We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect welcome ! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Ranked #108 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The perfect welcome ! ”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

After a long and stressful flight I was pleased to be greeted by a very friendly guy on the front desk, which made me and my newly engaged fiancée feel welcomed straight away he asked what our visit was for and as we just got Engaged he gave us free parking for the week which made a difference, these are the little things that make this hotel a great place to stay and I will be returning in the future!
Our room was clean spacious and a great view!
We ordered room service which was surprisingly tasty and not as expensive as most!
The location was great it's literally right next to universal studios and a few minuets drive away from all the Hollywood attractions ,walk of fame ext. with all this in mind it is a quiet hotel where you can enjoy a great nights sleep and truly feel welcomed nothing but praises for the Sheraton Universal.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Danny319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheratonmanager001, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Universal Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Guest, we agree that after a long trip a friendly face and great service can make a huge difference and set a great tone. We are so glad you chose to stay with us and we thank you for the excellent feedback. The location indeed is amazing and so convenient to get your day of fun started off right away. We do hope you consider us for future visits as it would be our pleasure to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    559
    380
    152
    96
See reviews for
688
309
57
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

As a Starwood Preferred Guest, my room was upgraded upon check in. That was a pleasant surprise. The front desk was courteous and helpful and the room clean and comfortable. We were also given access to the club lounge. The hotel is also walking distance to Universal Studios. You can also opt to take the shuttle that comes by every 15 minutes or so. Highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jarodlwk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheratonmanager001, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Universal Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guest, we are glad you had a nice visit and recieved an exceptional reception from the staff. We do all we can to make sure our guests feel special and at home. Thank you kindly for your insights and it is our hope that your travels will bring you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The staff were excellent, the prices were very competitive, the rooms very comfy but the restaurant offering was pretty lacking and the facilities are a bit sterile. The pool was not working either. If I was going to Universal City I'd definitely recommend the Hilton next door instead.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EandC7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheratonmanager001, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Universal Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guest, thank you kindly for your insights . Your thoughts on the restaurant are definitely passed on for us to revisit certain areas. We appreciate your feedback and thank you kindly for taking the time to write. Your experience is not what we accept and it is out hope that you will allow us to be of service again soon to show our true interest in you as our valued guest. Please feel free to keep me as your contact as well if you wish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
143 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stayed here in April, 2014. Great location - can walk to Universal Studios and the City walk. Close driving distance to the Getty Centre and Griffith Observatory. Easy access to the 101. Hotel was clean and quiet. Good rooms and starbucks and a bar close to the elevators which was really handy. The concierge had tons of information and was very helpful. Price wasn't too crazy. I would recommend this to anyone visiting the LA area. Disneyland is a 45 - 55 minute drive.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheratonmanager001, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Universal Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guest, thank you kindly for your insights and indeed the hotel is in a very prime location. We are glad the staff made your visit easy and you were able to take advantage of all the fun offerings the hotel and surrounding area has to offer! We do hope your travels bring you back this way soon. Thank you again for your excellent feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is spotlessly clean & very quiet, in fact we hardly passed another guest our whole stay. The pool was out if action which was a pity as there was nowhere to sit outside to enjoy the sun. Access to City a Walk & Universal Studios is so simple & both offer great shops, restaurants & bars. The staff at this hotel are very helpful & pleasant.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank j1lloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheratonmanager001, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Universal Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guest, we appreciate your time and feedback. We take great pride in the cleanliness of the hotel and thank you for mentioning it in your review! The staff works hard to create the most comfortable and welcoming environment possible. We do hope you travels bring you back this way soon, and it would be our pleasure to be of service again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

It isn't if a property has problems or doesn't have problems (even the most perfect hotel will sometimes have a challenge) - it is how a property RECOVERS from the problem and what actions they take to resolve customer service issues. Due to some prompt attention and action by this hotel's Front Desk Manager Sam (both during and after my stay) this hotel proved they can recover nicely.

I stayed at this hotel last year and had some serious disappointment. Particularly in regards to the cleanliness of our suite. Upon bringing this to the attention of the Front Desk, action was taken, but still - some serious doubts about the property remained.

Upon returning home, I was again contacted by the Front Desk Manager. I responded and she invited me back, at my convenience, to stay at their property again, so that they could demonstrate for me the service and quality that they like to be known for.

I have just completed that stay, and I must say, I was rather impressed by the friendliness of the staff and my suite this time (they upgraded me to the same suite I had purchased previously) was in far better condition and clean as I would have expected. I will say, this return stay, returned my faith into this property.

Please note, the location of this property is excellent, particularly if you are visiting for Universal Studios. A free shuttle is provided and actually, it is within walking distance of the entrance. It is also in a good location overall for exploring Northern LA and surrounding attractions.

At the same time, the hotel is old - generally well kept and upgraded throughout the years, but it is an older property without too much "eye appeal."

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TebanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheratonmanager001, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Universal Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guest, I appreciate your comments and it is very important to us that if there was an issue or concern it gets addressed immediately . I am glad I was able to help and the staff did all we can to make things right. Your comments are shared with the staff and the managers involved. Please feel free to keep me as your contact for any future visits as it would be my absolute pleasure to be of service again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
445 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We arrived at the hotel around 6:30pm, and parking is very hard. We decided valet parking , but still a waste of time. The lobby is just average and,simple. We were there just for the night, to celebrate the grand debut of my niece. The grand celebration was at the Banquet Hall, at the very top floor overlooking the city of Los Angeles We stayed at the executive suite, so.huge clean and comfortable. Service is good. The Banquet Hall is awesome,, and the walls are illuminated with beautiful lights.There were about more than 200 guests, that danced the night away . Each table has a giant flower vase with the best giant round shaped bouquets of fresh flowers arranged magnificently...I was just disappointed at the open bar, they dont have Belvedere vodka. But, its a very memorable experience. Awesome...and the best.

Green Features: Choose the top floor with the view of (NBCUniversal)
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maganda0411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheratonmanager001, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Universal Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guest, awesome at best is excellent to read! Thank you kindly and we are very glad your experience and event went well. We do hope your travels bring you back soon, maybe for another fun event in the same beautiful ball room with the best views in the city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Universal City Area
BLVD Hotel & Spa
BLVD Hotel & Spa
#92 of 351 in Los Angeles
381 reviews
Universal City Area
Nite Inn at Universal City
Nite Inn at Universal City
#132 of 351 in Los Angeles
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Tilt Hotel Universal / Hollywood, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
The Garland
#13 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Universal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Universal Hotel

Property: Sheraton Universal Hotel
Address: 333 Universal Hollywood Drive, Los Angeles, CA 91608-1095
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Universal Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 457
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nothing says Hollywood like a facelift. We have started our guest room renovation at the HOTEL OF THE STARS. All services are still available for guest use during this phase. At the Sheraton Universal Hotel, located next door to the excitement of Universal Studios, we artfully blend Sheraton's four-star service with the history of an iconic Hollywood Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Universal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Los Angeles
Los Angeles Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing