We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe, Clean, Affordable, Kind and Free Cookies”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda
Ranked #83 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed 17 July 2012

After researching extensively because I had no clue about the areas in Los Angeles, I made reservations here and hoped for the best. As we approached the hotel, I was a little concerned as the surroundings were a somewhat sketchy...adult bookstores, check cashing, liquor stores...I was worried a little. But none of that mattered. This place was super clean, every member of the staff was kind and accommodating, and the price could not be beat comparatively with many other places in the LA area. Believe me, I checked.

We stayed in the king suite, room 266 to be exact, and we got a roll out bed. This was enough space for three older teenage boys, my husband, and myself. The air conditioning was super cold and so was the refrigerator. When we asked for extra towels, we got them, no attitude or inconvenience. Our hands were full when we first went to open our door, but the nice maintenance man opened our door for us. There is a cute little pool and hot tub if you desire some relaxation. All the pics I've seen posted seem accurate. The one drawback to our room was the fact that a fire station is across the street and goes on runs every now and then, so bring some ear plugs if you're a light sleeper, but don't let that stop you from getting a room.

Parking is a bit tight if you come home later. We squeezed into a few spots and shimmied out of the car. However, it is gated in the back and feels very safe. But I feel we could have parked out front as well with no problems. The property, inside and out, is well kept. My initial feelings of anxiety about the location quickly dissipated as we walked up and down the street several times to the 7-11 and next door to the CVS. Everyone we met was kind.

Concerning the breakfast, which others have commented on, it was fine. Exactly what you would expect...bagels, muffins, two types of cereal, toast, oatmeal, some fruit, juice, coffee/tea. It fed our family each day and saved us a lot of money. LA has expensive food!! Honestly, with the way we ran the air conditioning and the amount of food we ate, I don't know how they can charge such low rates.

Finally, free cookies!! I know that they are probably for the checking in customers but the staff didn't mind if my three scavenging teenage boys popped downstairs for a cookie or two each day. They are not always available, so it kind of turned into a game. How nice of them to let them have them!! Such kind people here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Miesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seeyeah, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

Dear Miesse,

Wow what a great review. We know that guest have choices for where they choose to stay. We are so glad you found our location to be beneficial in all aspects of your stay. We provide great service, Quality and cleanliness for all our guest for a economical price. It's great to see that you had all of that. For the viewing public we will provide this for all our current and future guest, all with a Hojo smile which by the way is complemantary. We hope to serve you soon.

Thank you,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

685 - 691 of 1,106 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2012

Thank you to the staff. Everyone was friendly, helpful, kind and hard working. The hotel was clean and very comfortable. It is not located in a ritzy area but we felt very secure and safe there. Even walked in the neighborhood with no problems. The stay was excellent and certainly more reasonably priced then many other hotels in LA. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Top floor will minimize noise from people staying above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VickieJ03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seeyeah, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

Dear VickieJ03,



Thank you very much for that great review. Many guest that stay with us find great value, service and quality at our property. Thank you for your acknowledgement. We will look forward to serving you again.

Thank you,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

arrived very late on a sunday night. they held my reservation, was very close to where i had to make my delivery to the next morning. staff was very polite and helpful. room was clean and comfortable, BUT it was very noisey. i came back after my delivery and went back to sleep, i was awoken to vacuuming from another room. I was also awoken from the family with 3 small kids sitting the the comon area outside my room. the location has been renovated, granite throughout bathroom area. carpets clean and bed comfortable. Wyndhams website says this location has truck parking, unless you are a elite driver you would not be able to turn your truck aroung in this parking lot. you will have to back in from street, which could be an issue. there is gated parking. this being my first trip to LA, i was not sure what to expect but area seemed good enought for the little amount of time i was here. not sure about wifi i did not use. overall a pleasant stay and would stay again if i am ever back in the area.. and as far as the review that says it is next to a fire station i didnt see one..

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seeyeah, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

Dear ThoThank you for choosing our hotel for your stay. We are glad you found our hotel to your liking. We hope to serve you again soon.

Thanks,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We enjoyed are stay and would definetly stay again. We were upgraded to a Suite and could get in early which was great after a long flight from Chicago my Elderly father need to get some rest. The room were very clean and we enjoyed the friendly staff. The area around the Hotel was fine no worries at all. Located close to Grocery Store. The pool area was a little small. Location was great we could go to Universal Studio and Hollywood for the Day and traffic was not to bad.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janie0688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 July 2012

Dear jhoke4519,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the viewing public. We are glad you found our property met your standards for quality and the service. We are determined to provide this to all our current and future guests.We want to provide all the guests with an excellent stays.
Hope to see you soon.

Thank you,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We Find the hotel very clean i like that a lot. WE Just use the hotel for sleeping and shower. WE don't enjoy the pool (pool is not the great is to small and indoor) and either have the chance to enjoy the complementary breakfast to early for us (6:30 to 9:30) if you are looking for a place to "crash" this is a good option. for us the expereience was great.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claudiayerik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 July 2012

Dear claudiayerik,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay. We maintain our hotel and rooms to provide the cleanest property for all our guest. We hope to serve you again.

Thank you,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

No one has written about it so maybe if you stay on the other side of the building its not a big deal for the noise factor. The suite we stayed in was very clean and had two seperate rooms as advertised.we have two small children so every little something is some thing.ac/heatet in both rooms.couch bed not the best but tolerable.neighborhood a little scetchy but car was safe behind secured gated building.cameras everywhere.lobby and room had cherry wood furniture and granite.pool a little outdated and only two chairs like they dont want you making a day of it.next to a cvs which is nice because there is always something you need.overall we were very pleased with the room and staff just not the fire station location

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kpayette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 July 2012

Dear Kpayette,

Thank you for staying at our property.Glad you found our hotel to your liking. We provide quality and friendly service to all our guest. Smiles are complimentary as well as fresh baked cookies in the afternoon. I do apologize for the noise. Hope to serve you soon.

Cheers,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We spent one night and booked three king rooms. The property was neat and clean. Staff were friendly on check in. Since we paid up front when we checked in, check out was a breeze. Rooms we clean and comfortable. Plenty of space and well appointed. Parking was easy and plentiful. There was only one negative in that we had two windows looking out to the pool and only one opened. As such, we could not get any fresh air into the room. The air conditioner worked well but the thermostat cut in and out all night. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxAtHome99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 July 2012

Dear MaxAtHome99,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Glad you found great quality and frienly service at our property. We will share your comments with all our staff. As for the a/c when you set the themostat on auto it will shut off when it reaches the set temp. Hope to see you soon.

Thank you,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
South San Fernando Valley
Best Western Plus Carriage Inn
Best Western Plus Carriage Inn
#41 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,197 reviews
Harbor
Best Western Plus San Pedro Hotel & Suites
South San Fernando Valley
Hilton Woodland Hills/Los Angeles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North San Fernando Valley
Good Nite Inn Sylmar
Good Nite Inn Sylmar
#101 of 355 in Los Angeles
334 reviews
Harbor
Rodeway Inn & Suites Pacific Coast Highway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda

Address: 7432 Reseda Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 91335-2818
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > South San Fernando Valley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
#34 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#59 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#67 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £76 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites - Reseda
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites - Reseda Hotel Los Angeles
Howard Johnson Hotel Reseda
Howard Johnson Los Angeles
Los Angeles Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing