We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Good Value Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda
Ranked #86 of 357 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed 3 August 2010

We stayed in the Howard Johnson Reseda for 4 nights in July. We went to this hotel on the basis of the very favourable reviews on Trip Advisor and I have to say we were very pleased. We pre-booked some months in advance and were able to get 20% off plus we reserved adjoining rooms with a connecting door (rooms 205 & 206). Specific points of note:
- Location to the N of LA. Ideal for Universal, Hollywood and Getty but too far for Disney!
- Not the best area in the world but providing you have a car not a problem
- Secure and free parking!
- Friendly and helpful staff
- Large clean rooms and very comfortable beds
- Free breakfast ideal. Not a vast choice but toast, bagels, cereal, tea and coffee and certainly enough to get us going each day.
It's easy to be picky and find faults (there are always some) but remember this is only a
2* hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardW99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seeyeah, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2010

Dear RichardW99,

Thank you for your fine comments regarding your stay with us. We glad you found our location close to Universal Studios, Hollywood and the Getty museum. Many guest from Europe and around the world making a trip to Los Angeles go to Hollywood ,visit Getty Museum and Universal studios. Making our location easy by car. We are close to the Freeway 101 and 405.
Guest visit Santa Monica And Venice beach as well. Many guests travelling today are very price sensitive. We provide the best service and the cleanest rooms. Just to clarify it is the ammenities the make the star rating not the service and the cleanliness. 2 star means we are a economical hotel not a full service hotel that provides room service or have a restaurant in the hotel or conferance centres. Hope you have a great trip back to the UK.
Look forward to see you again.

Cheers,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

862 - 868 of 1,118 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2010

We stayed at this Howard Johnson hotel as a base to explore Hollywood and to visit Universal Studios. The hotel was very easy to find, the reception staff were extremely friendly and efficient. The hotel itself might not be the best looking place but the rooms were spacious and we were very pleasantly surprised to find that we had a separate bedroom, with the kids sleeping on the large sofa-bed. The room was newly refurbished, spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable. The secure parking and free (very easily accessible high-speed internet) were all bonuses. All-in-all, an extremely positive experience. A highly recommendable budget hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scortes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seeyeah, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2010

Dear scortes,

Thank you for sharing your review of our hotel with the traveling public. Our hotel has many guest from all over the world stay with us when visiting the Los Angeles Hollywood area.
We are located close to the 101 and the 405 freeway for easy access to Universal studios and the Hollywood walk of fame area. Many travellers get frustrated in the downtown area with the noise and the traffic. They prefer being 10 to 15 miles away. Our location with the economical pricing make it the place to be. We provide clean rooms,great service and a free smile to all our guests. We will share your lovely comments with our staff to encourage the same level of service to our present and future customers.

Cheers,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

If you're looking for a very clean, very reasonably priced (around $80) place to stay in the LA valley, then this is a great place.

VERY clean, newly redecorated, comfortable bed, nice bathroom, good A/C.

Reseda isn't exactly in the middle of the action, but it is close to the freeway and easy to get around.

FREE GATED PARKING.

You'd be hard pressed to find a nicer room for less in LA.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestMarinMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seeyeah, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2010

Dear WestMarinMan,

Thank you for choosing the Howard Johnson, Reseda as your hotel to stay. Travellers have many choice when choosing a hotel to stay. We provide great service with economical prices for all our guests. We are happy that you were pleased with all aspects of your stay. Look forward to see you again.

Thank You,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2010

Stayed at this location because of the vicinity to Universal City (15 miles) and the economical price.The rooms were large as were the bathrooms. Once stayed at the Sheridan in San Diego and only one person could use the bathroom at one time. Pool is small but refreshing and the breakfast was nice and with the gated parking lot very secure. Easy access to Highway 1 and Santa Monica as well, very scenic drive! Would stay here again!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aayalaTucson_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seeyeah, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2010

Dear aayalaTucson_AZ,

Thank you for sharing your experience and reviewing our property. Many guest that stay at our location find it easy to visit universal studios and hollywood area. Our rates are very economical compared to downtown Los Angeles Hotels. Glad you found good value.
Look forward to serve you again.

Thank You,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

We were in town to tour Cal State Northridge and wanted a hotel close to the campus.
This hotel was newly remodeled, our room was comfortable, clean and quiet. The staff was friendly and helpful and we appreciated the breakfast, which we ate in the outside courtyard. The parking lot was secure with an automatic gate. We would recommend this hotel to anyone, and if our child chooses to attend CSU Northridge we'll stay at Howard Johnson Reseda often.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MommaT94530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seeyeah, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2010

HI MommaT94530,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel. Guest always have choices for where they stay.
We appreciate your comment regarding your stay. We are located approx. 2.8 miles from the California State University Of Northridge (CSUN). Many of the students and parents visiting choose to stay with us for our rating and close proximity to the school for convenience.
Our staff provides as much help for all guest whom require direction, information etc to make their stay more worry free. We are at your service.

Thank you,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

What a great value for anyone traveling with a child. The room was very large with two flat screen televisions -- one in the bedroom and one in the living room. Not the cleanest room I've been in and maybe a bit worn around the edges, but the price was looooowww and we got a lot of room for the money. We were visiting family, so the location was excellent for us. I think for a tourist this may not be the best spot unless you don't mind a lot of driving.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thkosan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seeyeah, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2010

Dear thkosan,

Thank you for staying at our hotel. Glad you found our hotel met your budget.
In regards to the room not being very clean is a concern for me. We make every effort to provide the cleanest room and maintain the rooms to above standard. If you would please contact me i would love to discuss where we may have slipped up. The hotel has been recently renovated with all new beds, furniture, flat screen tv's carpets etc. Looking forward to chat with you.

Thank you again,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

From the first welcome in the reseption to the always smiling employees in all functions, they really made this stay great for two norwegian friends on a long trip. When we wanted assistance we allways got good help and a valuable smile at the same time. The rooms are nice and functional with enough space for both visitors and luggage. The value for money was by far worth the location. We had a car and this made it fairly easy to get from the hotel to all the points of interest we had. All the big "must see's" was within reach by a short trip on the highway. If you don't have to live in a tiny and overpriced room on Sunset Boulevard, and you enjoy friendly and personnal service, this is the place for you! PS! Thank's again for the practical joke on my friends behalf!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank torerikb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seeyeah, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2010

Hi torerikb,

Glad you found our hotel to your liking. Many guest like yourself find the location perfect for not being in the city. We are located to many area attractions for visitors wanting to see all of greater LA 's attractions like universal studios,getty museum,hollywood walk of fame,beverly hills, santa monica etc. As always we provide all our guests for with the utmost service and with a smile.

Cheers,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Harbor
Best Western Plus San Pedro Hotel & Suites
South San Fernando Valley
Best Western Plus Carriage Inn
Best Western Plus Carriage Inn
#40 of 357 in Los Angeles
1,220 reviews
Regency Inn Los Angeles
#98 of 357 in Los Angeles
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North San Fernando Valley
Good Nite Inn Sylmar
Good Nite Inn Sylmar
#103 of 357 in Los Angeles
343 reviews
South San Fernando Valley
Tarzana Inn
Tarzana Inn
#121 of 357 in Los Angeles
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda

Address: 7432 Reseda Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 91335-2818
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > South San Fernando Valley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
#34 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#59 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#67 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £73 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites - Reseda
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites - Reseda Hotel Los Angeles
Howard Johnson Hotel Reseda
Howard Johnson Los Angeles
Los Angeles Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing