We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly and affordable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda
Ranked #73 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly and affordable”
Reviewed 7 July 2010

Howard Johnson in Resada CA was clean, comfortable, affordable and the staff was friendly and helpful. The free breakfast was a good value and saved $20-25 daily if we were to eat out. The hotel is located 1.5 miles from the LA Metro park and ride which provides efficient access to the city and Hollywood. There is also a CVS store next door. Good value and a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yankee1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seeyeah, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda, responded to this review, 19 July 2010
Hi yankee1313,

Thank you for staying at the howard johnson inn & suites, Reseda. We are very thankful for the great comments regarding your stay. The savings in today's economy is a big factor for todays traveller. They want great prices with the best service and the cleanest rooms.
Glad you found all that and more.

Best regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    400
    145
    53
    34
See reviews for
404
268
118
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The ATL
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2010

We spent a week in California in three cities. The Howard Johnson Reseda Inn & Suite was by far the better of the three hotels we stayed in. With our adult son traveling with us having a two room suite was fantastic. Both rooms had large flat screen televisions, phones and separate air conditioning. The bathroom was in his front room so there was no reason for him to disturb us.

The room was clean, smoke free, and not too close to the ice machine. If the building had an elevator it would be perfect. And do not let the auto repair business in the neighborhood bother you. This is a really nice place, with very nice and professional staff.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edsad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seeyeah, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda, responded to this review, 6 July 2010
Dear Edsad,

Thank you for your wonderful comment regarding our hotel. The hotel has finished all the rooms to above standards with granite finished bathrooms and granite countertops in the rooms furniture. All rooms come with 32" flat screen tv's. Each room comes with a mini fridge.We have suites for families such as yourself that require some privacy. All suites come with two TV'S. We look forward to serving you again.

Thank you,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2010

Very helpful front desk. We had a group with 3 seperate rooms, they worked very hard to get us next to each other and upgraded our rooms to suites. Clean, comfortable rooms. Location was great for us with family near by, is a little drive to beaches, Hollywood and so forth, but not too far. Breakfast was a meager affair, but the staff was exceptionally helpful and friendly. The pool was smallish, but clean and fun!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThewKohl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seeyeah, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda, responded to this review, 6 July 2010
Dear ThewKohl,

Glad you found our accomodations to your liking. We love to provide our customers with great value and exceptional service. Hope to see you soon.

Cheers,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2010

Staff helpful and polite. Rooms very clean and roomy. If in area again will stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingtrio42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seeyeah, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda, responded to this review, 6 July 2010
Dear travelingtrio42,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel. We understand you have many options for your stay.
Glad you found our property to your satisfaction.

Thank you,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2010

At first glance the hotel seems too far away from the center of Los Angeles. But actually, the hotel has a great strategic location as it is very close to sites like Santa Monica, Hollywood, Beverly Hills or Universal Studios. Well, traveling by car of course (highly recommended in L.A. and California in general!).

The hotel is in a quiet neighborhood, the staff is very friendly, the rooms are good and the price correct and rather exceeds the value one would expect. There is even a swimming pool for those who like to spend some extra time in the hotel! And a simple breakfast is also included! Not to forget is also the free parking (this should be the case evreywhere but you will see how many hotels make you pay to park your car!)

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PinturaRoja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seeyeah, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda, responded to this review, 6 July 2010
Dear PinturaRoja,

Thank you for sharing your review of our property. Many travellers look for good value and exceptional service. We do outr best to provide our customers all that they need.
We are located close to many of the Los Angeles area attractions. Most people do not realise
that many hotels charge for parking until it is to late. We provide free breakfast, free wireless internet and free parking at our hotel.


Thank you,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2010

My wife, baby, and I stayed here for 4 nights May, and we were quite pleased. LA hotels are very expensive, and those on a budget should consider this place, which is fairly priced. The location is a bit out of the way, but you're less than 10 minutes from the freeway (either 101 or 405). The LA freeways are worse than ever, but if you avoid rush hour and accidents, you can be downtown or in West LA within a half an hour. (Get traffic reports on 1070AM). LAX was also about 35 minutes, and that was at rush hour (but traffic was moving then).
The neighborhood is NOT dangerous; there is gated parking, but frankly, it isn't necessary. We mostly just parked out front and had no problem. I would walk around this neighorhood at night without any hesitation.
By the way, another review said the apartment complex behind the hotel was run down. I disagree. Perhaps the reviewer was some sort of a millionaire and is used to mansions next door.
The hotel is simply in one of the many parts of LA that aren't very charming (strip malls, etc.). Next to the hotel is a CVS, an auto repair shop, etc. There are some great ethnic restaurants in the neighborhood, including a great Mexican place on Vanowen, called Las Fuentes.
The rooms in the front of the hotel get some street noise, and there's a fire station across the street, though we only heard a siren once in four days. We were close to the front, and the noise didn't bother us very much, but if you're sensitive, ask for a room back from the street. The hotel is very quiet inside, and we heard no noise at all from other guests.
The breakfast is pretty minimal: two kinds of cold cereal, muffins, bread, juice, coffee.
Many rooms have no microwave oven, but you can use the microwave in the lobby. We had a small refrigerator in our room.
There is a small pool and jacuzzi, but they could be cleaned a bit more frequently. They're not heated.
The rooms were spotless and recently renovated (granite counters in the bath, etc.). We had two Sharp Aquos flat-screen TVs in our suite. The hotel overall is in excellent shape. Our suite was a true one-bedroom, with a door you can close between the bedroom and the living room (unlike some "suites" we have seen).
The housekeepers were very nice and responded instantly to requests for extra towels.
The management and front desk people were very friendly and seemed to care a lot about our satisfaction.
We definitely recommend this place, as long as you aren't hoping for a charming setting or a central location. Unless you're willing to spend a lot more, you can't expect everything, and frankly, this place is a very good deal for LA.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seeyeah, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda, responded to this review, 16 June 2010
Dear jonco,

Thank you choosing our hotel for your stay.
Many travellers are looking for a great hotel at a great price in todays economy.
We are glad you found good value at the Howard Johnson Inn & Suites.
We are located approx. 2 miles from the 101 hollywood freeway and approx 5 miles to the 405 freeway. Very easy access to many attractions in Los Angeles from the freeway.
Thank you for sharing your review with the public. Look forward to serve you again.

Cheers,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHOENIX
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2010

Hi,

thanks for the great stay we had. and we are looking forward to spend our last night again at your hotel.
Great staff. Thanks for storage.

Charlie and Wendy

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NR1Charlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seeyeah, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda, responded to this review, 16 June 2010
Dear NR1Charlie,

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It was our pleasure to serve you. Hope to see you soon.

Cheers,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Harbor
Best Western Plus San Pedro Hotel & Suites
South San Fernando Valley
The Sherman Hotel
The Sherman Hotel
#125 of 351 in Los Angeles
46 reviews
South San Fernando Valley
Best Western Plus Carriage Inn
Best Western Plus Carriage Inn
#45 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North San Fernando Valley
Good Nite Inn Sylmar
Good Nite Inn Sylmar
#108 of 351 in Los Angeles
303 reviews
Harbor
Best Western Los Angeles Worldport Hotel
South San Fernando Valley
Hilton Woodland Hills/Los Angeles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda

Property: Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda
Address: 7432 Reseda Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 91335-2818
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > South San Fernando Valley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
#42 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#59 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#67 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites - Reseda
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites - Reseda Hotel Los Angeles
Howard Johnson Hotel Reseda
Howard Johnson Los Angeles
Los Angeles Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing