We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING VALUE! I've paid this much to stay in dingy Culver City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
Ranked #72 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
traveler
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING VALUE! I've paid this much to stay in dingy Culver City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2009

So it's true that hotels cost more based on location...but I would much rather pay the $99 to stay here than the $85 to stay at some Motel 8 that is ten miles inland. This place is steps from the sand!

We woke up every morning to have coffee on the BEACH. I went with some girlfriends and we had wine on the balcony and watched the California sunset more than once.

I loved the all white bedding and glass door showers...feels kinda European or something. A fun and funky lounge area in the lobby too...pool table, vending machines, etc. Wish they had a microwave down there, but with so many food choices right out your front door you rarely wanted to eat in your room anyway.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VWlivingthedream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    154
    56
    23
    23
See reviews for
93
219
52
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2009

It was great to arrive at Venice Beach Suites, and find our room looked just as it appeared in the advertising, had character, space and a fully functioning kitchenette! Hotel proprieter and staff bent over backwards to be helpful and make our stay pleasant and easy. I loved the location too, all the market stalls and cool and eccentric people! Great coffee at the Coffee Ginder across the road and some good little places to eat closeby. And Venice Beach is a beautiful beach! It is close to Santa Monica and you can get pretty much anywhere by bus. I really enjoyed seeing the working canals - for which Venice Beach - are named for closeby. Very charming! Don't miss the Getty museum/s and La Brea tarpits - fascinating prehistoric archaeological site right in the middle of LA!! Farmer's market also fun and lots of food stalls to choose from!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annalovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west coast
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2009

Recently spent the best part of two weeks here and have to say that it was good value and a great location.
Rooms were perfectly adequate for our purposes and the staff were great. Very helpful and friendly, and the beach toys and other stuff was well appreciated, especially by my youngest boy, who also loved the old style elevator.
While it may not be a luxury hotel, it is just the job if you really just want somewhere to have as your base, and with all the attractions that SoCal & LA has, then you probably won't be spending too much time in there anyway!
Area was surprisingly quiet at night, far enough away from any bars or restaurants, but if you wanted to head out for a few beers, then they were only just up the road.
thoroughly enjoyed staying there and would recommend it.
The sheer diversity of folks who hang out there was great to witness too, with even the hobos being polite and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dopic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2009

I've been to Venice numerous times, and have watched this historic building grow into a restored historic landmark once the new owner took over and began renovations several years ago. The rooms are spacious with all the modern comforts (and a full kitchenette), yet retain the feeling that you are staying in a very old establishment with the exposed brick and vintage photos on the walls. This building is apparent in all the old Muscle Beach pictures from the 1920s onward to the 1950s heyday. The owner is very friendly, conversational, and went above and beyond when I needed help to save some travel time. And the beach front location is right there in the middle of it all, walk to the canals, the piers, even the shuttle to Santa Monica.

This is your best bet, for a real piece of Venice.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2009

We had a lovely old room and could see the beach and ocean from the windows running along the side. It was me, my husband and my 3-year-old daughter, and we all felt very safe. When we arrived, the extra bed was ready for our kid and the management loaned us toys for the beach. It was great.
Yes, it was noisy on Friday night outside--but we knew we were at Venice Beach. My kid slept right through the partying, which actually ended around 11 p.m.
The management was very helpful and always available. You cannot beat the location either. Just spectacular.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizadana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2009

This is a great place if you want to be part of the Venice Beach boardwalk lifestyle. If you want some kind of 5 star place, then pony up the extra $$$ and go there but for my money, this was well worth it. The staff was extremely helpful and took care of anything that I had any problems with. Groundworks coffee shop is just around the corner, lots of food to be had, and the accommodations fit what I needed - a place to just relax, walk out of my room and go swim in the ocean and lots of the LA/California lifestyle surrounding you.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cncmelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolores, CO
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2009

I go to Venice Beach 4-5 times a year and this was my favorite place of all time to stay. You are literally right on the boardwalk! You have an AMAZING view of the ocean and everything going on. The historic hotel and rooms have so much character. I loved the huge windows, wood floors and brick walls. If you are going for a vacation, I would recommend it for sure.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyhippielife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Venice
Venice On The Beach Hotel
Venice On The Beach Hotel
#55 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#8 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#9 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
Cadillac Hotel
Cadillac Hotel
#236 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Venice
The Kinney
The Kinney
#4 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Venice
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venice Beach Suites & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venice Beach Suites & Hotel

Property: Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
Address: 1305 Ocean Front Walk, Venice, Los Angeles, CA 90291-3684
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice , Westside
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#25 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#39 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#84 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Venice Beach Suites & Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family-owned historic, boutique hotel has the BEST roof-top deck at a beach-front hotel in L.A. and the ONLY beach-front balconies on the Boardwalk. All 24 of our fully-furnished studios feature a queen bed, mini-kitchen, private bathroom & free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Venice Beach Suites & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venice Beach Suites And Hotel
Venice Beach Hotel Los Angeles
Hotel Venice Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing