Universal City Area
Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel
Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel
#99 of 351 in Los Angeles
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Los Angeles Sherman Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Los Angeles Sherman Oaks

Property: Courtyard Los Angeles Sherman Oaks
Address: 15433 Ventura Blvd, Sherman Oaks, Los Angeles, CA 91403-3003
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Los Angeles Sherman Oaks 3.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Los Angeles Sherman Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Los Angeles Sherman Oaks Hotel Los Angeles
Los Angeles Courtyard
Los Angeles Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing