We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay in LA and has free parking and WiFi!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda
Ranked #64 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Joplin
2 reviews
“A great place to stay in LA and has free parking and WiFi!”
Reviewed 5 November 2010

We just got back from our trip and read a few newer reviews. This hotel is NOT the Universal Hilton and if you want to pay $300+ a night, stay there. This hotel is around $70 a night and offers incredible service for the price.

They have a pool and a hot tub. I didn’t use the pool since it was cold, but I did sit in the hot tub for awhile and I loved it. The pool area isn’t as nice as a resort (think Disneyland), but again, you’re not paying $300+ a night here like you would there.

The parking is free and gated. The rooms were recently renovated. The breakfast, while very basic, was good. One day, they found out that we were going to Hollywood and recommended parking at the Renesisanse Hotel. It was only $2 for us to park there! The hotel is about 15 minutes or so from Hollywood (about 30 minutes if the traffic is bad).

The hotel is not perfect, but similar hotels are priced at or over $100. It’s NOT a dump and we felt very safe inside of our room. The rooms had a nice shower space and a nice HDTV TV. They also have cookies available when you check in.

Another good thing to note is that the Internet is completely free and worked very well. The password should be on your room keys when you check in. We have problems getting online at most hotels and were very pleased things went well here.

Should it be in the top ten best hotels in CA? I think it depends on what you’re looking for. This hotel was in our price range and exceeded our expectations. Keep in mind that everything is more expensive in LA (and any bigger city) so $70 a night here for this place is a good deal.

You might find some nicer places at a similar price point online, but keep in mind that they probably charge for parking, internet, breakfast, etc. All of these things are included in the rate here. I also slept comfortable which resulted in a great stay. If you’re looking for a great place to stay, sleep, and relax in the Hollywood/ Burbank area, this is a great choice.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank futuremrsrobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seeyeah, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda, responded to this review, 8 November 2010
Dear futuremrsrobinson,

Thank you for your recent response regarding our hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay. We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts and takes the time to say thank you. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make the Howard Johnson Inn & Suite a leader in excellence. Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    392
    143
    49
    33
See reviews for
392
266
114
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anderson, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2010

This was a very nice hotel considering the location. Having grown up in the SFV, I knew Reseda wasn't the best location but was pleasantly surprised at how nice the hotel was. Very clean rooms and roomy. Nice staff and lovely continental breakfast. The flat screen TV was a hit with my husband. The only thing that could be improved is to title your wireless internet connection. There were quite a few to choose from and it was hard to figure out which one was from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lv2trvl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seeyeah, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda, responded to this review, 8 November 2010
Dear lv2trvl88,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Glad you found our newly renovated rooms to your liking. We appreciate your comments and we will share this with our staff.

Thank you,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2010

My husband and I called the hotel a month in advance to see if they offered shuttle service to Magic Mountain and Universal. They said yes they did to both. When we arrived at the property we were told no shuttle to either park. OK no problem we would rent a car. Then around 2:30 am we were awoken by the people above us running around, people talking extremely loud outside our room and the muffler shop next door working on a car. Yes the price is nice for this hotel but I would advise everyone to pay a little more to NOT stay here. We finally ended up leaving the hotel at 5:00 am and went to stay at the Universal Hilton - much nicer property. The manager on duty flat out refused to give us a receipt when we told him we were checking out. He also acted like he really didn't care if he lost our business or not. It obviously didn't matter to him. Lousy, lousy service and property. DO NOT STAY HERE - IT IS A DUMP!!!!!

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kahluasm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seeyeah, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda, responded to this review, 8 November 2010
Dear kahluasm0m,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel. I Would love to clear up perhaps a misunderstanding regarding calling our hotel. It looks like the reservation was made on a third party site not directly at out hotel. Our staff at the hotel will let you know if we do or do not provide shuttle service to the parks. Our employees have been with us for many years and are well trained. Sometimes the third party sites are not aware of the hotels services. The reason the hotel does not provide a receipt for your stay is the third party site that you booked and paid for your room would provide it for you. If you booked directly with us we would be happy to provide you with the receipt for your payment. I do apologize for any noise you encountered but i don't think any of the businesses would be open at 2 in the morning. Please do call the hotel, we would be happy to discuss this matter with you. Many guest that have reviewed our property find our service to be very accomodating. We hope you give us another chance to show you we do care.

Thank you and have a wonderful day,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chino Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

I chose this hotel based on the reviews and the price. I took my high school cross country team to California from Arizona and wanted to be near our race, near Magic Mountain, and close to the beach. There was a little mix up on the reservation (due to the school and not the hotel). However, the manager Andy, resolved the problem and was able to give us the rooms. I appreciate the friendliness of the staff and their cooperation. The rooms were nice, clean, and very comfortable.
There are plenty of eating places close by and CVS is right next door. I appreciated the free and secure parking.
If I am in the area again, I would definitely choose this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corrermucho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seeyeah, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda, responded to this review, 8 November 2010
Dear corrermucho,

We realize you have many choices when it comes to lodging, and we sincerely appreciate your business. We are always very happy when a guest comments about the wonderful service they have received. This ensures that the staff knows what a great job they have done. Thank you again for your kind words. We hope to have you as a guest in our hotel again soon.

Thank you,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

I like this place.
Service, Cleaning, Facilities, free internet, very nice room and facilities, free continental breakfast

We dont talk about 5 stars Sheraton in Dubai and somewhere with hundreds of dollar per night, we talk about this nice hotel with 70 something per night.

What I needed more.

I will be there for all my travel to Los Angeles

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saeed100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seeyeah, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda, responded to this review, 8 November 2010
Hi saeed100,

First of all let me thank you for staying with us again. We appreciate your business and we look forward to serving you again on your trip back to Los Angeles.

Thank you,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kortrijk, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

I found this hotel through Tripadvisor. I stayed at this hotel with 2 friends for 5 nights. The rooms are quite large with a nice bathroom, airconditioning, Flatscreen TV and comfortable beds. You can park your car at the back, the parking is closed of with an automatic port. In the morning you get free breakfast and there is free internet in the rooms. Internet be slow sometimes but it's good enough to check your mails. The staff was also very friendly and helpfull. There is also a small pool and jacuzzi which we used once. Very good value for a small price!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guillaume G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seeyeah, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda, responded to this review, 21 October 2010
Dear DelaZ,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay. Guest have many choices when choosing a hotel, we are glad you found our hotel that met all of your needs and with the best service. The recently renovated rooms with the 32" flat screen TV, Granite in bathrooms and bedrooms make our property seem expensive but as most all guest have found the rates are very economical. The rooms are very clean and you get many of the basic ammenities needed for your stay. As many guest have confirmed you get more than you pay for. We do however provide complimentary smiles and fresh baked cookies daily.

Thank you,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala City, Guatemala
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2010

To Mina, Shaela, Neneth, Andy, and Bobby and all the rest of the staff:

Blanca and I want to thank you for helping to make our week stay in your motel so enjoyable. The morning breakfast and coffee was just icing on the cake. Our rooms (were stayed in 3 different rooms were always very clean and neat. We enjoyed having the small refigerator as it added to our comfort.

We will tell all our friends to make sure that they stop buy and stay with you when the need arises. Again, you warm personalities were a nice change in the normal cold receptions you can get with other accomadation.

See you on our next trip to the U.S.

Sincerely,

Ed and Blanca Sherbok (from Guatemala)

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockhudson45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seeyeah, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda, responded to this review, 21 October 2010
Dear rockhudson45,

Many thanks for the wonderful review of your stay. We love to provide as much service to all our guest as possible. Many vacationer from other parts of the world and USA, visiting Los Angeles choose our location for its service,cleanliness,pricing and the close proximty to many attractions. Travelers not wanting to stay in the busy downtown area choose our location.
We are nearby Hollywood,Universal Studios, Warner Studios, Getty centre, Beverly Hills, Santa Monica, Venice Beach etc to name a few. We look forward to see you again on your next trip back.

Thank you kindly,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Harbor
Best Western Plus San Pedro Hotel & Suites
South San Fernando Valley
Best Western Plus Carriage Inn
Best Western Plus Carriage Inn
#50 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Regency Inn Los Angeles
#83 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
South San Fernando Valley
Hilton Woodland Hills/Los Angeles
Harbor
Rodeway Inn & Suites Pacific Coast Highway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda

Property: Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda
Address: 7432 Reseda Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 91335-2818
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > South San Fernando Valley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
#43 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#60 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#68 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites - Reseda Hotel Los Angeles
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites - Reseda
Howard Johnson Hotel Reseda
Howard Johnson Los Angeles
Los Angeles Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing