We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated, but ok. You'll stay for the location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Ranked #136 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I used to live in The Valley and was nearby on business, so I decided to stay here for one night in order to visit friends. The nice thing is that, since nobody wants to drive OVER "the Hill", I decided to stay ON "the hill" hoping that I would see more friends that way. Also, having City Walk as a venue made for a nice motivator for a lot of people to join me, which they did.

As for the hotel itself, it's been there forever and as expected, it's a bit dated. I had no need for a pool, and since it was under construction, I didn't miss it. I arrived unexpectedly early and was provided a room no problem. The view from the corner room on the 12th floor was outstanding. The rooms are smallish, but more than sufficient for me alone. I wish they didn't charge extra for the wifi, but they still do. It would have been nice if the club room had offerings all throughout the day... if you're not on their schedule, it's hardly worth the extra, and even if you are.. it's not much to write home about. HIE provides a nice breakfast, but whatever. The buffet breakfast served downstairs was very good and the service was excellent.

The convenience to City Walk / Universal can't be beat if that's what you are there for. Easy access to the new train system at the bottom of the hill too and conveniently 15min from Burbank airport with shuttle services available. It's not the cheapest hotel around, but if you don't mind paying for convenience and location, it's a decent value compared to the shiny building next door.

Room Tip: My corner room on the 12th floor was very nice with an excellent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iamtheczar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheratonmanager001, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Universal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Guest, your comments are invaluable and please trust that they have been shared with the Executive Chef for further possible modifications. We are always interested in what our guest needs and preferences are so we can help make it the best experience at our hotel. We are glad that that hotel offered convenience and that the service was excellent . We do hope you decide to stay “on the hill” again with us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,711)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

894 - 900 of 1,711 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Not the best hotel. We could hear the man in the room next to us crystal clear, and in the morning it sounded like people were slamming the doors as they left their room due to paper thin walls. Wouldn't stay here again. We tried getting a room for our second night at the Hilton next door, but they were booked full so we had to stay here. The hilton was much nicer and more roomy, definitely worth the extra money. Not to mention the pool at Sheraton was closed due to construction. Also, check in was at 3 and we were at park til 4:30 figuring that'd be plenty of time to check in. Wrong. We arrived to check in at 4:30 and our room STILL wasn't ready as we learned after we waited in line for 20 min. Lesson learned: stay at Hilton.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank bneville29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheratonmanager001, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Universal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Guest, it certainly sounds like we could have done better. I would like to extend an apology for the later entry to your room. We strive to get our guests in as early as possible and I am very soory that did not happen on this visit. Your comments are shared with the team and the managers involved so we can revisit areas as needed. Thank you kindly for taking the time to give us your feedback. We hope that you are kind enough to give us another opportunity to regain your confidence on another visit. Please feel free to keep me as your contact if you wish as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Staying at the Sheraton was very convenient because it's next to Universal Studios with a short free shuttle ride there. Their customer service is outstanding starting with the Valet greeting us like we are friends he hasn't seen in a long time along with the Bellman being of great help with our bags and treating us like royalty. Walking into the lobby was like walking into a large home with lots of inviting chairs and couches in the adjacent lounge. They have a non-traditional check-in area that I thought was unique in that it was a small desk with one person manning it but I suppose if it was busier they'd have two or more? Not the long desk one see's at other hotels. Very relaxed non-pretentious atmosphere which made us feel good. Over all check in was a good experience.
We had 3 rooms for our crowd and they were adjoined so that was nice. The rooms were average with the normal wear and tear one sees at a hotel next to a theme park that gets millions of visitors a year. Everything worked fine with some noticeable defects but overall very good for a nights stay. We were there to go to Universal not to stay in the room! One bank of elevators so with over 18 floors could become a nightmare during the busy times like check-out and check-in. Overall we had a great time and wish we had more time to stay there to explore L.A.. We highly recommend the Sheraton Universal for the level of customer service and making us feel welcome. We felt the service came naturally to their employees and was not contrived like they were being forced to be nice to us especially the guys working the Valet and Bell desk.
After our stay when looking at the charges and fees we did find some discrepancies so we contacted Sheraton. Instead of being able to resolve the issues right away they said that they would contact us within 24 business hours. Huh? What does that mean? The issues are still being worked out as of this date which is in, I would hope, the 24hr window. That's the only drawback to this trip and I would hope that their policy will change to give the customer service rep. or their supervisor the ability to handle decisions then and there and not make the customer wait.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheratonmanager001, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Universal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Guest, your feedback is crucial to our future success and we thank you kindly for all the information. When you mentioned “Very relaxed non-pretentious atmosphere which made us feel good” is exactly what the hotel is all about ! We certainly appreciate the feedback on the mishap with getting back to you in a timely manner, that should not have happened and is definitely reviewed. We do hope your travels bring you back this way again soon as it would be our pleasure to be of service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

The Sheraton in Universal wasn’t the nicest hotel, but had a great location. Right in Universal City, the Sheraton is only a minute’s walk to Universal Studios- no need to pay for parking! The rest of the hotel isn’t so nice however. The hotel is pretty outdated and the lobby has a strong perfume smell and it is so strong I got a headache every time I walked in. Although the hotel is non-smoking, the remnants of smoke lingers in the hallway and rooms. I’m guessing the hotel use to allow smoking and they can’t cover up the smell. Between the perfume smell of the lobby and the strong smoke smell in the rooms, I had headaches almost everyday. The smell is definitely my biggest complaint, but the hotel is pretty outdated. The outside looks like it is from the 80s and the hotel tries to incorporate Universal Studios into their décor- but it just looks weird. The hotel has a nice breakfast place downstairs with a great buffet and splendid service. The pool was under construction when we stayed, but the Hyatt’s pool next door is open for guests to swim in. There is a gym, which is nice, but it is pretty small. The location was the best for me, for it was literally a two minute walk to Universal Studios. The views on one side overlook the Los Angeles valley, which is nice, but the views on the other side are only of a hill. The hotel is convenient, but if you are looking to be closer to the downtown LA area I wouldn’t recommend staying here. It was about a 15 minute drive- not with the traffic- to downtown. I would only recommend staying here if you are going to Universal Studios. The hotel is pretty outdated and has terrible smells, so I would not recommend this to someone. The Hyatt right next door seemed a lot nicer. The hotel does have a nice breakfast area, service, and location, but I would not recommend this hotel- the smell and décor ruined it for me!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Madeline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheratonmanager001, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Universal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Guest, your feedback is important and we are responding to your concerns in regards to the smoke smell. That is not acceptable and we are reviewing that with the managers involved. We would have like to be of moved your right away if we had the opportunity while you were with us. The comfort and convenience of our guests is of primary importance. We are glad the restaurant, location and service was to your liking and hope that you would be able to give us another opportunity to win back your trust. Thank you again for your time and very important feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Lokasi memang sangat berperan menentukan baik tidaknya perjalanan kita. Sheraton Universal Hotel memiliki lokasi yang luar biasa bila kita ingin menikmati Los Angeles yang identik dengan Hollywood. Lokasi di samping Universal Studios yang legendaris dan 10 menit dengan mobil dari pusat keramaian Hollywood merupakan pilihan tepat. Hanya sayang hotel yang telah berumur ini memang perlu revitalisasi agar standar huniannya juga dapat seindah taburan bintang Hollywood.

Location definitely starts the tone of our trip. Sheraton Universal Hotel offers excellent location when we visit Los Angeles for the sake of Hollywood Heart. Next door to the legendary Universal Studios and 10 minute drive to the center of Hollywood are deifinitely great reasons. Unfortunately, this aging hotel requires major revitalization (some works already being done) if it wants to set its standard as high as Hollywood stars.

Notes: Very helpful Concierge

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DickyTjokrosaputro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheratonmanager001, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Universal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear Guest, we are truly thrilled that the location and the hotel amenity’s were to your liking! You are right, we are all about the fun and glamour which makes this location very exciting. We appreciate your excellent comments and hope to be of service again in the near future. You are the true stars and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Excellent staff and customer service. The Californias Cafe has tasty food options. The meeting room were clean and frequently restocked with coffee and snacks. There was some construction being performed on my side of the hotel which started noisily early in the morning. There is also central heat which only comes on after a certain time. I didn't like that but overall, great place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheratonmanager001, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Universal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Guest, we are very glad that your visit was a success and thank you for pointing out our well appointed location and the dedicated Sheraton Team. We are all about amazing service and it is important to us that each guest feels special and fully enjoys their experience. We are indeed going through our beautification process and it is our hope that you will visit us again soon to see the outcome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Hotel was surprisingly nice, good staff, and nice rooms. Other than the A/C noise, we have no complaints. The Starwoods (gold and platinum) lounge was very good, and well kept by the staff. It was very good for breakfast.
Wireless network was a bit slow.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FHANDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheratonmanager001, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Universal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Guest, thank you kindly for your review, We are very involved in excellent service and we are thrilled this visit was a success for you. The lounge as you mentioned is very convenient and the chef takes great care in the handling of his dish’s. All your feedback is noted and shared with the managers involved and it is our hope the you will return again in the near future. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
The Garland
#15 of 355 in Los Angeles
3,184 reviews
Universal City Area
BLVD Hotel & Spa
BLVD Hotel & Spa
#63 of 355 in Los Angeles
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Universal City Area
Nite Inn at Universal City
Nite Inn at Universal City
#143 of 355 in Los Angeles
184 reviews
Central L.A
Tilt Hotel Universal / Hollywood, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Universal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Universal Hotel

Address: 333 Universal Hollywood Drive, Los Angeles, CA 91608-1095
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £176 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Universal Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 457
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nothing says Hollywood like a facelift. We have started our guest room renovation at the HOTEL OF THE STARS. All services are still available for guest use during this phase. At the Sheraton Universal Hotel, located next door to the excitement of Universal Studios, we artfully blend Sheraton's four-star service with the history of an iconic Hollywood Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Universal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Los Angeles
Los Angeles Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing