We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting Pee Smelling Prostitute Place!”
Review of Motel 6 Van Nuys

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 Van Nuys
Ranked #276 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disgusting Pee Smelling Prostitute Place!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Myself Husband and Children drove from Vegas kid's were extremely tired we were in need of a room...I was looking for rooms on the internet I called one of the numbers to find a room so we booked it with Motel 6 when we got there they said they had nothing so I called the hotel finder back than the guy at the front desk says I'm sorry all we have is 1room left but it's smoking I said ok that's fine I just need to put my kids to sleep its late he said ok it's going to smell a little like smoke though so I said that's ok because we were leaving in the am! So finally we get the room keys after waiting an hour we get into the dirty nasty elevator OH LET ME REMIND YOU ABOUT THE NASTY PROSTITUTES WALKING THROUGH THE HALLS! We open the door to the room and smell of PEE is so overwhelming I called the front desk and this idiot tells me I'm sorry there's nothing I can do right now we have no other rooms we didn't even pull back the blankets to sleep gunshots kept going off We woke up early and left around 630 am, overall this place is worse then DISGUSTING and needs to be close down!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sashas2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    3
    6
    4
    30
See reviews for
10
8
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

This was the worse experience of my life!! The hotel it self was disgusting with diarrhea stains on the rugs, the obvious prostitution and drug ring, and the disgusting furniture in the room!! The chair in the room, which I used to wedge the door shut was covered in various bodily fluids!! Never again will I stay at a motel 6!! I don't want to even rate this with a star but this requires a star to submit the review.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Knebworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

My husband, 6 year old daughter and I ended up staying here in desperation after a long afternoon of driving and needing to find somewhere to stay in LA before a cruise out of San Pedro the following day. What a mistake!

Initial thoughts were that the place seemed quite unsafe. There were security guards casing the car park, but that didn't seem to deter some shady-looking types from hanging around. There were guys parked up in the car park; not sure what they were doing but they looked very suspicious.

Our room, in a word, was dirty! There were hairs on the bed sheets and pillow cases. The room didn't smell clean at all. We were kept awake half the night by someone's dog barking outside our room, cars coming and going and a security guard constantly on his walkie talkie.

I would never stay here again and would not recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Van Nuys, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We sincerely apologize for your unpleasant stay. Please kindly contact our Guest Relations department so they can have a record of your experience to help us provide you and our other guests with better service in the future: 1-800-577-3435.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayou Vista
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Seriously, this place was expensive as Motel 6 goes, but even if it were free I wouldn't stay again.
I had a two night stay, and upon check in I asked the man at the desk if this was a safe place and he said, " don't go outside. People get beat up. If you stay inside you should be safe." After a long flight and hassling a rental car and battling the 405, I didn't have an ounce of energy to try to find another hotel exactly where I needed it that didn't cost 200 per night. The elevators were full of smoke from smoking guests, very dirty. No pillow cases on the pillows, and when I called the front desk for help...the phone was dead. It was actually broken. Had to go back to the desk to get some. NONE OF THE OUTLETS WORKED. So charging my cell phone and tablet were impossible unless I unplugged the TV, So no clock, no lights, it was a joke.
Very loud at night. Very loud during the day. It was a nightmare. Will never stay again.

Room Tip: Do not book here whatever you do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nellee64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idyllwild, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

What a nightmare! I should have read reviews before staying here!! 1. The non-smoking room obviously had at one time smokers in it. 2. Helicopters were circling. 3. It is in the flight path of Burbank Airport. 4. Sirens all night. 5. Bullet proof glass at the front desk. I would have slept in the car except I would have been very afraid for my safety. Only one word to sum up this stay: DON'T STAY HERE! (Oh, that's three words. Oops!)

Room Tip: Don't. Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PCfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washougal, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Motel 6, Van Nuys, CA
1. Creepy guy just outside office tried to sell us things he admittedly found in a dumpster. I actually reached for my pepper spray.
2. Toilet wouldn't flush unless we removed the tank lid and literally lifted the mechanism.
3. Refrigerator flooded us when we opened the door. We had to bail out water and clean it. When we plugged it in, it did work, but had no shelves. Reported to manager and was told nothing could be done about it now, but he "would leave a note for them in the morning."
4. Bits of debris all over carpet, definitely not vacuumed. Bath tub had an unsightly layer of water deposit and soap scum...last scrubbed when????


We have stayed at many Motel 6's, most of which were OK to excellent, but this was definitely the absolute worst. Upon leaving,we advised the day person about the toilet, etc. and he just said, "OK."
This was definitely the worst. We will never be back.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KizzysMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessie L, Owner at Motel 6 Van Nuys, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thanks for your feedback. We are sorry your experience with us did not meet your expectation. We are looking into the issues and are taking proper steps to ensure they are fixed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

The room was very stuffy and smelt like it had recently been fumigated. Decor was cheap and nasty. The room might have been clean but I didn't want to touch any of the surfaces. The number of security staff on site suggested that this is not a safe neighbourhood. This was one of the more expensive places and definitely the worst (by some margin) in seven weeks away.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GibletsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessie L, Owner at Motel 6 Van Nuys, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry your stay with us did not meet your expectation. We try to ensure the best kept rooms we can and are working to maintain quality standards for our guests to experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
North San Fernando Valley
Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys
Holiday Inn Express Van Nuys
#152 of 350 in Los Angeles
187 reviews
South San Fernando Valley
The Sherman Hotel
The Sherman Hotel
#135 of 350 in Los Angeles
49 reviews
South San Fernando Valley
Super 8 North Hollywood
Super 8 North Hollywood
#193 of 350 in Los Angeles
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Palga Grand Hotel
Palga Grand Hotel
#247 of 350 in Los Angeles
16 reviews
South San Fernando Valley
Best Western Plus Carriage Inn
Best Western Plus Carriage Inn
#45 of 350 in Los Angeles
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Van Nuys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Van Nuys

Property: Motel 6 Van Nuys
Address: 6909 Sepulveda Blvd, I-405 San Diego Fwy at Victory Blvd Exit, Los Angeles, CA 91405-3505
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > South San Fernando Valley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #276 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Van Nuys 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Motel 6 Van Nuys in Van Nuys, California. Motel 6 Van Nuys is situated in the heart of San Fernando Valley just minutes from Universal Studios, Six Flags Mountain, and many other local attractions and restaurants. This Motel 6 offers an outdoor pool and free WiFi in all guest rooms. Local Business / Attractions: Valley Presbyterian Hospital: 0.4 mi, Promenade Shopping Mall: 8.9 mi, NBC Studio Tours: 9.4 mi, Universal Studios Hollywood: 9.4 mi, Hollywood Bowl: 10.9 mi, Hollywood Walk of Fame: 11.8 mi, Los Angeles Zoo: 12.1 mi, UCLA: 15.5 mi, Los Angeles Convention Center: 18 mi, Six Flags - Magic Mountain: 18.6 mi, Airports: Van Nuys Airport: 1.8 mi, Burbank - Glendale - Pasadena Airport: 7.1 mi, Los Angeles - International Airport LAX: 19.5 mi, Camarillo Airport: 39 mi. Motel 6 Policies: Check-in age is 18 years or older. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Van Nuys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Van Nuys Hotel Los Angeles
Comfort Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing