We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“close to airport, great for jet lag and prep for long flight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
Ranked #88 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Central Coast NSW
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“close to airport, great for jet lag and prep for long flight”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

loved the local art, close to cheap eats, excellent music, people watching, walks, bus and beach. Hotel is on beach. Mat the Manager was wonderful, after 24 hours traveling including a16 hour flight, it was great to have early check -in. Is a non smoking hotel so was nice and quiet, great sunset viewing from top floor balcony,

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmeeCentralCoastNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, Manager at Venice Beach Suites & Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
We're much obliged, Smee and we thank you! And we also thank you for pointing out our convenient proximity to LAX... just 7 mi/11km away... well within cost-effective taxi or shuttle distance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    157
    56
    24
    25
See reviews for
95
223
53
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rimbey
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

If you want to see Venice beach, the best thing to do is stay somewhere else and travel down for the day. we stayed at this hotel because we wanted to see venice, and were leaving to the airport around noon the next day. Although this hotel is ok, and is one of the most economical in the area, it is way over priced for what it is. we stayed 3 nights in Pinole and 2 days in Monterey for superbike @ laguna seca for less TOTAL - PLUS breakfast! There is no "action" at night and probably unadvisable to be out wandering about anyway.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne_E_12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, Manager at Venice Beach Suites & Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
While I'm disappointed that such a reputable TripAdvisor Contributor rated us so poorly, it seems as if everything was ok, save for the price, which was acknowledged as fair for the area.

We appreciate constructive criticism like this as we always strive to improve both as a hotel and as a representation of the beach-front of Los Angeles. Thank you for giving us a chance, Leanne!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

This hotel was perfect. It had a kitchenette and private bathroom. And was directly on the boardwalk and beach. Was a beautiful 30 min stroll to Santa Monica pier. Amazing artist markets each day on the boardwalk. Was perfect.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Soniam84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, Manager at Venice Beach Suites & Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Wow! Thank you for the wonderful review!

Unlike some hotels that dubiously claim to be on the beach, we are in fact ON THE BEACH and consider ourselves lucky to welcome warm, kind guests like yourself.

Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

I love this place! Gorgeous breezy, beachy, casual feel to this hotel - it has good energy you can just feel it! Not to mention the unbeatablely awesome beachfront location - you literally walk right out onto the boardwalk.

The rooms are spacious and lovely - exposed red brick and whitewashed windowsills plus modern bathroom plus kitchen!! It has everything you need for a great holiday. I could happily live in this hotel!

The service we received here was the best of any place we have stayed over the past 4 weeks touring USA - why - because the staff smile, chat and welcome you - they explain things and don't look down their noses like some hotel staff do. We also used the washing machine (so handy having that in the hotel rather than searching for laundromat) and left our clothes - when we came back they were dried and folded for us! Amazing!

Just one more thing on the location - some other people have complained about the homeless people and other characters on the boardwalk - first off this has nothing to do with the hotel- they don't control who uses the public space! Secondly - yes there are a lot of homeless people and street vendors and people hawking cd's and holding signs asking for donations - none of these people ever bothered/ threatened/harrassed us - if you aren't interested, say 'no thanks or 'sorry can't help you'. These people are human beings and deserve respect just like anyone does and we found that if you do this, there is no problem at all. Thirdly - the quirky characters make Venice beach what it is - do your research before you come so you know what to expect and leave your judgment at home. Fourthly - there is far far far more aggressive and annoying street hassle in Hollywood, New York, Vegas, Bali, KL and even Perth (where I am from) than this place.

Overall I would highly recommend this hotel - if I came back I would 100% stay here - I would upgrade to oceanfront suite - the partial view suite I had on the 3rd floor was fantastic but I would love it even more to have the full view.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank its_hot_in_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, Manager at Venice Beach Suites & Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
It's an absolute honor to know that you stopped over to see us all the way from Western Australia!

May the Fremantle Doctor visit you more often in light of your incredibly kind words.

Warm regards from the coast of southern California.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Spent two days here on the way back from Thailand and was the perfect end to a perfect trip. The room was clean and had a kitchenette with fridge. Great location. Staff, especially Jude were helpful and friendly! It can be a bit noisy at night, but it is Venice Beach and that is what you go there for.... Would recommend it highly!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, Manager at Venice Beach Suites & Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Quirky? QUIRKY?! You're absolutely right, Jess! And thanks for recommending us, quirk and all. I'll let Jude know of your kind words... I'm sure he'll delight in hearing them; he's our best.

If you want a clean, comfortable studio suite in a neighborhood famous for being funky, then do like Jess did and stay with us a few nights! It could be the start of a something wonderful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This hotel was brilliant and a lovely place to spend our first couple of nights in LA.

Location of the hotel for Venice Beach is perfect I don't believe you could get a better one, walk rite out onto the front! The rooms themselves were clean and spacious, fit for any purpose really as it was fully equip with mini-kitchen.

I really did love this hotel however I would not recommend this hotel to anyone who is expecting a Hilton style setup or decor, this is a hotel for those who can appreciate character and enjoy something a bit different.

With regard to the area, I can understand alot of other peoples comments about how they felt intimidated or unsafe in the area. I felt Venice really was a place of two faces, during the day lively and full of life, however shortly after sun set, the tourists leave and to be honest there is not alot going on, at points it felt a little like a ghost town with some tramps. Although saying that I really did not feel unsafe at any point. My best advice is if you arrive at night, withhold the urge to go explore, have an early night and start your adventurer the next more and get a feel for this exciting place then!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willhal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, Manager at Venice Beach Suites & Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Will, thank you so much for springing to our defense regarding the negative reviews we've gotten in the past and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

All the reviews we receive help to shed light on what we are: a boutique hotel in a community that is colorful to say the least... and what we are not: a corporate hotel at the airport.

And it's important for potential guests to be able to distinguish that and act based on their comfort level. I'm thankful that your judgment led you here. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I had a view overlooking palm trees, golden sands, blue skies and the Ocean. Yes, I could also see some homeless people bedding down on the grass beneath the trees - a sad touch - but there are people begging on the rich streets of Santa Monica too - it's not just at Venice Beach. The apartment was spacious and with comfy sofas by the window - the reception was friendly - and overall a great place to stay. The walk way outside is wider here than at some parts of Venice Beach, and not quite so crowded. Yes, the area is tacky, but also very lively, with some very nice places to eat - The Fig Tree has the best food I would say. Great place for a couple of nights. Lots of reviews talk about the weird and scary people - but to me they looked like average Londoners - Well not much different from say people at Camden Market. I felt perfectly safe.

Room Tip: I do think it is worth paying for a view of the Ocean - it is so wonderful - I was on floor three...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 532Hugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, Manager at Venice Beach Suites & Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Well said, Hugh! The cost of our studio suites vary based on the quality of the view and it sounds like it was worth it to you! And I'm glad you found Fig Tree Cafe, it's my favorite spot to breakfast on the Boardwalk.

Cheers! Hope to see you again when you come back to California.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#12 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,299 reviews
Venice
Venice On The Beach Hotel
Venice On The Beach Hotel
#60 of 351 in Los Angeles
538 reviews
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#9 of 351 in Los Angeles
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
Cadillac Hotel
Cadillac Hotel
#247 of 351 in Los Angeles
659 reviews
Venice
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey
Venice
The Kinney
The Kinney
#3 of 11 in Marina del Rey
1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venice Beach Suites & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venice Beach Suites & Hotel

Property: Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
Address: 1305 Ocean Front Walk, Venice, Los Angeles, CA 90291-3684
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice , Westside
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#24 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#38 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#83 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Venice Beach Suites & Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family-owned historic, boutique hotel has the BEST roof-top deck at a beach-front hotel in L.A. and the ONLY beach-front balconies on the Boardwalk. All 24 of our fully-furnished studios feature a queen bed, mini-kitchen, private bathroom & free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Venice Beach Suites & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venice Beach Suites And Hotel
Venice Beach Hotel Los Angeles
Hotel Venice Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing