We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded our expecations, good choice if going to Universal on a budget” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Airtel Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Airtel Plaza Hotel
Ranked #115 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Exceeded our expecations, good choice if going to Universal on a budget”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2010

After staying at several 4 star hotels in our family trip, the Airtel really caught us by surprise. Was here for 3 nights and had a great time with my family. Stayed in a suite with our kids, asked for a room with a fridge and microwave and they accomodated us. The pool area was great, as we got to watch these cool jets and helicopters take off, so the kids and us loved it. We were concerned with proximity since right on the private Airport, but surprisingly, the stay was quiet, even in the rooms. In the 3 hotels we stayed at in our journeys, this one was our favorite. The staff really is what we figured made the difference, and the other reviews that I read on thishotel were pretty accurate. ITheir Universal Package with hotel and discount tixkets were cheaper than any of the hotels we shopped around that were closer to Universsal. For those that want a tip, I suggest taking the complimentary hotel shuttle to the Metro less than a mile away and take the Metro to Uiversal, so for about $1.25 each and 20 minutes later, we were at the bottom of Universal Shuttle stop. The hotel sold us the Universal Tickets at a discount, which helped alot. We really enjoyed our stay and will recommend to others visiting LA for sure.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaylac_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    133
    81
    44
    33
See reviews for
117
63
50
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
phoenix
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2010

my husband and I were in a tour of LA with others and we voted this was the nicest of the places we ended up staying, hands down! The employees were quick and eager to help and made sure we were comfy during brief stay. As a tip to other travelers, if you crave excellent Thai food, there is a restaurant called Kinnara that is less than a mile from hotel that wasnot a hole in the wall, small but elegant actually, the best Thai food we ever encountered and great food presentation. The fried catfish is to die for! There's even a Japanese S"ushi place open til 1am that we found terrific. Wish they were all near our home. We will be returning soonto Airtel, Cant wait.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ktkphx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2010

Not knowing the Valley very well, we chose the Airtel for its value and recommend from friends we were visiting nearby and even though its not a chain hotel, we didnt know what to expect but we were pleasantly surprised. Our room came with breakfast and appreciated the free wifi. Friendly staff and enjoyed dining at their lovely restaurant. We sat outside and enjoyed ourselves in comfy setting (had two meals there and thought food was delicious and big helpings - loved the braised shortribs and kids enjoyed the spaghetti bolognese). Even though room did not come with refrigerator and microwave, you can rent one for $5 a day, which was fine with us to put leftovers in. Good hotel and will recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grant81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2010

Stayed here for three nights and here are Pros: The room was nice, big, clean. Had courtyard room on ground floor which had nice view. Free,full breakfast (not continental) came with room, nice! Great bar, made friends with other hotel guests and locals, very friendly atmosphere. You can eat same food at bar from restaurant menu, enjoyed eating at bar, since I am a single traveler. Kurt the bartender was the best! Ate all my meals at the hotel as a matter of fact, which was really good, especially for a hotel restaurant. Cons: had to leave after the fourth day - only wish I could've been here longer! Will return when doing business in the area.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodtheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2010

This is the third time I've stayed at the Airtel and I gotta tell you, I am becoming a loyal fan. It's nice to stay somewhere where they all recognize you, feels like a second home. Everyone I was in contact with, from bellman to waiters and front desk was prompt, friendly and professional. Room was comfy, roomy and spotless. Free internet and big bathroom a plus. Next time I am in town, I will treat my wife to try out one of their outdoor jacuzzi suites. This business traveler will be back to this hidden gem!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaelwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2010

I picked this hotel based on the tripadvisor review. However, I couldn't say that I was happy with the decision. Here are some pros and cons about the hotel:
Pros: large and spacious room; good exhaust system in the bathroom; breakfast included; free internet.
Cons: no central control for the AC/heater unit so it was always too hot/cold; some of the rooms have windows that are facing each other so you can see the patrons on the other side;
so so breakfast; no refrigerator/microwave; somewhat dated room.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian5900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lompoc, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2010

I had the best experience staying at the Airtel Plaza Hotel. Everyone that works there is incredibly nice and personable. I had four girls total staying, and that one room was more than large enough for all of us to have plenty of space. The rooms were immaculately cleaned every day. The restaurant on-site was fabulous! I have zero complaints about the hotel, everything was perfect and for the price, it is almost ridiculous. I'm coming back to the area in a couple months and already have the hotel booked :) And the staff is as good as it gets anywhere. Loved them.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
South San Fernando Valley
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carriage Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carriage Inn
#54 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
South San Fernando Valley
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda
Hollywood Historic Hotel
#107 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South San Fernando Valley
Hilton Woodland Hills/Los Angeles
South San Fernando Valley
The Sherman Hotel
The Sherman Hotel
#117 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
South San Fernando Valley
Colony Inn North Hollywood
Colony Inn North Hollywood
#110 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airtel Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airtel Plaza Hotel

Property: Airtel Plaza Hotel
Address: 7277 Valjean Ave, Van Nuys, Los Angeles, CA 91406-3425
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Airtel Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the modern, hangar-inspired architecture to the 24-foot Pan Am 747 suspended in the lobby, everything about the Airtel Plaza Hotel feels fresh and exciting, perfectly capturing the "in the moment" spirit of visiting someplace new. Access is everything in Los Angeles, conveniently located next to Van Nuys Airport, there's only one hotel -the Airtel Plaza Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Airtel Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airtel Plaza Hotel Los Angeles
Airtel Plaza Los Angeles
Airtel Hotel Van Nuys
Airtel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing