We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff and Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Solaire Los Angeles
Ranked #175 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Monterey, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff and Clean”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This hotel had a friendly staff, was clean and overall just fine for a inexpensive hotel in Los Angeles. The beds were very comfortable. The neighborhood was a bit iffy but we were working every day so it didn't matter to us. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: We liked our room with a balcony....the cost is extra but we got bumped up to this room so there was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfort1710, General Manager at Hotel Solaire Los Angeles, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for the thoughtful review. We are ready to provide you with comfort and service during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    109
    114
    56
    56
See reviews for
80
118
18
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I stayed in this holt March 2014 with a friend. As 2 young females we did feel unsafe in the location, this is a much poorer part of town and this is evident with the people and state of the streets here. Overall the hotel was good, service was great, staff very helpful and the rooms were clean. The hotel is a little dated and could do with updating but clean which is the main thing. The room walls are thin which means we got a fairly poor 3 nights sleep as you can hear every movement outside and In the rooms either side of you. I suppose you get what you pay for and that is the case for this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yellowbear213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfort1710, General Manager at Hotel Solaire Los Angeles, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We take pride in keeping our hotel clean and friendly and in being helpful to all of our guests. We look forward to being your hotel of choice during your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atascadero, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We took a group of developmentally disabled adults to a Laker's game the same weekend as the Academy Awards, so were limited on hotel choices. I was not familiar with this hotel or its location, The hotel looked nice in the pics, and it was a nicely, refurbished facility. What we couldn't see in the pic was the neighborhood, which I later found out, had a terrible reputation for crime. This was confirmed by the constant stream of sirens all night long.

On a positive note, the hotel, itself, was nice - trying to be a "green" hotel - I can appreciate that. The staff was extremely friendly and efficient - amazing ladies at the front desk. The continental breakfast was adequate and always kept stocked.

On a negative note, the only handicap room had a single, queen-sized bed, which didn't work for our client. Also, the doorways in the regular rooms were so narrow that our guest with a walker couldn't fit through. :(

All-in-all, it was a positive stay. Hotel Solaire is like a pleasant oasis in a sketchy place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellengruetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfort1710, General Manager at Hotel Solaire Los Angeles, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Our staff strives to be efficient and welcoming for all over our guests. We enjoy providing our guests with a friendly face at the front desk and a hearty continental breakfast. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

I really hate giving bad reviews to places, but if by writing this I can prevent a parent to go through what I did, then I would try.
This was a really bad experience. We arrived from our trip tired with two little kids. When we finally got the the hotel it was in really bad condition. Dirty sheets, dead bugs in bathroom floors, dirty walls, really ugly and dirty.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank monicaiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfort1710, General Manager at Hotel Solaire Los Angeles, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you for the review. We are sorry to hear that your experience was unsatisfactory. If you would like to share your experience with us, please contact info@hotelsolaire.com. We look forward to working with to resolve this issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Decent budget hotel - clean, friendly staff, continental breakfast, cute pool and reasonably priced parking ($4/day). Nothing wrong with this place as long as you aren't expecting to stay at the Ritz. The neighbourhood isn't as glossy as others (particularly around Macarthur park)but we walked around during the day and felt safe. Probably wouldn't venture out alone at night - but a little bit of common sense goes a long way.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy2223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfort1710, General Manager at Hotel Solaire Los Angeles, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate that you enjoyed the friendliness of our staff and our continental breakfast! We look forward to making your next trip to Los Angeles a pleasant one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This Spanish Hacienda -type hotel used to be a Comfort Inn but over the last few years has renovated and updated. My two girlfriends and I have stayed here for 12 years or more in Nov. or Jan and always enjoyed our stay. They do have an included Continental breakfast which is very convenient and good. Sylvia, the day manager at the desk, is a treasure, so helpful. The area where the hotel is situated is in or near a largely Spanish area which has much improved over the years also. The parking area has a fence surrounding it and there is a small fee for parking but worth it. The rooms are clean and fairly well appointed. We chose this hotel for price, comfort and the fact that it's not that far from the fashion district where we like to run rampant with shopping for the better part of a week each fall. One caveat is that washcloths seem in short supply so call the desk if there aren't enough.

Room Tip: Room 235 is larger than most of the others but doesn't have the same charge as the balcony rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JewelSpokane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfort1710, General Manager at Hotel Solaire Los Angeles, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you so much for your loyalty to our hotel! We are very happy to have become your home when visiting downtown Los Angeles and look forward to having you back for years to come. Your notes and tips are greatly appreciated. We will see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grass Valley
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I needed to be conveniently located to the LA Public Library and to the Motion Picture Academy Library in Beverly Hills. The Hotel Solaire fit the bill, especially since the price included parking.
The hotel has three floors, an elevator, and most rooms have balconies, although the "view" is of the parking lot, and a noisy street. The room had two queen beds, a refrigerator, safe, microwave and TV. The bathroom had a very small vanity, just a ledge above the toilet, but the tub/shower had a grab bar and anti-slip strips. My pet peeve - just one chair. But the balcony had two plastic chairs, so we pulled one inside. Just one luggage rack... There are vending machines and ice machines on each floor.
Wilshire Blvd. is just a block away - easy to get everywhere. The neighborhood is Latino, with no restaurants nearby, just lots of little hole-in-the-wall shops.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CreeksideGrassValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfort1710, General Manager at Hotel Solaire Los Angeles, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thanks so much for taking a moment to review your stay. We could not be happier that you enjoyed the majority of your visit, and we greatly value your constructive notes. We hope to have you back during your next stay in downtown LA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
The Mayfair Hotel
#242 of 350 in Los Angeles
484 reviews
Rodeway Inn Convention Center
#184 of 350 in Los Angeles
183 reviews
Central L.A
Ramada Los Angeles/Downtown West
Ramada Los Angeles/Downtown West
#181 of 350 in Los Angeles
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Metro Plaza Hotel
#139 of 350 in Los Angeles
370 reviews
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express - Los Angeles Downtown West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Solaire Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solaire Los Angeles

Property: Hotel Solaire Los Angeles
Address: 1710 W 7th St, Los Angeles, CA 90017-2106 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Solaire Los Angeles 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Solaire Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn - Los Angeles / West 7th Street Hotel Los Angeles
Los Angeles Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing