We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
Ranked #69 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
København
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mixed experience”
Reviewed 21 August 2010

Room/hotel:

We are a family of four - but the children is grown up, so really 4 adults. The ocean front suites - which is said to accomodate 5 persons - are really small. The sofa bed is awfull, and the big bed can't even stay out in the room, but is directly to the wall to be able to come round. So don't beleave the pictures - our suite didn't look at all like on the hotel web-page. Maybe on the other side of the stair-case - but they should have reserved one of the big suites for 4 adults - in the others there were mainly only two persons.
By the way: The internet only works in certain areas - not very much in the room.

Venice Beach:

At daytime a nice place with a lot of energy. But around 7 pm everything close and at 9 pm only the freaks are back. We had read that the area was not save at night, but thought that night were after midnight. But we didn't know the area became empty also in the evening. So even though there are probably nothing to be afraid of it is not so nice after 9 when there is noboby there. Remeber to take warm clothes: In the evening it gets really cold and foggy even in july/august.

Parking:

You pay for parking at a parking lot. Just be aware, that even though you have paid for three days - if you leave in the morning and return later the same day there will probably not be room for you.

Staff:

The staff was extremly nice and helpfull. It was a pleasure. For instance they made on line check in on the office computer.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikael Kirk J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    156
    56
    24
    23
See reviews for
95
221
53
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2010

The hotel is really right on the beach, with the ocean front walk just outside the door. The staff was really friendly and helpful, and we appreciated having a kitchenette in our room. There was some strange smell in our room, but besides this it's a great place to stay when you travel on a budget.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liawim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2010

My daughter and I loved this hotel and loved being ON the beach and all the shopping. The staff made us feel at home and I wouldn't stay anywhere else when I return to the area!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beckyjo2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

We loved our stay here especially as it started out with a particularly nice welcome from, I believe, Matt right after we got in from a grueling trans-Pacific flight. I can't say enough nice things about all the helpful staff we encountered - really an exceptionally friendly and welcoming place. The rooms are nicely done up and I loved walking from our quiet, peaceful room out the front door of the hotel straight into the enjoyable chaos of Venice Beach. There were a few imperfections which I mention only because I would hate someone to come expecting something different and be disappointed. It is a funky old building on the beach so not everything is perfect. Our room was quite small although the attached kitchenette kept it from feeling claustrophobic. The bathroom was very small and had some odd dark corners that I wasn't totally convinced were sparkling clean although it's hard to tell sometimes with old buildings. The carpet was stained and a little grungy looking (it's on the beach after all) although everything above that looked newly painted and the furniture was great - I thought the arm chair was amazingly comfortable for a hotel room. The only other less than wonderful thing was that although we couldn't hear anything from the beach side at night there were people making noise in the street behind the hotel which woke us up. But it didn't last long. None of the slight imperfections would keep me from staying here again. The price was very reasonable, the location wonderful, and the staff was fantastic. I really enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walker42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2010

Rooms were big but the bathroom is very tiny. Shower curtain was covered in scum and mould. Aside from the bathroom, the staff in the hotel/motel are fantastic. Very helpful and friendly, definately redeemed the quality of this place.

If cleaniness if high on your priority, this is probably not the place. But if you're a backpacker who isn't too fussed and wants to be close to the beach, then this is for you.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freq_traveller10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drums
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2010

Thank you to all the staff at the Venice Beach Suites & Hotel - Lewis, Matt & Jude.. you guys were AWESOME!! We loved this trip & cannot stop talking about it.... what an adventure to say the least. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that wants the true Venice Beach experience. If you want all the bells & whistles - stay somewhere else.. I would recommend renting bikes... we biked up to the Santa Monica Pier daily; MUST see the canals - what a hidden treasure!! Go to Jay's Bike's & tell Patrick we said hello :) This hotel is in the middle of all the action.. steps from the sand.. and connected to the hotel is a Greek, Sushi, & Indian take-out! What more can one ask for? Loved! Loved!! LOVED this hotel!!! Cannot wait to stay again :) - "the crashes" 6/12-6/19/2010

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank serrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2010

Great location by the beach! Just a few minutes walk from Santa Monica. We had a pleasant stay here. The room was clean and spacious. We had a nice view to the ocean and small kitchenette. In the evenings there are some noices outside which worried me at first, but they quit playing music early in the evening so no problem sleeping. The staff was kind and helpful. I understood there is no parking but it wasn't a problem for us at all. Free wi-fi. There are quite many restaurants near the hotel and next door. The location is perfect!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatyerFin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Venice
Venice On The Beach Hotel
Venice On The Beach Hotel
#51 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#11 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#9 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
Cadillac Hotel
Cadillac Hotel
#236 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Venice
The Kinney
The Kinney
#4 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Venice
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venice Beach Suites & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venice Beach Suites & Hotel

Property: Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
Address: 1305 Ocean Front Walk, Venice, Los Angeles, CA 90291-3684
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice , Westside
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#25 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#39 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#84 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Venice Beach Suites & Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family-owned historic, boutique hotel has the BEST roof-top deck at a beach-front hotel in L.A. and the ONLY beach-front balconies on the Boardwalk. All 24 of our fully-furnished studios feature a queen bed, mini-kitchen, private bathroom & free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Venice Beach Suites & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venice Beach Suites And Hotel
Venice Beach Hotel Los Angeles
Hotel Venice Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing