We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Suprise”
Review of Airtel Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Airtel Plaza Hotel
Ranked #110 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
SAN FRANCISCO
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant Suprise”
Reviewed 1 May 2009

I wasn’t expecting a lot for $129 in Los Angeles but this hotel far exceeded my expectations. The rooms were very clean and spacious. The hotel was equipped with a heated Pool, Spa and workout room which I couldn’t keep my kids out of. The Hotel had a reasonably priced restaurant actually a good value considering how good the food was. The best part of our stay was the overall welcomed feeling my family received by the staff; they were just all so helpful and polite,

Can wait to return to the Van Nuys area again!!

Sincerely,

Mike D.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ONTHEMOVE_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    146
    90
    45
    33
See reviews for
129
67
50
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2009

I stay at the Airtel pretty frequently when I am in CA. Overall its a solid price (great value using priceline, $60) and has a nice restuarant and bar.

The rooms are large, with a nice desk area and large bed.

Its right near the Van Nuys airport and close to the 405.

This it not some plush Marriott, but its on par with a Radisson and chains like that.

I give it a a solid 4 stars for the priceline value I get and the nice bar on site.

Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Bowden68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, KS
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2008

This room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Why would I not give it an above average rating then? Well, the entire hotel is in need of updating. Although my bathroom was clean, it was also pink/salmon with a pink shower curtain to match. The television was the smallest I've seen in any hotel I have ever stayed at - maybe 13 inch. They can also use some tips on professionalism. Also, like someone else said, you will pay for everything else. I ordered room service - fruit bowl, pancakes, and O.J. and it was $27. It was good, but I thought $27 was pretty expensive for what I got. Don't get me wrong, my stay wasn't bad, it's just that the hotel is average. I would probably stay there again if at the Van Nuys airport.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GT6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2008

I have stayed at this hotel repeatedly for both business and pleasure, and found it to be a great value. The rooms are spacious, clean, and nicely decorated, and include a desk and computer docking station. The rooms are quiet, the staff friendly, and the hotel has a great bar, and nice landscaping.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank xmascolors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hills, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2008

My family was quickly evacuated last week due to the Sesnon Fire. We were not home when they evacuated so needless to say we had no clothes, underwear, toiletries, etc. We waited until 9:00 p.m. to see if we would be allowed to go home but were told that we would not be able to access our home at all. We called other local hotels who quoted us ridiculously high rates, even though we told them we were evacuation victims. The Airtel was so helpful when we called, they quoted us a great rate, supplied us with toothbrushes, razors, toothpaste, soap, etc. They held our room for us while we went to work and even gave us coupons for the breakfast buffet (I have two kids who had to get to school). They simply went out of their way to ease our minds and make us as comfortable as possible. The next day, they held our room until we found out if we were able to go home or not, we were not, so they extended their hospitality to us for another day and gave us breakfast coupons for the next day as well. There were some other evacuated families there as well who had the same great experience that we had. I want to thank the entire staff and management for coming to our rescue in our hour of need and being so gracious and accomodating during a very trying time for our community.

  • Liked — Friendly and accomodating staff
  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Mimi079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2008

2 night stay in june 2008 , room facing front of building, clean and tidy , bathroom fine , no issues.
usesd bar in evening which was never over busy , comfortable surroundings and reasonable prices for the drinks, eat for one night in Restaurant which was not as expected , the lady who lead us to our table was a little more interested in her private phone call , so she kept us waiting , she took us to our table and sped off, there was only 1 other person in the room, we waited 20 minutes for a waiter to take our requirements, the Tuna which was ordered was awful , it was raw , apparently the Chef advised through the waiter that it was served that way in the Hotel, it was inedible and they did not charge..
Breakfast was Buffet style and was fine , every thing was fresh and the waiters very polite and helpful , they were tipped, suffice to say the previous evening they missed out.
A swimming pool is sited to the rear of the Hotel , very nice ,warm and when we visited plenty of room, there is also a hot tub to enjoy, it is hot so be warned.Right next to the Hotel is the Van Nuys Airport , with private jet planes flying in and out , I can not remember hearing them at night.
It is a pleasant simple Hotel and I would have no hesitation in revisiting in the future.

  • Liked — clean , tidy and quiet
  • Disliked — poor service at dinner
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bispu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waxahachie, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2008

This is a no frills but good hotel. You can get a great rate but you will pay for any extras. I got a rate of $69.00 through Priceline and that was far below what the other hotels are averaging. You will be charged $10 a day for parking, $3 for internet usage (free wireless though), no provided breakfast, and 1 cup of coffee in maker provided in the room. I also asked for a courtesey upgrade to a suite since none were occupied but was quickly denied unless I wanted to pay.

The hotel itself was very clean and I was impressed that the maintenece staff took as much pride on the outside grounds as they did on the inside. The airport next door is extremely busy and sometimes the small jets were very loud but never noticed the noise during the night. I was usually awakend around 6 or 7 am by aircraft. The two spas by the courtyard were well maintained and the courtyard itself was very nice. The main pool is quite a walk though from the tower rooms. I also believe the tower rooms are much bigger and better for a family. The beds were very nice as well. We never heard noise from any other room but that is usually dependent on who is next to you.

I did not have a problem with the neighborhood. It seemed safe enough and the parking lot was secured nicely with a paid parking attendant. We really did not find any restaurants in the area that we wanted to visit. The area is aging as well as the eating places. If you are flying into LAX and taking the Flyaway to the hotel, get ready to walk. I might walk if I was by myself and carrying a duffle bag. Otherwise, be sure you have transport to the hotel. I am guessing a half of a mile or more.

Getting in and out of the hotel lot was very easy. You are about a mile or two to the 405 and traffic to the highway was never an issue. We visited Hollywood, Beverly Hills, Venice Beach and Universal Studios. It took about 20 minutes to get to Hollywood. Traffic was always heavy but moving. It was actually a nice trip through the mountains.

I would suggest this hotel if you are willing to drive a little. We spent 4 days there and I ended up using a little more than half of tank of gas going to all the places I mentioned above.

  • Liked — Affordable
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tminton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Westside
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles International Airport Hotel
South San Fernando Valley
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda
The Westin Los Angeles Airport
#52 of 350 in Los Angeles
3,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#47 of 350 in Los Angeles
2,481 reviews
South San Fernando Valley
Hilton Woodland Hills/Los Angeles
LAX Area
Hilton Los Angeles Airport
Hilton Los Angeles Airport
#88 of 350 in Los Angeles
4,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airtel Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airtel Plaza Hotel

Property: Airtel Plaza Hotel
Address: 7277 Valjean Ave, Van Nuys, Los Angeles, CA 91406-3425
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Airtel Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the modern, hangar-inspired architecture to the 24-foot Pan Am 747 suspended in the lobby, everything about the Airtel Plaza Hotel feels fresh and exciting, perfectly capturing the "in the moment" spirit of visiting someplace new. Access is everything in Los Angeles, conveniently located next to Van Nuys Airport, there's only one hotel -the Airtel Plaza Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Airtel Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airtel Plaza Hotel Los Angeles
Airtel Plaza Los Angeles
Airtel Los Angeles
Airtel Hotel Van Nuys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing