We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved It” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Venice Beach Suites & Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
Ranked #73 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Loved It”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

I have to admit I was in two minds about this place before we arrived. My husband wanted to stay somewhere on Venice beach but I was a bit unsure - how wrong was I!!!!!
Firstly the staff just great, Matt (manager) was so helpful right from helping us get our bags out of the car to where to go, what to see.Thanks Matt we really enjoyed talking to you.
Secondly the room was fab, great size, everything there you need to be self sufficient and spotlessly clean.
Thirdly the view, we had a large window which looked straight out onto the beach. It was just brilliant looking out and watching life go on out there.
And finally location, what can I say, it was all happening literally on your doorstep.
Some very good eating places, all sorts of shops, people selling all sorts of things on the prom,music left, right and centre and some very odd behaviour at times (not threatening).
Depends what you're after I suppose, yes there are quite a lot of homeless people sleeping on the beach at night but that's just the way it is and if you don't bother them they don't bother you.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the romm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OliveGloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, Manager at Venice Beach Suites & Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
A review like this is one of (the many) reasons why I love my job!

Managing a hotel in Venice Beach can be tricky... this neighborhood is not for the faint of heart and some visitors are skeptical. However, our staff takes great pride in helping guests - many from international destinations like my dear Olive from Gloucester - acclimate to and hopefully grow to appreciate our little slice of where the city meets the sea.

I very much enjoyed talking with you, too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    154
    56
    23
    23
See reviews for
92
218
52
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
lhanet
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

My best friend and I take random trips just to get away from the crazy jobs that we both have. We do not need 4 stars to makes us happy this little gem was great! Right on the boardwalk close to tons of great restauraunts (if you wanted the REALLY good ones you just walked a little further) there was tons of people watching. The rooms were clean not to mention the view of the ocean we had!! We just loved it here. Oh and the staff forget about it they were super duper nice. I will for sure go back and stay here again!!!

Room Tip: ask for ocean view, or partial view you will LOBE the breeze that the California air always gives yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank lhanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, Manager at Venice Beach Suites & Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
I'm glad this boutique hotel could be a part of your much-needed vacation break, Ihanet! We strive to provide a two-star lodging experience - offering a clean & comfortable place to shower & sleep - from which you can sally forth and explore this piece of urban beach-frontage.

Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Coast NSW
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

loved the local art, close to cheap eats, excellent music, people watching, walks, bus and beach. Hotel is on beach. Mat the Manager was wonderful, after 24 hours traveling including a16 hour flight, it was great to have early check -in. Is a non smoking hotel so was nice and quiet, great sunset viewing from top floor balcony,

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SmeeCentralCoastNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, Manager at Venice Beach Suites & Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
We're much obliged, Smee and we thank you! And we also thank you for pointing out our convenient proximity to LAX... just 7 mi/11km away... well within cost-effective taxi or shuttle distance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rimbey
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

If you want to see Venice beach, the best thing to do is stay somewhere else and travel down for the day. we stayed at this hotel because we wanted to see venice, and were leaving to the airport around noon the next day. Although this hotel is ok, and is one of the most economical in the area, it is way over priced for what it is. we stayed 3 nights in Pinole and 2 days in Monterey for superbike @ laguna seca for less TOTAL - PLUS breakfast! There is no "action" at night and probably unadvisable to be out wandering about anyway.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne_E_12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, Manager at Venice Beach Suites & Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
While I'm disappointed that such a reputable TripAdvisor Contributor rated us so poorly, it seems as if everything was ok, save for the price, which was acknowledged as fair for the area.

We appreciate constructive criticism like this as we always strive to improve both as a hotel and as a representation of the beach-front of Los Angeles. Thank you for giving us a chance, Leanne!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

This hotel was perfect. It had a kitchenette and private bathroom. And was directly on the boardwalk and beach. Was a beautiful 30 min stroll to Santa Monica pier. Amazing artist markets each day on the boardwalk. Was perfect.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Soniam84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, Manager at Venice Beach Suites & Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Wow! Thank you for the wonderful review!

Unlike some hotels that dubiously claim to be on the beach, we are in fact ON THE BEACH and consider ourselves lucky to welcome warm, kind guests like yourself.

Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

I love this place! Gorgeous breezy, beachy, casual feel to this hotel - it has good energy you can just feel it! Not to mention the unbeatablely awesome beachfront location - you literally walk right out onto the boardwalk.

The rooms are spacious and lovely - exposed red brick and whitewashed windowsills plus modern bathroom plus kitchen!! It has everything you need for a great holiday. I could happily live in this hotel!

The service we received here was the best of any place we have stayed over the past 4 weeks touring USA - why - because the staff smile, chat and welcome you - they explain things and don't look down their noses like some hotel staff do. We also used the washing machine (so handy having that in the hotel rather than searching for laundromat) and left our clothes - when we came back they were dried and folded for us! Amazing!

Just one more thing on the location - some other people have complained about the homeless people and other characters on the boardwalk - first off this has nothing to do with the hotel- they don't control who uses the public space! Secondly - yes there are a lot of homeless people and street vendors and people hawking cd's and holding signs asking for donations - none of these people ever bothered/ threatened/harrassed us - if you aren't interested, say 'no thanks or 'sorry can't help you'. These people are human beings and deserve respect just like anyone does and we found that if you do this, there is no problem at all. Thirdly - the quirky characters make Venice beach what it is - do your research before you come so you know what to expect and leave your judgment at home. Fourthly - there is far far far more aggressive and annoying street hassle in Hollywood, New York, Vegas, Bali, KL and even Perth (where I am from) than this place.

Overall I would highly recommend this hotel - if I came back I would 100% stay here - I would upgrade to oceanfront suite - the partial view suite I had on the 3rd floor was fantastic but I would love it even more to have the full view.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank its_hot_in_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, Manager at Venice Beach Suites & Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
It's an absolute honor to know that you stopped over to see us all the way from Western Australia!

May the Fremantle Doctor visit you more often in light of your incredibly kind words.

Warm regards from the coast of southern California.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
116 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Spent two days here on the way back from Thailand and was the perfect end to a perfect trip. The room was clean and had a kitchenette with fridge. Great location. Staff, especially Jude were helpful and friendly! It can be a bit noisy at night, but it is Venice Beach and that is what you go there for.... Would recommend it highly!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, Manager at Venice Beach Suites & Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Quirky? QUIRKY?! You're absolutely right, Jess! And thanks for recommending us, quirk and all. I'll let Jude know of your kind words... I'm sure he'll delight in hearing them; he's our best.

If you want a clean, comfortable studio suite in a neighborhood famous for being funky, then do like Jess did and stay with us a few nights! It could be the start of a something wonderful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Venice
Venice On The Beach Hotel
Venice On The Beach Hotel
#45 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#10 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#13 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
Cadillac Hotel
Cadillac Hotel
#235 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Venice
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey
Venice
The Kinney
The Kinney
#4 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venice Beach Suites & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venice Beach Suites & Hotel

Property: Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
Address: 1305 Ocean Front Walk, Venice, Los Angeles, CA 90291-3684
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice , Westside
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#25 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#39 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#84 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Venice Beach Suites & Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family-owned historic, boutique hotel has the BEST roof-top deck at a beach-front hotel in L.A. and the ONLY beach-front balconies on the Boardwalk. All 24 of our fully-furnished studios feature a mini-kitchen, private bathroom & free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Venice Beach Suites & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venice Beach Suites And Hotel
Venice Beach Hotel Los Angeles
Hotel Venice Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing