We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night staff!”
Review of Airtel Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Airtel Plaza Hotel
Ranked #114 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great night staff!”
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel is a bit dated & not as clean as I prefer, but the night staff were so charming and accommodating it was amazing! Gary the night mgr was excellent & was training new employees who hopefully will be as great as he is. The shuttle really needs a sign up sheet, be warned it's not very reliable. The breakfast is overpriced but does offer some hot food selections. The pool & hot tub were well-maintained. The restaurant offers good food. I stayed in rm 325 with a view of a brick wall. & pool. However I recommend this room as it was relatively quiet, not on the airport side or the highway side. The walls are very thin & the door did not reach the floor & daylight can be seen all around the door, making noise from the hallway very loud. All in all, great night staff, pretty good rooms, a good value. I would stay there again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank kalaska64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    140
    85
    44
    33
See reviews for
120
66
50
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I recently stayed at the Air Tel while attending a nearby conference. As a frequent traveler, I have stayed in more hotels than I can count, and trust me when I say this one is exceptional. While the decor of the lobby is really cool and the rooms are excellent, it is the people that put Air Tel over the top. Every staff member was so friendly and helpful. I wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else when I am in LA. Air Tel is a rare jewel!

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Thurman H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coronado, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Our family booked this hotel last minute and we were all treated so well! The service and the smiles at the Airtel was the best we encountered throughout our two week trip throughout CA. The rooms were clean and spacious, great bathroom space for our family, we liked the separate sink area away from the shower. The bar and restaurant was not only delightful, but the food was terrific and reasonably priced, and had great comfort food. Pool area was cute and great the see the planes take off as we laid there. We will absolutely stay there again in our next trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline1129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Stayed one night at the Airtel. It was the only place available at short notice on the northern approach to LA after it turned out our intended hotel had double booked and did not have a room for us.
Despite the late booking the rooms were reasonably priced and were clean and spacious, no problem getting extra rollaway beds for the kids. Decent sized swimming pool too which was a bonus. In-house restaurant was surprisingly good; saved us the effort of scouting the area for alternatives given our late arrival.
Staff were very helpful in processing the reservation and getting us checked in.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Nothing fancy but very adequate and the view from your Jacuzzi tub is outstanding! Nice pool area as well. But the private 2 person Jacuzzi tub on your own balcony is what I loved. When I say private - the airplanes and control tower can see you so ... beware of that. However at night - not so much. Watch the planes and jets take off and land right in front of you.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanJoseMarieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We purchased a stay at this hotel at the last minute, via Priceline. What a pleasant surprise. The restaurant was wonderful. GREAT service, our waiter was so nice. The bar is quite nice and has been completely remodeled. We enjoyed our stay, and the kids swam in the pool. We will absolutely stay here again when we are in Los Angeles. Great place. Great price.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pearl0208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel last minute online for a discount.
Overall our stay was fine. We had a room at the back of the hotel near the pool area. The airplanes are actually quite loud which was annoying, especially when trying to sleep. We could also hear kids playing and crying in the room next to us. We kept the A/C on to try and drown out the noise but it didn't help much.
The hotel itself is actually very nice. There are model airplanes and pictures with descriptions. We did not use any of the amenities such as the pool, jacuzzi, gym, restaurant or bar.
Our room was large and clean.
Internet was free and fast.
Parking was $10 per day, self parking.
The location is okay, we didn't hang around the hotel but it's close to the highway.
The staff were very nice.
I probably would not stay at this hotel again just due to the noise and the price.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dollyvancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
South San Fernando Valley
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda
South San Fernando Valley
Best Western Plus Carriage Inn
Best Western Plus Carriage Inn
#49 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,083 reviews
Westside
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles International Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South San Fernando Valley
Hilton Woodland Hills/Los Angeles
Westside
Four Points by Sheraton Los Angeles International Airport
LAX Area
Custom Hotel
Custom Hotel
#213 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airtel Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airtel Plaza Hotel

Property: Airtel Plaza Hotel
Address: 7277 Valjean Ave, Van Nuys, Los Angeles, CA 91406-3425
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Airtel Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the modern, hangar-inspired architecture to the 24-foot Pan Am 747 suspended in the lobby, everything about the Airtel Plaza Hotel feels fresh and exciting, perfectly capturing the "in the moment" spirit of visiting someplace new. Access is everything in Los Angeles, conveniently located next to Van Nuys Airport, there's only one hotel -the Airtel Plaza Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Airtel Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airtel Plaza Hotel Los Angeles
Airtel Plaza Los Angeles
Airtel Los Angeles
Airtel Hotel Van Nuys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing