We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints, considerably better than expected.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 Los Angeles Sylmar
Ranked #263 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Brummie in London
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“No complaints, considerably better than expected.”
Reviewed 23 August 2012

My brother and I ended up here on our way up from Buena Vista towards Six Flags Magic Mountain. It was a late night find thanks to McDonald's free Wifi just as I was about ready to pass out. Having read the reviews on here, expected the worst but couldn't fault it and ended up staying 5 nights in total and using this as our base for Six Flags, Universal, a self-driven tour of Greater LA and a stop-off before heading up Highway 1.

Two clean, comfortable double beds in a recently redecorated bedroom with a good-sized shower-room and decent tv. Paid wifi internet ($3 for 24 hours) was quick and secure.

Didn't use the pool, did hear that someone else had their car broken into on our first night (I believe they'd left a skateboard on the back seat) but we had no such problems. Upon arrival around midnight, there was a security guard based near the car-park entrance and so that was where we parked, with nothing left on show in the car: it's basic common sense and what I'd do anywhere.

We did consider checking out and relocating a little closer to downtown for the last couple of nights, but in the end decided against it as we were so happy with the room and it was easier to drive another 10 - 15 minutes than risk checking in somewhere else and not being as happy. Safe to say, we'd stay there again if we were looking to visit the same areas.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WWEGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    13
    11
    16
    11
See reviews for
19
9
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012 via mobile

This is my second review on this motel
The reason is that after the first review
I was still in the room
But the longer my family stayed there the more we itched So I decided to go out to the car and get my high intensity flash light so I could look around at the mattress after holding the light for a while
A whole bunch of little clear bugs started to scurrie around
And yes of course I grabbed my family and stuff, got a refund and left
Room 114

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richstief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012 via mobile

Cockroach was a small one
Only two small towels for three people
Small room
I think I'll pay a little more next time
No wonder it's the only vacancy I could find

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richstief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCJim1
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

No frills here but very clean room, good bed and lots of room space. I had no problem with the area al all just a little far from where I was spending most of my time. Nice people at the front desk. Clean public area and lots of very good parking. I will stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCJim1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawton, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We stayed for 5 days visiting our daughter. I was hoping for the best and was pleasantly surprised! Our room was clean and smelled good everyday, beds made and it was very quiet. Had a room near the office on bottom floor, no problems and security guard was on duty at night. Walking distance to Denny's and McDonald's. Would stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank popcrnluvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

Considering the neighborhood problems, this motel is not bad. You can tell that they are trying. The motel is surrounded by a chain-link fence, and there is a security guard on duty at night. When I saw the disclaimers on the rental agreement, I asked the clerk what sorts of things went on there. He shrugged and gave me a telling look. I said, "I probably don't want to know!" He said, "No, probably not.". (I was just too tired to look further for a better place. I got a room upstairs for more safety, and removed EVERYTHING from my car.)
Pros: clean room & bath; typical small, thin towels, but they were clean; NO BUGS!! (we had fresh fruit from a fruit stand, and the juicy litter from same, and no nasty visitors to help us eat our bounty); attentive management; extra security; very low price for LA; free parking; loud a/c fan (believe me, you want this)
Cons: sketchy neighborhood; REALLY loud road noise (even with the loud a/c fan and a sound machine turned on high, I could still hear the 18 wheelers); separate fee for wi-fi (but unlike another reviewer, I had no problems with the connection); very small room (beds were against the walls. Thank goodness there were no bugs!); no refrigerator; no counter space in bathroom.
Bottom line: I don't expect much from a Motel 6. There wasn't anything about the room itself that would have been a deal breaker. However, my main concern in renting a motel room is that it be safe for me, my family, and also my car. Like I said, the management is definitely tryng to provide this, but I still would not stay here again. We used the wi-fi to find a better room in a better location, (for a whole lot more money!), and checked out the next day.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank An0nM0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2011

This hotel is exactly where you need to stay if you want a clean room at a great price. We are driving from Washington to southern california and wanted a good room for the price but from some of the reviews we were a little weary but it has turned out to be a great hotel. Located in a quiet area, and had a dennys next door which was great for breakfast. We are staying in a 2 full bed smoking room which had no bad aroma when we walked in. The only bad part is there is no fridge or microwave, and the shower is a lil small.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2CachePirates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
North San Fernando Valley
Good Nite Inn Sylmar
Good Nite Inn Sylmar
#110 of 350 in Los Angeles
307 reviews
North San Fernando Valley
Travelodge Sylmar CA
Travelodge Sylmar CA
#205 of 350 in Los Angeles
351 reviews
Harbor
Vagabond Inn San Pedro
Vagabond Inn San Pedro
#188 of 350 in Los Angeles
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North San Fernando Valley
Ramada Chatsworth
Ramada Chatsworth
#227 of 350 in Los Angeles
482 reviews
Monterey Inn
#217 of 350 in Los Angeles
16 reviews
Harbor
All Star Inn
All Star Inn
#192 of 350 in Los Angeles
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Los Angeles Sylmar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Los Angeles Sylmar

Property: Motel 6 Los Angeles Sylmar
Address: 12775 Encinitas Ave, I-5/Golden State Freeway at Roxford Street, Los Angeles, CA 91342-3517
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > North San Fernando Valley
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #263 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Los Angeles Sylmar 2*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Motel 6 Los Angeles Sylmar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Los Angeles
Motel Six Los Angeles
Los Angeles Motel 6
Los Angeles Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing