We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely would stay again”
Review of Airtel Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Airtel Plaza Hotel
Ranked #110 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Santa Clara, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definitely would stay again”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

My sister (who's very picky about customer service) chose AirTel as the hotel of choice for her wedding guests. I came in from out of town and stayed for a weekend, along with about 40 others who were attending the wedding. Brian, the director of guest relations, was fantastic. I found the majority of their hotel staff to be incredibly friendly, and they went out of their way to make our stay a good one. They provided an excellent environment, especially considering the low cost. They definitely over-delivered on value and didn't seem interested in nickel-and-diming us for more money. I would not hesitate to stay again or recommend them to friends.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean_Olivier, Manager at Airtel Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Steve M,

Thank you for choosing the Airtel Plaza Hotel on your most recent visit to Van Nuys, and for taking the time to share your experience. We are absolutely delighted that Brian exceeded your expectations. Additionally, we are extremely happy that all of the wedding guests in your party had an enjoyable experience. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    146
    90
    45
    33
See reviews for
129
67
50
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Juneau, AK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I really enjoyed staying here. The staff is excellent. Gary Montinola at the front desk is really awesome. The rooms are very comfortable. The pool is roomy. Nice hot tub. It is a very relaxing place to stay at. The shuttle drivers are very accommodating.

Room Tip: I stayed in the tower building. Though there is airplane noise from the airport (which is sporadic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean_Olivier, Manager at Airtel Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Carolyn S.

Thank you for choosing our hotel on your most recent visit to Van Nuys, and taking the time to tell us about your stay. Gary will be so pleased to hear that he exceeded your expectations. We are very glad that you enjoyed our pool and hot tub facilities as well. We are looking forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I stayed for two nights at the Airtel Plaza Hotel while attending a conference in the hotel. I could not have been more pleased with my entire experience!

The staff were all very friendly and helpful, and the front desk staff in particular went above and beyond with every service provided. When I asked if they had a place I could keep my luggage in the time gap between check-out and my train departure, they offered me late check-out at no additional charge.

The room was very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. Great pillows and a heavier comforter that was nicely covered duvet-style in clean white sheets, so I felt much better about laying on it and having it touch my face knowing everything was fresh just for me. Nice, thick bathroom towels.

I didn't go in the pool but the outdoor hot tub was nice and clean, and the pool area was clean and well maintained, pool towel bin was well-stocked.

The restaurant breakfast buffet was tasty with a nice variety of food choices and good coffee.

The complementary shuttle I took to the train station was clean and comfortable, and the driver was friendly and safe.

Even though I was at the Airtel Plaza Hotel over the Valentine's Day/Presidents Day weekend and the hotel was busy, the staff remained calm and courteous. Overall, truly I had a perfect stay. Thank you!

Room Tip: The floor layout can be a bit confusing, so if navigating a larger building with two separate elevat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJess_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean_Olivier, Manager at Airtel Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear DJess_11

Thank you for choosing the Airtel Plaza for your accommodations on your most recent visit to Van Nuys, and for taking the time to tell us about your wonderful experience. We pride ourselves on the friendliness of all of our staff members. We are glad that your room exceeded your expectations and that you also enjoyed Landings Restaurant. On your next visit please try our Clipper Cafe and Clipper Club Lounge for a bite to eat or a relaxing drink after a long day. We are already looking forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mookie2000
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I was pleasantly surprised at the cleanliness of the hotel and friendliness of the staff which made the stay to be quiet nice. It was definitely worth the price they charge for a nightly stay.

Normally i stay at a larger hotel chains but the convention i was going to booked at this hotel and wasn't too sure about what to expect. The first night was in a room that did look really sketchy and did have a mold smell. I asked to move rooms and was moved to a new room in the newer part of the building which had much nicer and more comfortable rooms. From there on it was a really good experience.

I would give it 5 stars if management did 2 things: A) made sure the older rooms were fixed up to deal with the mold smell in the few rooms that still have them (none of my other friends' rooms in that part of the hotel had the same problem, so i think it was specific to my room) and B) put in a room safe in each of the rooms for personal items like laptops etc.

Otherwise, it was a good hotel at a really inexpensive price point with friendly staff.

Room Tip: If you want to move rooms after checking in, don't touch the bed and they can change rooms the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mookie2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean_Olivier, Manager at Airtel Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Mookie2000,

Thank you for staying with us, and for taking the time to share the details of your most recent experience. I am very glad to hear that the staff and cleanliness of the rooms were remarkable. I was sorry to hear that the first room did not meet your expectations. Feel free to reach out to me via email at sean@airtelplaza.com, so we may rectify the issues you experienced. With respect to not having in room safes available, we do offer safety deposit boxes at guest reception to store your valuables. I am looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Whenever I have long training sessions with the US Census Bureau in Van Nuys, we are booked here. I love it. Great friendly customer service begins the moment I walk up to check in till I check out. Spacious rooms with all the amenities and anything you would ever need, free hi speed internet, plus microwave ovens and small refrigerators on request. I enjoy the outdoor garden with pond and waterfall, the outdoor court with tables and fountain and the shuttle service. After a hard day of training, I came back ready to relax. There was a knock on the door, and it was service with smile offering me 2 freshly baked cookies still warm. I'm still wondering how they knew what my 2 very favorite cookies were!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camille G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean_Olivier, Manager at Airtel Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Camille G.,
Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience with us. We were absolutely delighted to hear that we exceeded your expectations with the level of customer service provided. It sounds like you really enjoyed the wide array of amenities we offer, from an in room microwave upon request, to our beautiful outdoor courtyard area. We were very glad that you were surprised with the cookie delivery as well. We are looking forward to welcoming you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I was taken care of, from check in to check out. Gary at the front desk offered a warm welcome and sincere accommodations-he fulfilled my request to be on the highest floor away from the elevator (for quiet). The girls at the Clipper Café are wonderful and offer tips on life and love while brewing up my favorite coffee drink. I was met by smiles from all of the staff and was able to get a lot of work done from the hotel during my business trip, including sending some faxes and enjoying high speed internet. The renovated gym was great when I needed to unwind.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the runway
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean_Olivier, Manager at Airtel Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Anne L.,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your most recent visit. We will make sure that we share your experience with Gary, as well as the Clipper Cafe staff. Our team members take great pride in providing superior levels of service to our guests. We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Stayed for 5 nights on business. Amazing property with all the aviation displays and pictures. All the workers, from front desk to bar and food service were exceptional and friendly. My room was very clean and could not have been better. If you have to stay in this area, there is no better.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank konalizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean_Olivier, Manager at Airtel Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Konalizza,

Thank you for choosing the Airtel Plaza Hotel on your most recent visit to Van Nuys. We are delighted that you enjoyed the aviation displays throughout the lobby, as well as the service provided by our Guest Reception and Food and Beverage teams. We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Westside
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles International Airport Hotel
South San Fernando Valley
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda
The Westin Los Angeles Airport
#52 of 350 in Los Angeles
3,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#47 of 350 in Los Angeles
2,483 reviews
South San Fernando Valley
Hilton Woodland Hills/Los Angeles
LAX Area
Hilton Los Angeles Airport
Hilton Los Angeles Airport
#88 of 350 in Los Angeles
4,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airtel Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airtel Plaza Hotel

Property: Airtel Plaza Hotel
Address: 7277 Valjean Ave, Van Nuys, Los Angeles, CA 91406-3425
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Airtel Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the modern, hangar-inspired architecture to the 24-foot Pan Am 747 suspended in the lobby, everything about the Airtel Plaza Hotel feels fresh and exciting, perfectly capturing the "in the moment" spirit of visiting someplace new. Access is everything in Los Angeles, conveniently located next to Van Nuys Airport, there's only one hotel -the Airtel Plaza Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Airtel Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airtel Plaza Hotel Los Angeles
Airtel Plaza Los Angeles
Airtel Los Angeles
Airtel Hotel Van Nuys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing