We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly but loud”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
Ranked #96 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My wife and I stayed in the hotel for two nights in April. The room was very nicely appointed, clean, and comfortable and the staff members were all incredibly friendly and helpful. The complaints that other people have made about the area are unwarranted. Yes, it is initially confronting, due to its bohemian character, and there are certainly a lot of interesting characters, but there is nothing the hotel can do about that, nor should they even try. Part of travelling is experiencing the unique cultures of new areas. The only issue we had in that regard was feeling quite uncomfortable when walking to Abbot Kinney Blvd. for dinner late on the first evening. Some advice about the nature of the area would have been good.

The only real problem with the hotel is that the walls are paper thin. We stayed in a room on the ground floor and were awoken on the first morning by loud conversations in the hallway that began at 6am and continued unabated thereafter. These included one of the staff members giving directions to other guests in the hallway. Noise is impossible to avoid, but I would recommend that the staff make an effort to inform other guests that people may be sleeping. If you are thinking of staying here, I would recommend a room on one of the upper levels.

Room Tip: Stay upstairs to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, Manager at Venice Beach Suites & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

While I regret that your sleep was disrupted during your stay, I have to thank you for being open and honest about your experience to help other guests in learning about our hotel.

Our Queen Studio rooms are on the lower floors (1st & 2nd) and the first floor is high-traffic, so if you're a light sleeper, request the second floor. Or - and this is not an up-sell, but rather an attempt to accurately describe our property - our Partial View Queen Studios are on the upper floors (3rd & 4th) and are thus quieter.

That being said, I'm glad you enjoyed and appreciated our Bohemian neighborhood, Tom, sort of like our version of St, Kilda, right?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 525 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

Great little studio room right on Venice Beach. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the room was very comfortable. Look into the area of Venice Beach before travelling so you know what to expect. I was aware that there would be some colourful characters there, but I was still a little bit scared by Venice Beach haha! The accommodation was lovely but I don't think I would go back to the area. A good experience though.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, Manager at Venice Beach Suites & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Would we recommend that you research Venice Beach (and our hotel) before making a reservation to stay the night? Yes! This is a historic property in a unique, Bohemian neighborhood that might not be the right fit for everyone... so if you have any questions, give us a call!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed three nights at the beginning of March. It was wonderful staying right on the boardwalk. It was relaxing and exciting at the same time. I can't imagine a better view or better location. The staff was helpful and exceptional and friendly. The next time we come to Los Angeles, we will stay there again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Patty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, Manager at Venice Beach Suites & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Wow! Thank you for your kind words, Patty! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We had a great time. Awesome location, great staff, cute and cozy rooms. Loved being right on the beach. Easy and enjoyable walk to Santa Monica or bike on the beach. Close to Abbott Kinney and good options for food and drink. I would recommend this spot!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank RLDstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, Manager at Venice Beach Suites & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you so much for staying at our boutique hotel in the heart of pedestrian and bicycle friendly Venice Beach!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

GREAT staff! Location was cool...easy access to everything. No issues with street people at anytime. Loved art vendors. Pay the xtra $5 or so and get UR bike rental. Had a blast riding to Santa Monica for the day. Too bad I could only stay 1 day. Loved "Betsy" the elevator! Room was as cozy as sleeping at a friends house and VERY clean.

-Greg

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank BMWRTGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, Manager at Venice Beach Suites & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

I'm glad you found us, Greg! Give us a few more nights next time; there's a lot of our community left for you to explore! All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel is amazing! The suites are lovely; complete kitchen and dishes, great bed and bathroom and cozy amenities. I love the brick in the rooms. And the staff was the most most friendly, helpful staff of our entire vacation! Not to mention right on the beach-walk, and close to all the great venice attractions. Great stay. Definitely will come back!

P.s.- free Kuerig coffee in the office, and they provided beach mats and body boards free of charge!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Craig A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, Manager at Venice Beach Suites & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

We're so happy you enjoyed our beach hotel! And we'd love to welcome you back again... which is why we offer repeat guests 10% off when they call or email us direct! Warm regards from the California coast...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We had a blast staying at the Venice Beach Suites Hotel, right on the beach, and as funky but warm as they come! Our rooms for our party of 5 were on the fourth floor, overlooking the ocean, and the sounds of the street and surf were always with us. No AC, but fans and lots of windows to have the sea breeze waft in. The elevator alone is worth the stay! It's 100 years old, and feisty! You have to close two doors, and you feel like you're in a European hotel, as you glide up. The staff was very nice and accommodating, helping us with taxis, recommended restaurants, and best places to shop! Venice is a world unto itself, and we loved it!

Room Tip: The fourth floor is the best! Big rooms, with kitchen, microwave, even a stove and dishes! If you st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, Manager at Venice Beach Suites & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Having your group here was great! It seemed like every time I looked up someone was grabbing a chair or a boogie board from the lobby and headed out to the beach. From our CA family to yours... thank you for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Venice
Venice On The Beach Hotel
Venice On The Beach Hotel
#61 of 355 in Los Angeles
555 reviews
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#8 of 355 in Los Angeles
802 reviews
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#11 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
Cadillac Hotel
Cadillac Hotel
#257 of 355 in Los Angeles
696 reviews
Venice
The Kinney
The Kinney
#3 of 11 in Marina del Rey
1,422 reviews
Venice
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venice Beach Suites & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venice Beach Suites & Hotel

Address: 1305 Ocean Front Walk, Venice, Los Angeles, CA 90291-3684
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice , Westside
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#38 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#83 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £141 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Venice Beach Suites & Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family-owned historic, boutique hotel has the BEST roof-top deck at a beach-front hotel in L.A. and the ONLY beach-front balconies on the Boardwalk. All 24 of our fully-furnished studios feature a queen bed, mini-kitchen, private bathroom & free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Venice Beach Suites & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venice Beach Suites And Hotel
Venice Beach Hotel Los Angeles
Hotel Venice Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing