We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pluses and minuses of The Beverly Laurel Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
Ranked #98 of 349 Hotels in Los Angeles
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pluses and minuses of The Beverly Laurel Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

The pluses: Location is great. Hot water and water pressure in shower is great. The front desk was great (we had even left one of our bags outside our car and they found it and held it for us!). The minuses: just a general feeling of "could be cleaner" - bathroom was dusty, found hairs on sheets and toilet (assume it is from the cleaning staff :) Charges for "incidentals" not explained at check-in (for "energy fee" and parking). Toilet wouldn't flush and upon arriving in the room on the first day, I had to plunge it (myself) three times before it finally worked (but it remained working for the rest of the time). If I could afford a nicer place, I would not stay there again. But for what we paid, it was good enough.

Room Tip: We stayed in Rm 317 and it was quiet and in a corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mamie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    169
    89
    27
    24
See reviews for
120
101
33
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

so well located, nice diner for meals all day and night, rooms clean , the staff is very charming and the price really interesting. It was my 4th visit and I shall return this summer.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are better because away from the boulevard though the traffic is almost neal duri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LONNOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

This place is in a great location. Our room was massive with a full kitchen. It's great having free parking and Swingers diner right there. Good view of the Hollywood sign. Walking distance to the Grove, Farmers Market, Beverly Centre and the Tar Pits.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmilyAustral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

This hotel was old but was in a great location. We were close to everything hollywood has to offer. The hotel is older, but has come great character. The rooms are very outdated, and the beds are hard (although all 4 members of our group expresssed amazing sleeps!). We joked the carpets in the rooms needed to be shampooed, but honestly for a 2-star hotel I feel like we lucked out with the location.

The front desk man when we checked out was a little odd. He seemed nice but there seemed to be a communication challenge. The second man we checked out with was adorable and hilarious.

The parking and internet are both $5.00 each /night so that was VERY reasonable as other hotels in the area were double the price with internet of $10-15 and parking of $20-30.

If you are expecing an amazing luxiarlly hotel don't go here, but if you are looking for something afforable and quaint, stay here. I personally don't like all the luxiary so I really enjoyed my stay! We will be back.

Also the Swingers Coffee shop is unreal! Breakfast 2 days was AMAZING! Some good quality food! We had a misunderstanding with one server as 4 of us were paying so we under-tipped by a few bucks and she let it be known that we did that. It was an honest mistake but we heard her complaining before we even left the cafe. That turned us off a bit, we did go back in and give her another $5.00.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aimee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

I have to admit, we were a little leery of staying here at first... mainly because the price was SO reasonable. All of the reviews were great though... so we took a chance. And, I am so glad we did! This is the perfect place to stay to do the whole "Hollywood/LA experience." It is located in the center of just about everything. Rooms are clean, beds are comfortable (best pillows at a hotel ever), mini fridge and microwave in the room was convenient for leftovers and parking is $5 a day. There is also a great coffee shop/diner on the corner called Swingers. We had breakfast there every morning. Saw Drew Carey they first day we ate there. I guess he is a regular.... super nice guy! Overall a great experience. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SPorter1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cozad nebraska
Level Contributor
86 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

We were looking for a lower cost place in the Hollywood area to be close to friends and attractions. This renovated motor lodge is so lovely! It's amazing to find a place like this still going. The drive in check-in courtyard is beautiful with a pool in the courtyard as well. Parking is reasonable and inside too. The rooms were clean although you could tell the age. Bedding was great as well. Not alot of extras but we had our own toiletries so not a problem. Old fashioned keys and doors and a split level floor arrangement which was fun. We walked to The Grove shopping area, just a few blocks, and felt secure. We will stay again if in the area. The cafe on the corner was excellent as well!

Room Tip: All rooms faced the courtyard but for security I'd choose one that looks towards the office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nebtravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

My family of four spent three nights at this hotel over the summer. We were vacationing and wanted to see the "usual" tourist attractions...Walk of Fame, Hollywood Blvd, Universal Studios, WB Studios, the beach, etc. This location was excellent, within 5-20 minutes of everything by car. The hotel itself has a kitsche feel to it, like old hollywood glamour. I felt like we were staying in an old style apartment rather than a hotel, and that gave it a homier feel. We have two teenage boys, ages 16 and 19, and the area was cool for them to hang out in. Close to the grove, the mall, theatres, etc. My 19 year old LOVED hanging out at Swingers, the coffee shop at the hotel. We enjoyed it as well, and their coffee was amazing! The hotel has a pool, but we didn't use it...too busy otherwise but it looked good. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Parking is onsite and convenient. This is a wonderful place to stay if you want a place of you "own" to use as a base for visiting L.A. We will definitely stay here again, and highly recommend. Our stay was great!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank berlyk1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Wilshire Crest Hotel
Wilshire Crest Hotel
#120 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Central L.A
Rodeway Inn Los Angeles
Rodeway Inn Los Angeles
#189 of 349 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Central L.A
The Orlando Hotel
The Orlando Hotel
#32 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Park Plaza Lodge Hotel
Park Plaza Lodge Hotel
#121 of 349 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
Central L.A
Palihotel
Palihotel
#108 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel

Property: Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
Address: 8018 Beverly Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90048
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 349 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Beverly Laurel Motor
Beverly Laurel Hotel
Beverly Laurel Motor Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing