We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had us in the lobby waiting for 3 hours”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express - Los Angeles Downtown West
Ranked #136 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Had us in the lobby waiting for 3 hours”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

When we arrived (it was before checkin time) We were told our rooms would be ready in 30 mins. 3 hours go buy and check in time has passed and we still dont have either room. The front desk staff was rude and uninformed, i called and spoke with the GM (Javier Barajas) and he was no help and was rude himself. I will be calling and filing a complaint with IHG corporate.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gaurav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Los Angeles Downtown West, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Gaurav S,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We apologize for any inconvenience in your check-in process that you experienced. We appreciate you bringing it to our attention, to give us the chance to improve future guests' experiences. We always encourage our guests to let us know right away if there are any issues or needs that they experience during their stay with us.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    70
    41
    14
    18
See reviews for
50
34
13
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
216 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Its a good hotel to spend a few nights in. Always know what you are getting in to. If you want to go sightseeing - this is not the place for you. If you want street life, restaurants etc - look elsewhere.
If you have a car, know a bit of the town and are looking for a reasonably priced place to stay - close enough to downtown LA - stay here.
The neighborhood is not the greatest, but the hotel and staff are nice.

Room Tip: Away from the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freq_Traveler_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Los Angeles Downtown West, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear freq_traveler09,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and thank you for staying with us. I truly apologize for the not up to par experience you had during you stay with us. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The overall stay was ok, but the hotel shuttle service is not up the par. I chose this hotel because it was close the venue I had attend. The shuttle service to the venue was superb by Martin, but the shuttle service when we were scheduled to be picked up was terrible. We had a shuttle pick up scheduled at 5:30pm. We were not picked up until 6:30pm. There was not any apology, and the driver Juan stated he came there 3 times which was a bold face lie. I called the front desk and spoke with Dennis at least 4 times, and he had no sense of urgency. This issue was a big deal because we were women in an unknown place, and it was nearly dark when we were picked up. Martin was great, but Juan and Dennis was terrible.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
84 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I chose this hotel as I needed a suite to share with another family in the downtown area. The room was very large and had two queen beds and a queen sofa bed. Even with the sofa bed open, there was a ton of space left. The kitchenette included a fridge and a microwave oven. On the negative side, there was no door or even a real partition between the area with the queen beds and the adjacent room with the sofa bed so there was no privacy. The continental buffet breakfast was included and definitely a plus. We were told by the cab driver not to walk around the hotel at night for safety reasons, and we did not, although the neighborhood seemed ok by day. The hotel is 30 min from LAX and 45 min from Orange County Airport with no traffic.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnricoNovelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Los Angeles Downtown West, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear EnricoNovelli,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. Your comments are highly valuable and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden Grove
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This is my first time staying in this hotel and honestly I was a little bit worried when reading their online reviews specifically the location and safety! When I arrived at the location I was very surprised that the location is not bad at all! I was very happy I chose this hotel. Staff was awesome especially Yasmin (night shift), shuttle driver and Jose in the breakfast area! This hotel is well maintained, decent price and has a superb customer service. I stayed in room 502 and had the city view which was really nice!! My wife and kids loves this hotel!

Room Tip: Top floor city view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oh-oh-oh-0h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Grange Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2013

+ No one was ever in the hot tub/ workout area. Great attentive staff. Plenty of free breakfast selections. Close to the highway. Typical urban area. I travelled with two small children and felt safe, but it may not look that way from the outside. Refrigerator in room.
- Wifi was spotty. They had several different ones and sometimes couldn't get it to work. Hallway roof leaked and they didn't seem in a hurry to fix. No microwave in room.
I paid a much lower rate than usually advertised which made this room seem like an excellent deal. If I had paid $200 a night it might not have seemed that way.

Room Tip: Wifi seems to work better on lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatChico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I was a little cautious when I booked this hotel based on reviews I had read regarding its location, but my concerns were quickly alleviated when I arrived and met the staff. This is a great hotel, and if you're in town on business or vacation, it's a quick shuttle ride to the convention center, Staples Center, Nokia, and conference hotels. The front desk is especially helpful, and every single staff member that I encountered was exceptional. Kudos to this general manager, Xavier, for assembling such a strong team. Walter was extremely helpful, and Danny and Juan made sure I got where I needed to be and back again without fail.

The hotel is clean, comfortable, and safe. I would absolutely stay with this team again. Thank you for making it possible to unwind and get some much needed rest during my busy visit to L.A!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Rodeway Inn Convention Center
#173 of 351 in Los Angeles
178 reviews
Central L.A
Ramada Los Angeles/Downtown West
Ramada Los Angeles/Downtown West
#178 of 351 in Los Angeles
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Solaire Los Angeles
#175 of 351 in Los Angeles
356 reviews
Central L.A
Best Western Plus Dragon Gate Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express - Los Angeles Downtown West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Los Angeles Downtown West

Property: Holiday Inn Express - Los Angeles Downtown West
Address: 611 S Westlake Ave, Wilshire Blvd./6th St., Los Angeles, CA 90057-3501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express - Los Angeles Downtown West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, IHG, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Los Angeles Downtown West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Los Angeles
Ramada Los Angeles
Los Angeles Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing