We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap, thin walls, bad smell” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 Los Angeles Sylmar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Motel 6 Los Angeles Sylmar
Ranked #269 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Plymouth
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Cheap, thin walls, bad smell”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

I don't expect much from hotels at this price but having stayed in a number of Motel 6's this month I can see quite a difference in quality and facilities. This one has good wifi, my 1st room was small and ok but had to move because of 2 uncontrolled children next door keeping me awake due to the very thin walls. The office were understanding and moved me. The second room smelt bad, like cat pee and hadn't been aired for some time but was preferable. There's a McDonald's and a Denny's very close by, a good place to stay if you're heading to Six Flags.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EdWinchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    12
    10
    14
    11
See reviews for
17
8
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Waterville
Level Contributor
137 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

THE PLUS. It's cheap, for So. Cali area. Room ok. Typical Motel 6.
THE CONS. Felt uncomfortable from the time we pulled in, until we left! During check in, they required our ID's to make copies! My husband had to come out to me, in the car with the kids, to get my driver's license. After removing everything from our car, we walked to Denny's right next door for dinner. As we walked back, a police cruiser sat outside and I stopped to chat. Officers said it's a "busy area". He said we would have been better to continue north and go just over the ridge, to the next town and stop for the night. I asked the officers about the photo copies of our ID's and they said "yes, it's a city ordinance. We run checks on guests during the night".
FINALLY. If you want a good nights sleep, do not stop here.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Brummie in London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

My brother and I ended up here on our way up from Buena Vista towards Six Flags Magic Mountain. It was a late night find thanks to McDonald's free Wifi just as I was about ready to pass out. Having read the reviews on here, expected the worst but couldn't fault it and ended up staying 5 nights in total and using this as our base for Six Flags, Universal, a self-driven tour of Greater LA and a stop-off before heading up Highway 1.

Two clean, comfortable double beds in a recently redecorated bedroom with a good-sized shower-room and decent tv. Paid wifi internet ($3 for 24 hours) was quick and secure.

Didn't use the pool, did hear that someone else had their car broken into on our first night (I believe they'd left a skateboard on the back seat) but we had no such problems. Upon arrival around midnight, there was a security guard based near the car-park entrance and so that was where we parked, with nothing left on show in the car: it's basic common sense and what I'd do anywhere.

We did consider checking out and relocating a little closer to downtown for the last couple of nights, but in the end decided against it as we were so happy with the room and it was easier to drive another 10 - 15 minutes than risk checking in somewhere else and not being as happy. Safe to say, we'd stay there again if we were looking to visit the same areas.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WWEGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012 via mobile

This is my second review on this motel
The reason is that after the first review
I was still in the room
But the longer my family stayed there the more we itched So I decided to go out to the car and get my high intensity flash light so I could look around at the mattress after holding the light for a while
A whole bunch of little clear bugs started to scurrie around
And yes of course I grabbed my family and stuff, got a refund and left
Room 114

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richstief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012 via mobile

Cockroach was a small one
Only two small towels for three people
Small room
I think I'll pay a little more next time
No wonder it's the only vacancy I could find

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richstief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCJim1
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

No frills here but very clean room, good bed and lots of room space. I had no problem with the area al all just a little far from where I was spending most of my time. Nice people at the front desk. Clean public area and lots of very good parking. I will stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCJim1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawton, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

We stayed for 5 days visiting our daughter. I was hoping for the best and was pleasantly surprised! Our room was clean and smelled good everyday, beds made and it was very quiet. Had a room near the office on bottom floor, no problems and security guard was on duty at night. Walking distance to Denny's and McDonald's. Would stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank popcrnluvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
North San Fernando Valley
Good Nite Inn Sylmar
Good Nite Inn Sylmar
#112 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
North San Fernando Valley
Travelodge Sylmar CA
Travelodge Sylmar CA
#190 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
North San Fernando Valley
No photo provided
Econo Lodge
#258 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South San Fernando Valley
Super 8 North Hollywood
Super 8 North Hollywood
#175 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Los Angeles Sylmar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Los Angeles Sylmar

Property: Motel 6 Los Angeles Sylmar
Address: 12775 Encinitas Avenue, I-5/Golden State Freeway at Roxford Street, Los Angeles, CA 91342
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > North San Fernando Valley
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #269 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Los Angeles Sylmar 2*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Motel 6 Los Angeles Sylmar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Los Angeles
Motel Six Los Angeles
Los Angeles Motel 6
Los Angeles Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing