We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice property in a not so great part of town. . .”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express - Los Angeles Downtown West
Ranked #123 of 349 Hotels in Los Angeles
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
141 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Nice property in a not so great part of town. . .”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

This property is newly remodeled and because of that, it's new, clean and very well decorated. The outside of the property is freshly painted in Holiday Inn colors and almost looks out of place considering the neighborhood and other buildings around it. It is in a very dirty part of town, let's just say that, with many people on the streets, walking, selling, hanging out, talking . . . we were concerned about the safety of our vehicle, but everything was fine. I wish there was a secured lot with a gate or something, but that's not the case here. Parking is free which is nice!

The room is clean and everything worked fine. We all got a good night's sleep, which was our goal, once the sirens stopped at about 11 PM. We were at Dodger Stadium (which is a 10 min drive) until 9:30 PM, but heard 3 or 4 sirens go by in that hour and a half that we were in our room before going to sleep. Do not expect to swim here, the pool is VERY SMALL -- we thought it was the hot tub!! No more than 5 people will fit comfortably and don't even think about doing any playing or swimming, it's just enough to wet your feet.

Breakfast was fine, no major complaints. Aside from hard, cold hard-boiled eggs, but perhaps that's me being picky. There were eggs, sausage patties, yogurt, fresh bananas and oranges, and several toast, muffin and bagel offerings. Typical Holiday Inn type of breakfast.

It's the nicest option in the area -- if you need / want to stay in the area. Just know, you won't be walking to and from dinner, the store, etc.

Room Tip: Stay on a higher floor, but we always request that. We stayed right across the elevator on the 5th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rocsmom0304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    69
    41
    13
    17
See reviews for
50
33
12
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

in general this place is ok as the price is quite reasonable based on the location. however this is the first time I travelled to LA and I immediately got bug bite in this motel. the bed sheet wasn't very clean and the closet feels smelly as well. unforturenately we left all clothes we bought in outlet in the closet and we found bugs when we tried on them back home. we spent whole weekend and try all we can to kill the bugs.

we wrote the Intercontinental group to raise this issue but the hotel insist their rooms are very clean after a "bug inspection" by outside company.

anyway, just a friendly remind to those who are going to stay in this place, be careful!

Room Tip: chekc out the holidayinn express in holywood
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric Yijia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Los Angeles Downtown West, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Dear Eric Yijia L,

We certainly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention. Guest comfort and safety are of the utmost concern to us and our hotels are committed to making every possible effort to provide a secure environment. The hotel took your comments seriously and immediately contacted their pest control company to come and inspect the room. The results of the inspection showed no evidence of any insects.

Once again, I really appreciate you sharing your comments.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

This is a newly remodeled hotel, which makes it look brand new on the inside. The furniture is modern and comfortable. Located a few blocks west of Downtown Los Angeles, and about a 5 minute drive to LA Live (Stables Center). On the other hand, the location is not so great, but if you don't mind taking a cab or driving this is a decent hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 32414Luis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed 1 night in this hotel and it was clean and the bed was comfortable. We arrived early morning and couldn't check in yet. The front desk staff left us go ahead and park the car so we spent the day in the fashion district. The ladies at the front desk were extremely accomodating and very friendly! The hotel was an excellent place to stay. The part of town it is in is not the best, but I would stay here again because it was a great place to shower and sleep. The breakfast was good and hot with a lot of different food options.
Great price, free parking, clean, comfortable, complimentary breakfast, A+ in my opinion.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

We were in town for Opening Day at Dodger stadium and, since the tickets were on the pricier side, we did not want to break the bank on a hotel, too. The low rates, paired with free parking and complimentary breakfast in the morning made this Holiday Inn Express a great value.

The rooms were clean, comfortable, and quiet. We felt very safe on the hotel grounds and in the parking area. We felt comfortable enough to walk through the surrounding neighborhood during the daytime--Langer's Deli (a must!) and MacArthur Park are very close--but I would not recommend doing the same after dark.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WPN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowley, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

If you need to get a passport quick, or other business at the Federal building, this hotel is a good fit. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidbuland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindon, Utah
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Rooms were clean, everything worked, inside the hotel I was safe and comfortable, but I would not venture outside after dark. Staff very friendly, will stay here again when I'm the area for business.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Rodeway Inn Convention Center
#173 of 349 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Hotel Solaire Los Angeles
#170 of 349 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Ramada Los Angeles/Downtown West
Ramada Los Angeles/Downtown West
#176 of 349 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Central L.A
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn
Hotel Normandie
#20 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express - Los Angeles Downtown West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Los Angeles Downtown West

Property: Holiday Inn Express - Los Angeles Downtown West
Address: 611 South Westlake Ave/I-10, Wilshire Blvd./6th St., Los Angeles, CA 90057
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 349 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express - Los Angeles Downtown West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Los Angeles Downtown West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Los Angeles
Ramada Los Angeles
Los Angeles Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing