We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely 3-night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilgard House Hotel
Ranked #148 of 354 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed 30 July 2012

My daughter and I chose this hotel because of the location and price and free parking.
We were visiting my granddaughter who was at UCLA for the summer.
Lovely quaint European-style hotel. Bed was very comfortable. Staff was friendly.
Courtesy Continental breakfast was good. Maid service could have been a tad better.
Overall, we were very pleased with our accommodations.

Room Tip: Our room was on the front of the building which we liked because it looked out onto Hilgard Ave. w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2012

Was a guest at the hotel for 6 nights because of its nearby location to UCLA Hospital.
During this time I received a very warm welcoming, sympathy and understanding. People were trying and willing to help.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shimipor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

I went on a weekend vacation with friends on a budget and we decided on this hotel for the price and the free parking service. The staff was excellent, while the facilities are somewhat old and not luxurious, the rooms are very comfortable. The courtesy breakfast was adequate and the hotel is located within walking distance from several restaurants and stores. Great for people who care about convenience more than fancy surroundings.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grbrst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

The good; location & price, many options for dining and happy hour within walking distance.Near Ralphs,Rite Aide,Trader Joes, more for sundry & food shopping in the area than interesting shopping. Nice TVs and premium channel selection.
The bad; it's very woren, rooms seem dirty, but I think they've reach the point of no return and no amount of scrubbing will get them clean. Furniture, carpets, bathroom fixtures, all dated and and pretty much used up.The breakfast is not a breakfast, it's a selection of grab and go items in the back of a very small lobby, really no place to sit and eat.It might be useful if you are in a hurry, but with all the good coffee shops near by, why bother.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank korrikorat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

The Hilgard House is located at the edge of UCLA, just across the street from the W Hotel. It's a quaint property with smaller, but well equipped rooms. The Front Desk Staff is friendly and helpful. The price can't be beat for a hotel in Westwood. The room and bathroom was clean. A simple continental breakfast is provided in the mornings and fresh coffee throughout the day is available for guests.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sundaisy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We had good expectations for our 2-night stay at the Hilgard House based on prior reviews. Location is great for UCLA or Geffen Playhouse events. It's also a short drive from the LA County Art Museum, and La Brea site. Parking and internet access were convenient. Staff were courteous and helpful. The room was however, a big disapppointment. The walls were stained particularly around the windows, accordian blind was dusty and yellowed, pillows were hard solid foam, although we did find shredded foam pillows in the closet, furniture has seen 'hard use', bathroom was also grungy, with stains on the door and woodwork, mildew around the shower, built-up dirt in the corners, etc. The carpet was thin, hard, and dusty. The towels were threadbare and sratchy. The public areas, lobby and hallways, are updated and appeared clean. The overall room quality could be improved with serious attention to deep cleaning and surface refurbishments - carpets, window and wall coverings, and linens. We would NOT STAY here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KNOCBIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

nice, close to local museums, close to beverly Hills, advisable

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Westside
Royal Palace Westwood
Royal Palace Westwood
#117 of 354 in Los Angeles
308 reviews
Westside
The Claremont Hotel Westwood
The Claremont Hotel Westwood
#249 of 354 in Los Angeles
69 reviews
Westside
Plaza La Reina
Plaza La Reina
#108 of 354 in Los Angeles
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westside
W Los Angeles - West Beverly Hills
Westside
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills
Westside
Holiday Inn Express West Los Angeles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilgard House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilgard House Hotel

Address: 927 Hilgard Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90024-3008
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £146 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hilgard House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilgard House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilgard Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing