We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“somewhat of a rough landing”
Review of Airtel Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Airtel Plaza Hotel
Ranked #110 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
The Woodlands, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“somewhat of a rough landing”
Reviewed 17 March 2007

The hotel is just ok. Some of the rooms have been refurbished, and they are decent. However, when one comes off the elevator, there is no arrow pointing to the direction of the rooms. The guest is left to guess, and this hotel has many hallways. Also, there is no sign directing you to the lobby. This hotel is not in the greatest area. There are NO decent places to eat anywhere close, unless you want to take a chance and eat at the nearby "Kitty Club"(no thanks)!
I also really resent that you have to pay $9 to park. I suggest you drive a few more exits off of the 405 for a better hotel.

  • Liked — the Price
  • Disliked — The $9 parking fee
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Happyhubby&Daddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    145
    88
    45
    33
See reviews for
126
67
50
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Federal Way, WA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2007

This is without a doubt the best hotel in Van Nuys, CA. We have stayed here many times to visit family in the area. We use our AAA discount (the desk requests to see your AAA card at time of check-in). The rooms are generously sized and clean. The restaurant serves a good breakfast. We were pleased to see the addition of a coffee bar in the lobby during this last visit.

The only negative is that this hotel is adjacent to the Van Nuys airport (thus the name Airtel). There is a partial curfew from 11PM to 7AM prohibiting aircraft departure (no curfew on landings). We were awaken around 6:30AM by the airport noise each morning - the jets are quite loud. Getting an early start each day did allow us more time for tourist activities and visiting relatives.

  • Liked — Clean rooms
  • Disliked — Paying for hotel parking & Jet noise
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max-Huckleberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2006

My company sent me out to stay here. the service was terrible, the staff sucked! the food was over priced for the quality and just an over all bad experience, there were flys in the restaurant and dirty linens.. once we checked in, the hotel room smelled of mold. my wife and i looked at eachother and did not want to be there the next day we checked out and went to the hilton a few blocks down where the price was maybe $20 bucks more but the quality was 100 times better.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — the place was worn down and old
  • Tips/Secrets — there are better hotels a few blocks down, stick with them.
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank aliciastar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2006

This property may not be for everyone, but if you are an airline buff...if you are a movie buff... a history buff...if you want a chance to get some great airplane shots...if you are just sick of the same old, same old....then you will want to stay here. Starting with the wonderful scale model of a Pan Am 747 that hangs in the lobby, staff dressed in airline uniforms, around the world clocks and a collection of airline memoribelia that astounds, I would have to rate it five star. The rooms are very comfortable and the staff very accomodating. It has a wonderful cafe, a very nice restaurant and a beautiful lounge. Just remember that you are going to be on an active airport...even so there is little action between 10p.m. and 6a.m. A good nights sleep was not a problem and we couldn't wait to get up and watch all the airport action. This is a fun property! Do try it!.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
Thank SUEMILLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sCOTTSDALE, az
1 review
Reviewed 8 September 2006

This is a jewel in Van Nuys.....The property is upscale and the staff is professional and very friendly!!!
The restaurant is a class act...great food and again, upscale service.....an added treat to all this is being so close to the Van Nuys Airport and watching the beautiful Lear jets....I and friends will be back!!!

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
Thank kayedeedid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Van Nuys, CA
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2006

The Airtel is what you make it. Although an older hotel, and yes some of the rooms are dated it really takes you into another world, aviation. I was in one of their suites with the jacuzzi on the outdoor patio overlooking the airport runway, absolutely wonderful! My husband and I sometimes just go there to get away from it all. The food is wonderful and the staff too. It's our own secret getaway. Not much within walking distance, however lots to do with transportation. Recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank misnvegas9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles, ca
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2006

Stayed at the hotel last month, the place is old and outdated, as i was walking down the hallway it smelled of mold... and the smell got worse in the sleeping room, the wallpaper is chipping and the carpets are stained, there are nicer motels out there than this hotel, i was very disapointed that i got this hotel through priceline. will never stay again.

  • Disliked — the smell of mold
  • Tips/Secrets — go to the Courtyard Marriott that is down the street, for a couple of dollars more you can get a hell of a better product!
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank firstinla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Westside
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles International Airport Hotel
South San Fernando Valley
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda
LAX Area
Hilton Los Angeles Airport
Hilton Los Angeles Airport
#85 of 351 in Los Angeles
4,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westside
Four Points by Sheraton Los Angeles International Airport
The Westin Los Angeles Airport
#53 of 351 in Los Angeles
3,417 reviews
South San Fernando Valley
Best Western Plus Carriage Inn
Best Western Plus Carriage Inn
#45 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airtel Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airtel Plaza Hotel

Property: Airtel Plaza Hotel
Address: 7277 Valjean Ave, Van Nuys, Los Angeles, CA 91406-3425
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Airtel Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the modern, hangar-inspired architecture to the 24-foot Pan Am 747 suspended in the lobby, everything about the Airtel Plaza Hotel feels fresh and exciting, perfectly capturing the "in the moment" spirit of visiting someplace new. Access is everything in Los Angeles, conveniently located next to Van Nuys Airport, there's only one hotel -the Airtel Plaza Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Airtel Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airtel Plaza Hotel Los Angeles
Airtel Plaza Los Angeles
Airtel Los Angeles
Airtel Hotel Van Nuys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing