We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab pool, even better concierge and good location for universal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Ranked #122 of 352 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Small, somewhat tired room even after our upgrade to a poolside room but pool made up for it! Great location if universal studios is your thing. Best of all was amazing concierge who ensured we made the most of our two day stay - she made sure we sat on the right side of the rides, took the quickest routes and recommended the best travel options!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 42ASimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheratonmanager001, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Universal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear 42ASimpson,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our newly renovated outdoor terrace and pool area. However, we also understand that your accommodations were not completely satisfactory, and we sincerely apologize for any discomfort. Those issues aside, it sounds as though our concierge made a lasting impression during your stay. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you to the Sheraton Universal to show you the five-star experience you expect from a hotel of our caliber.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,664)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Universal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

731 - 737 of 1,664 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

Solid no frills tourist hotel for Universal Studios Hollywood visitors. Very worn interior in the room but the beds were clean, no bugs, quiet and 10 mins or so walk to Universal.

Best: Staff - very friendly and helpful, proximity to Universal

Needs Improvement - wallpaper stained, carpet uneven and bunched in the hallways, feels like it needs a renovation.

Would stay again if we went back to Universal.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank TokyoQ Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheratonmanager001, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Universal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear TokyoQ Q,

We are pleased to hear that you had a great experience with our friendly, helpful staff and enjoyed our hotel’s proximity to Universal Studios. It’s wonderful to know you’d return and stay with us again in the future, and we hope to have another opportunity to provide a satisfying stay from start to finish. We appreciate your honesty and will continue working towards a better guest experience. Please contact us directly at ssamanon@sheratonuniversal.com before your next vacation to see how we can make your next stay truly memorable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I am currently staying in the Sheraton universal during a short stay in L.A with my family. The main purpose for choosing this hotel was the close proximity to universal studios (5-minute easy walk - or a free shuttle every 15 mins). The hotel itself is really nice and clean and classy looking inside and out, and everybody is really nice and helpful..especially the concierge in the main lobby. (He was able to book and print our universal studio tickets right there and then, and also book us on a tour that we wanted to go on the day after)

The only downside to our stay has been that the walls between the rooms (in addition to a locked joining door) are practically paper-thin. We can hear full conversations from the guests next door both morning and night..and they are not noisy people at all. I am currently traveling with two children (4 and 10) and to say that they are excited is an understatement, so I feel guilty telling them to keep quiet when we return to our room late in the evening, and all my four year old son wants to do is tell everybody about the minions!

We have all stayed next door to 'that family' in the past, and we are not them...but the thinness of the walls, and knowing that next door can hear our every word...just makes me very self conscious and that is not how it should be, and your kids should be able to be super-excited and tell me about the minions..again...and again...and again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Craig P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

If you are walking and want to do some shopping - this is perfect! The rooms could use an update - just a bit of refreshing. We really enjoyed the pool as it was right outside our patio. The staff was cordial. This hotel ranks average in amenties offered. I won't go out of my way to return.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaybnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

From check-in through check-out, we received good service from this hotel. This is the only Sheraton that has offered wine at check-in. I assume it resulted from our Gold SPG status but even with that for years, we've never been offered wine before. The concierge was helpful in getting us on the walking path to Universal Citywalk, going so far as to walk us outside and point out the direction with step-by-step instructions.

There was nothing particularly fantastic or terrible about the room. It was functional and appears to have been recently remodeled. The same goes for the public spaces. We've stayed both here and at the neighboring Hilton and while the Hilton looks a lot nicer from the outside with its glossy impressive building, I wouldn't have an issue staying either here or at the Hilton the next time we go to Universal Studios.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank bkoji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Booked a night to spend the day at Universal Studios, checking in was ok and the rep worked with my special request for a high floor. Upon entering the room, I noticed the carpet had really gross stains from liquids of some sort. The bed had hair from other guests, and bedding had a stain as well. The bathroom was ok,until I saw the toilet was NOT thoroughly cleaned around the rim and the seat as well. I also noticed hair in the shower walls and that was unacceptable. Our room was near the elevators, so I highly don't recommend staying near them due too the loud other guests walking by. I was not impressed with the Sheraton, I will be staying at the Hilton next door.

Room Tip: Stay at the Hilton next door, otherwise its like you booked at Motel 6
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Nice city hotel, comfortable beds, lovely pool & helpful staff.
The hotel is around a 10 minute slow walk from Universal but there is also a shuttle bus to and from the park for hotel guests.
The only inconvenience (for us) was that there was no free wifi point in the hotel.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank sionedeleri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Universal City Area
BLVD Hotel & Spa
BLVD Hotel & Spa
#90 of 352 in Los Angeles
397 reviews
Universal City Area
Nite Inn at Universal City
Nite Inn at Universal City
#138 of 352 in Los Angeles
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Tilt Hotel Universal / Hollywood, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
The Garland
#14 of 352 in Los Angeles
3,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Universal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Universal Hotel

Address: 333 Universal Hollywood Drive, Los Angeles, CA 91608-1095
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £180 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Universal Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 457
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nothing says Hollywood like a facelift. We have started our guest room renovation at the HOTEL OF THE STARS. All services are still available for guest use during this phase. At the Sheraton Universal Hotel, located next door to the excitement of Universal Studios, we artfully blend Sheraton's four-star service with the history of an iconic Hollywood Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Universal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Los Angeles
Los Angeles Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing