We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprised at comfort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express West Los Angeles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express West Los Angeles
Ranked #102 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Surprised at comfort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel on business trip and was pleasantly surprised at how nice the place is. Had read previous reviews with complaints about the noise but that really wasn't an issue for me. The front desk staff were very nice & even arranged for me to check in early after an all night flight. Great location with many restaurants within short walking distance. Comfortable beds. Bathroom is roomy. I especially liked the Bath & Body shower amenities. The breakfast is also very good. Definitely recommend this hotel if you're in the area.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank roxierowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    130
    63
    17
    16
See reviews for
110
54
23
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
176 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed here one night to visit UCLA. First of all you have to really pay attention where the hotel entrance is. It is actually not on Santa Monica Blvd. It is on a side street Beloit Avenue. This is the same street essentially as the entrance to I405. There are 2 exits. One on Beloit and the other on Santa Monica.
The key to this hotel for me was to make sure that you are on the quiet sides of the hotel. One side faces the freeway entrance. We unfortunately had our room face that side. Love to hear cars and motorcycles gas it as they get on the freeway. There was one set of earplugs for 2 people. I guess one per person? Even with my own set of ear plugs I would be woken up. The other room for family members was on the south side of the hotel. They heard nothing. I would guess facing Santa Monica Blvd would be noisy as well.
The room itself was very nice. Clean with a mini fridge. Water and snacks are free in the lobby. We had no issues with the room.
Breakfast was free and quite nice. Sausage, omelets, waffles, cereal, muffins etc. It is on the second floor in the middle of the hotel.
Would consider staying here again but would be very selective on the room choice.

Room Tip: Better ask for the quiet sides of the hotel unless you are a very deep sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marc m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express West Los Angeles, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear marc m,

Thank you so much for your recent comments. We take all feedback from our guests seriously. It helps us gauge what we are doing right and what we need to improve on and sincerely regret that your stay was negatively impacted by the the noise challenges you experienced. We don't want any guest inconvenienced and rest assured that your comments will be used for the purpose of bringing improvements needed.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arroyo Grande, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We haven't stayed here for a few years, it was very nice, and close to the Getty, West L.A., and Santa Monica, but this most recent visit left us searching for another hotel in the area. The room has degenerated into a less-than-$200 per night space. They have a fridge but no microwave. No more actual glasses, just wimpy plastic cups. No comfy chairs, just an office chair and a poorly padded built in bench. Horrible light bulbs, glaring like at a morgue, no soft incandescents..(I know, but they are still available..). A toilet flush that rivals a Vandenberg rocket launch for noise, and ill fitting drapes complete the sad picture. For all this you also pay $10 a day for parking. Bye-bye.

Room Tip: Do not rent 317.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonhartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express West Los Angeles, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear jonhartz,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room layout prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed here to visit our son and daughter who are living and working in the area and are sharing an apartment close by. We arrived early in the morning, and ran some errands for the kids. I decided to try an early check-in around 11:0am, and by my good fortune was helped by Sharon at the front desk. She was bright and pleasant, and immediately understood the desire to check-in early. She searched and found a room which had already been serviced, and put us in it. All the while, she made pleasant and fun conversation, always maintaining a smile.

The hotel is very nice with underground parking sufficient for the needs of the guests. It does not have a pool or hot tub, and the exercise room is very small and limited. That explains the four stars instead of five.

The breakfast is great with eggs and some kind of breakfast meat (bacon, sausage) each morning. The seating area is too limited and the alcove for the breakfast bar is easily crowded.

Like Sharon, the rest of the staff is very pleasant and helpful. The orange infused water in the lobby is really nice after a warm day in the sun.

We had an outside corner room overlooking Santa Monica Blvd and I-405 Freeway, and yet we were not bothered at all by traffic noise during the night.

We will definitely stay here on future visits to the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side of the hotel if you are sensitive to traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

The location of the hotel is good, albeit the due its location, meant it was always in traffic. You need to derive from here to either Santa Monica or LA, but we used for a stop in-between both and went back down towards Santa Monica in the evening. Its an Express hotels so you get what you expect . Its clean, modern but meets your needs. Breakfast in the morning was a good choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TDVTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrollton, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

I stayed there for 10 days recently and was very happy to find this hotel close to my job site at UCLA Medical Center. I had booked online for this stay and didn't realize that I could have saved even more with the UCLA rate, so my next stay was booked in person and I'm looking forward to another pleasant stay here.

Another convenience that is worth mentioning is that there are lots of restaurant choices within walking distance, which is also a bonus since I don't use a rental car when in LA.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hayoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesilla, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

First time at this HIExpress property. Very helpful front desk, clean and comfortable room. Breakfast the same as other HIE-hot items, lots of choices, fresh fruit, yoghurt, baked goods etc. breakfast room is outside but under a tent with large tall heaters so wasn't a problem. Did not encounter noise like other reviewers but a little tricky getting out of parking garage.

Room Tip: Ask for room in the back away from 405.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amyfoxnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Westside
Royal Palace Westwood
Royal Palace Westwood
#103 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Westside
BEST WESTERN Royal Palace Inn & Suites
Westside
Century Park Hotel
Century Park Hotel
#94 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Century City
Courtyard Los Angeles Century City/Beverly Hills
Westside
Hilgard House Hotel
Hilgard House Hotel
#131 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
#23 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express West Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express West Los Angeles

Property: Holiday Inn Express West Los Angeles
Address: 11250 Santa Monica Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90025
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express West Los Angeles 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the Westside of Los Angeles, our new Holiday Inn Express West Los Angeles welcomes visitors with extraordinary hospitality. Whether you're visiting for a corporate meeting or a family vacation, you will enjoy a stylish lodging experience with all the comforts of the home or office. Our ideal location also offers easy freeway access to all points of interest in the Greater Los Angeles Metro area. The Holiday Inn Express West Los Angeles is an exquisite, well-appointed hotel within easy reach of many extraordinary attractions. Enjoy the Third Street Promenade and Santa Monica Pier, Rodeo Drive shopping in Beverly Hills, and the treasures of the Getty Center Museum all just a few minutes away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Holiday Inn Express West Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express West Los Angeles Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing