We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice economical place to stay”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda
Ranked #74 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Tucson,AZ
1 review
“Nice economical place to stay”
Reviewed 22 July 2010

Stayed at this location because of the vicinity to Universal City (15 miles) and the economical price.The rooms were large as were the bathrooms. Once stayed at the Sheridan in San Diego and only one person could use the bathroom at one time. Pool is small but refreshing and the breakfast was nice and with the gated parking lot very secure. Easy access to Highway 1 and Santa Monica as well, very scenic drive! Would stay here again!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seeyeah, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda, responded to this review, 5 August 2010
Dear aayalaTucson_AZ,

Thank you for sharing your experience and reviewing our property. Many guest that stay at our location find it easy to visit universal studios and hollywood area. Our rates are very economical compared to downtown Los Angeles Hotels. Glad you found good value.
Look forward to serve you again.

Thank You,

Management
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    401
    145
    53
    34
See reviews for
406
268
118
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2010

We were in town to tour Cal State Northridge and wanted a hotel close to the campus.
This hotel was newly remodeled, our room was comfortable, clean and quiet. The staff was friendly and helpful and we appreciated the breakfast, which we ate in the outside courtyard. The parking lot was secure with an automatic gate. We would recommend this hotel to anyone, and if our child chooses to attend CSU Northridge we'll stay at Howard Johnson Reseda often.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seeyeah, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda, responded to this review, 19 July 2010
HI MommaT94530,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel. Guest always have choices for where they stay.
We appreciate your comment regarding your stay. We are located approx. 2.8 miles from the California State University Of Northridge (CSUN). Many of the students and parents visiting choose to stay with us for our rating and close proximity to the school for convenience.
Our staff provides as much help for all guest whom require direction, information etc to make their stay more worry free. We are at your service.

Thank you,

Management
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hempstead, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2010

What a great value for anyone traveling with a child. The room was very large with two flat screen televisions -- one in the bedroom and one in the living room. Not the cleanest room I've been in and maybe a bit worn around the edges, but the price was looooowww and we got a lot of room for the money. We were visiting family, so the location was excellent for us. I think for a tourist this may not be the best spot unless you don't mind a lot of driving.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seeyeah, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda, responded to this review, 19 July 2010
Dear thkosan,

Thank you for staying at our hotel. Glad you found our hotel met your budget.
In regards to the room not being very clean is a concern for me. We make every effort to provide the cleanest room and maintain the rooms to above standard. If you would please contact me i would love to discuss where we may have slipped up. The hotel has been recently renovated with all new beds, furniture, flat screen tv's carpets etc. Looking forward to chat with you.

Thank you again,

Management
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brekstad
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2010

From the first welcome in the reseption to the always smiling employees in all functions, they really made this stay great for two norwegian friends on a long trip. When we wanted assistance we allways got good help and a valuable smile at the same time. The rooms are nice and functional with enough space for both visitors and luggage. The value for money was by far worth the location. We had a car and this made it fairly easy to get from the hotel to all the points of interest we had. All the big "must see's" was within reach by a short trip on the highway. If you don't have to live in a tiny and overpriced room on Sunset Boulevard, and you enjoy friendly and personnal service, this is the place for you! PS! Thank's again for the practical joke on my friends behalf!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seeyeah, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda, responded to this review, 19 July 2010
Hi torerikb,

Glad you found our hotel to your liking. Many guest like yourself find the location perfect for not being in the city. We are located to many area attractions for visitors wanting to see all of greater LA 's attractions like universal studios,getty museum,hollywood walk of fame,beverly hills, santa monica etc. As always we provide all our guests for with the utmost service and with a smile.

Cheers,

Management
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Valley, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2010

A total of 11 partys of the same family booked this hotel for 3 day weekend to honor my brother at Los Encinos State Park ( The De La Ossa's ) Some of us had not seen each other 30 to 40 years, the hotel had nice patio areas for us to visit and were welcomed to continue visiting in the lobby past 10:pm . Also there parking lot was gated which was a great plus.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seeyeah, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda, responded to this review, 19 July 2010
Dear DELAOSSA,

Thank you for staying with us. The hotel will remember the great group that celebrated seeing family members after such a long time. Glad they all enjoyed their stay. Groups bookings at the hotel are always welcome.

Thank you,

Management
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ENGLAND
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2010

Stayed 3 nights in June and thoroughly enjoyed our stay, particularly in the courtyard at night having a few drinks and conversing with fellow travellers. Car was nice and secure behind locked gates. Free continental breakfast. Staff polite and helpful, room quite large.
Bad news was the location- no bars nearby only takeaways. Plenty of convenience stores mind though the miserable asian shopkeeper next door reminded me of the one in the movie ‘Falling Down’. Seemed a bit industrial with car repair shops abounding. My son felt ill at ease with the local groups of youths hanging around but I think the threat was more apparent than real. Long drive to anywhere-downtown LA and Santa Monica .Shame because obviously the hotel could not do anything about the location.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seeyeah, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda, responded to this review, 19 July 2010
Hi MIKEYDREAD,

Thank you for staying at our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed the hotel and the staff.
In regards to the area it is a typical LA neighborhood not Beverly Hills but typical. The area around is safe as any in LA. We provide gated parking for our guest only.
Many travelers use a car to see all the attractions around the greater LA area.
Many guest do not want to stay downtown LA for its trafic and smaller more expensive rooms as per some of the comments by other guests. We hope to see you again.

Cheers,

Management
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake District, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2010

We came across this hotel via trip advisor, whilst looking for accomodation in Santa Monica. Due to the prices and being like Blackpool, we decided to move to LA which was going to be our next stop over.
The hotel itself is on the main road but set back enough to avoid any traffic noise. The staff were excellent throughout, as were the rooms which had just been refurbished and were complete with all mod cons, a massive fridge, Telly, radio and a good strength free Wi Fi . ( No safe.) The bed which was also new, was as comfortable as any we had encountered on the trip. ( From San Fran to Phoenix. ) It also had a small pool that we did not use but we were out early and back late. Next to the pool is a nice courtyard area with tables and chairs.We could not remember seeing a lift on the premises but there may have been at the other end. Due to the block layout i.e large cube surrounding small cube, it has the potential to be noisey, as guests move along the corridors. We never experienced this and I suppose this type of layout is in the majority. The reception area is large and the lower end doubles as the breakfast area. Breakfast is also complimentary and there is a reasonable choice to kick start you in the morning. It doesn't have a bar but if you like a drink there is a Liquor store about 30 mts away to the one side and a pharmacy a similar distance the other way.
We ate at the Firehouse , which is a Greek restaurant about a mile back towards the freeway and next to the park. The food was excellent and very reasonable, No Bar and you do have to pick up your tray from the counter but well worth a visit. Great owners.
In all we really enjoyed our stay , staying a second night and marked it up as 8/10, which is good as CAESARS PALACE only got 9/10 due to it's pool.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seeyeah, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda, responded to this review, 19 July 2010
Hi eltel43,

Thank you for sharing your stay with the public. Wow being compared to Cesars Palace is a big compliment we thank you for that. Many guests choose our location when visiting Los Angeles because of great value, clean rooms, free continental breakfast, free wifi, free parking and best of all they don't want to be close to downtown LA. The rooms are smaller and more costlier. We have easy access to many area attractions from our location.

Thank you,

Management
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Harbor
Best Western Plus San Pedro Hotel & Suites
South San Fernando Valley
The Sherman Hotel
The Sherman Hotel
#126 of 351 in Los Angeles
46 reviews
South San Fernando Valley
Best Western Plus Carriage Inn
Best Western Plus Carriage Inn
#45 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North San Fernando Valley
Good Nite Inn Sylmar
Good Nite Inn Sylmar
#108 of 351 in Los Angeles
303 reviews
Harbor
Best Western Los Angeles Worldport Hotel
South San Fernando Valley
Hilton Woodland Hills/Los Angeles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda

Property: Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda
Address: 7432 Reseda Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 91335-2818
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > South San Fernando Valley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
#42 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#59 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#67 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites - Reseda
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites - Reseda Hotel Los Angeles
Howard Johnson Hotel Reseda
Howard Johnson Los Angeles
Los Angeles Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing