We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
Ranked #104 of 358 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

A great spot right on the boardwalk. Pay extra for ocean front view. Sunsets were spectacular!!! This is a building over 100 years old. Creaky stairway and creaky floors add to the character. Bathroom small but modern. Room was large with huge picture window, kitchenette & dining table as well as comfy couch & chair by the window. There is an elevator named Betty that is over one hundred years old. The luggage took the elevator. We took the stairs all the way to the 4th floor. Park in the secure parking lot down the street for $15 day. Someone there round the clock to watch your car as some seedy characters around. The staff will give you directions. Very helpful staff. Good recommendations on where to go & where to eat. Fabulous place. Would recommend to anyone. We will be back !

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank OnTheRochs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, Manager at Venice Beach Suites & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Thank you for your kind and detail-rich words, Marilynn. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (527)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 527 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2013

I have stayed here 3 times, such a cool place and the staff are great. If you want the real Venice beach vacation this is where to stay. Rooms are clean and comfy. The ocean view is the way to go unless your on a tight budget. Its kind of like going to a zoo and watching the animals from outside the fence. Great little brew pub north on the boardwalk a few blocks to the north. If you dont mind walking its only 15-20 min to Santa Monica where you will find great night life and food.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chevyns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, Manager at Venice Beach Suites & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

"Its kind of like going to a zoo and watching the animals from outside the fence." -- The best summary of the unique, anthropological experience that this hotel offers that I've ever heard!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

My wife and I are both retired, didn't know what to expect, but this "quirky" little hotel was just perfect for us. Friendly (and helpful) staff and the boardwalk felt very safe and friendly too. Good food just a minutes walk away, plus coffee shops etc. Stayed for three nights and will no doubt be back in near future. Oh yeah, great beach and very clean too.

Room Tip: If you want your room cleaned with fresh towels and linen, you have to put a sign on the door, other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, Manager at Venice Beach Suites & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Another satisfied customer from Calgary! We've had the pleasure of hosting a lot of Albertans as of late, which has been fun. George made a great point here, which is that unlike most hotels, we offer housekeeping by request only. It is complimentary and available every day, but no one goes into a guest room without permission. Privacy first here at VBS&H. FYI.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for one night after having flown in from Australia. Great location, staff were extremely helpful, fast WIFI and all round we had a great stay. The hotel is 100 years old, but you wouldn't know it apart from the lift which is the original lift from when it was built. Thank-you very much to all the staff at Venice Beach Suites and Hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Juzz14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, Manager at Venice Beach Suites & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

And thank you for staying at our historic, boutique hotel, all the way from Victoria, Australia! Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

My husband and I booked a room for two nights. We left after one night and did not even try to ask for a refund. The place has had a minor upgrade to make it look classy....but it is not...the bed was the worst I have ever slept on in a hotel and the place was not clean. There was someone on duty till 8:00pm at the "front desk". At 8:05pm a party started either next door or downstairs and lasted till past midnight. If you like loud noise, terrible beds and a dumpy room..... stay here.....sorry for such a poor review but I just don't want others to be mislead like we where..... this was the second worst hotel we have ever stayed at in 30 years....

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank KRISANDBILL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyLayman, Owner at Venice Beach Suites & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

A historic, boutique hotel at the heart of eclectic Venice Beach yes, dump no. I am sorry this guest just decided to just leave instead of coming to management to express there concerns. With the little information about this guest I am unable to confirm their stay with us. I have reached out to them thru Tripadvisor so I can find out what night they stayed and in which room so I can look in their concerns. I have even offered to refund the one night they didi not stay.

Most independent innkeepers want to hear when a guest is unhappy and why so they can correct the problem to the best of their ability. We certainly do At Venice Beach Suites & Hotel.

Andy Layman, Owner

PS; our office hour are 9AM to 9PM daily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

The Venice Suites was a great choice for me to relax overnight before heading to LAX for the long flight home. There is plenty to see and do just outside the door and my room with a partial view was comfortable and clean. The staff are very helpful, especially Jasper (?) on the desk on the eve of Thanksgiving Day.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, Manager at Venice Beach Suites & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Do like Kathryn did and spend a day or two in Venice when you travel via LAX... we're the closest colorful community to the airport!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This place was great! Got lost driving into Venice the hotel was a little hard to find. The main entrance is in the front right on the "boardwalk". A little hard to see from the small street in back. We called the manager and he waited for us at the door. Parking was on street first come first serve. We were fortunate and found a place right around the corner and free. We had no problems finding parking since the manager gave us a parking map. When we first arrived we were a little shocked when entering the hotel, it was smaller than expected. The elevator is old but fun. When we got to our room the size was unexpected. Small but the cleanest room ever. The place is a little antique. Very comfortable and again VERY CLEAN. The bathroom is small but again CLEAN. Same for the kitchen. It is furnished with everything needed. The view from our room is partial but amazing.The manager is very sweet. We asked about renting bikes, he referred us to a place that gave us a substantial discount. We ventured over to Santa Monica pier on bikes which was amazing. The local venders are set up literally outside the front door. We walked and shopped and were not pushed to buy anything. There are restaurants and bars of all kinds in every direction. We got back to the room late at night and found homeless sleeping on the side walks. They are harmless, left us completely alone. Thank you, we had an excellent stay. We will return!

Room Tip: Call for exact directions, they are very helpful. Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spatern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, Manager at Venice Beach Suites & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

I printed out your review to share with our housekeeping staff, they'll really appreciate your kind words! Thanks for staying at our historic, boutique hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Venice
Venice On The Beach Hotel
Venice On The Beach Hotel
#60 of 358 in Los Angeles
562 reviews
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#13 of 358 in Los Angeles
1,395 reviews
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#10 of 358 in Los Angeles
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
Cadillac Hotel
Cadillac Hotel
#256 of 358 in Los Angeles
708 reviews
Venice
The Kinney
The Kinney
#2 of 11 in Marina del Rey
1,441 reviews
Jamaica Bay Inn
#3 of 11 in Marina del Rey
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venice Beach Suites & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venice Beach Suites & Hotel

Address: 1305 Ocean Front Walk, Venice, Los Angeles, CA 90291-3684
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice , Westside
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#38 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#83 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £146 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Venice Beach Suites & Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family-owned historic, boutique hotel has the BEST roof-top deck at a beach-front hotel in L.A. and the ONLY beach-front balconies on the Boardwalk. All 24 of our fully-furnished studios feature a queen bed, mini-kitchen, private bathroom & free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Venice Beach Suites & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venice Beach Suites And Hotel
Venice Beach Hotel Los Angeles
Hotel Venice Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing