We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed bugs and beyond!!!!”
Review of Airtel Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Airtel Plaza Hotel
Ranked #109 of 352 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed 28 November 2010

I was moved 3 times due to bed bugs in my room.. The housekeeping manager pretended that it was an ant but did confirmed by hotel manager that it was bed bugs.. I will never recommend th eproperty to anyone..Also elevator was not functioning all the time. Staff was not trained at all and housekeeping was not helpful with my children. too mny bugs in my bed....

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank den049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airtel_Plaza, Manager at Airtel Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2010

On behalf of the Airtel Plaza Hotel, please allow me to reach out to you regarding your recent stay at our property. First let me start by saying we are extremely sorry for the challenges you experienced during your stay. Unfortunately, this is the first that we are hearing about the issues you had with your stay.
We take every report of bed bugs very seriously. If a guest reports that he or she may have found evidence of a problem in their room, we immediately remove that room from service, along with the two adjacent rooms on either side of it, and the rooms above and below it as well to insure containment. We then have those rooms in question inspected by a nationally known extermination company which takes all necessary steps needed to correct the problem.
If there were any other items that you may have forgotten to mention earlier, please feel free to contact us so we can address them as well. Once again, we are very sorry for any inconvenience we may have caused you during your stay, and would like to thank you for taking the time to bring this to our attention and allowing us to correct the situation.

Warm Regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (536)
There are newer reviews for Airtel Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

413 - 419 of 536 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2010

This a really good hotel. Their staff was welcoming and cheery from the every moment we were there even til when we checked out. We had requested a double room as we were with our kids and it was a nice surprise to have a room with two queen sized beds (most of where we stayed was double beds, makes it tight). We were there to visit family over Thanksgiving and also do some sightseeing. It was the perfect location as we visited family nearby and then we also went to Universal and Hollywood. We had food leftover for Thanksgiving and though our room did not have a fridge and microwave, when we asked if they had any, the staff was quick to send one up. This was a nice upgrade from a Best Western type hotel where we typically stay at and definitely safer as we were able to park our car in a secured parking lot near our room. We will definitely come back to this unique boutique hotel when we visit our family. Thank you for the free internet - made the kids happy.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank earlyriser_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

I love this hotel and is a great place to stay. Despite its location, its actually pretty quiet whether on airport side or street side. Rooms are really spacious and very clean. One of the best qualities of the hotel is the over the top friendly staff who are courteous and very accomodating. I travel quite a bit for business and many hotels and the staff here bends over backwards to make your stay very comfortable. Their bar is absolutely warm and was a perfect place for our teams to debrief after our meeting, as you can actually hear yourself talk. Decor is tropical and tastefully done. We actually ate all our meals there during our stay! The lounge is set up so there are little pockets you can dive into. We also enjoyed dining at their outdoor patio and watched the planes take off and land. With their excellent staff and food I know it will keep me and the team that I traveled here with coming back.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathleenonl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2010

I stayed at this hotel the night before I was to give a talk in the conference center. I booked my room through a travelocity/hotels.com/expedia type website ($107/night versus $123/night by booking directly). Besides the fact that the staff was unfriendly, they could not find my reservation in the system and asked me to sit down and wait (for what, I dont know). After it was all resolved, I discovered that although we are far from any major attractions or municipal centers, its an additional $10 for parking.
Once I got to my room, I discovered stained carpeting, water damaged ceilings and a terrible shower spray. The bed was comfortable with good linens/pillows. This place is dated and gives me the sense that it was really something back in the day but hasnt been maintained well.
At the conference center, they wanted to charge an additional $25 to use the projection screen and $10 for an extension cord. These things are typically included when you rent a conference room. When we complained, they were unapologetic and borderline rude indicating that they incur "liability" for guests to use these items. They even went so far as to check to see if we were using the screen when we told them that we would rather project onto the wall than pay the $25 to use their screen.
Ive stayed many places and have been to many conferences, as for this particular place, I will not be back.

Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
Thank NorCalTravellingGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2010

I have no idea why this hotel has three stars. It's pretty terrible. The decor, furniture, and electronics are extremely outdated. The fixtures are yellowed with age and the place smells of industrial cleaners admixed with mold. I fell sorry for this place. It looks like a holdover from glory days long past. It should definitely not keep it's 3 star rating. It needs a multimillion dollar overhaul. Customer service decent. Sketchy surroundings. I'd rather stay at a newly remodeled Motel 6....seriously.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowkhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2010

arrived on 6.10.10 for 2 nights as part of a coach trip around California.hotel was lovely,rooms very spacious and clean and area really good too(didnt hear much plane noise considering its right next to an airport and runway,slept like a log both nights)
the only downfall was that if you dont have transport its quite a way into Los Angeles(not walking distance)and not much in way of shops,bars etc around hotel area.
really friendly staff,very helpful if you have any queries.
we would stay in this hotel again provided we had a car and wouldnt have to rely on taxi's.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank preston069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2010

Stayed in this hotel as part of a tour and was surprised to find an airport right behind it because on coach tours you have to get up early and need decent sleep. However, this wasn't a problem at all and we were not disturbed by aircraft noise. Our group was served champagne and punch on arrival.
The rooms are lovely and very comfortable; only one odd thing - no electricity for hairdryer or coffee maker on one morning, but the lights worked fine.
The staff were very friendly and also extremely helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stretchycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Westside
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles International Airport Hotel
South San Fernando Valley
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda
The Westin Los Angeles Airport
#58 of 352 in Los Angeles
3,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
LAX Area
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles
#70 of 352 in Los Angeles
611 reviews
South San Fernando Valley
Hilton Woodland Hills/Los Angeles
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#50 of 352 in Los Angeles
2,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airtel Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airtel Plaza Hotel

Address: 7277 Valjean Ave, Van Nuys, Los Angeles, CA 91406-3425
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £97 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Airtel Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the modern, hangar-inspired architecture to the 24-foot Pan Am 747 suspended in the lobby, everything about the Airtel Plaza Hotel feels fresh and exciting, perfectly capturing the "in the moment" spirit of visiting someplace new. Access is everything in Los Angeles, conveniently located next to Van Nuys Airport, there's only one hotel -the Airtel Plaza Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Airtel Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airtel Plaza Hotel Los Angeles
Airtel Plaza Los Angeles
Airtel Los Angeles
Airtel Hotel Van Nuys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing