We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great budget accomadation” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magic Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Magic Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great budget accomadation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

Helpfull staff, good location, simple rooms but ample considering your only their to sleep. abit noisy but hey your in La so its all part of the experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussietraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,952 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,200
    558
    120
    51
    23
See reviews for
1,369
770
66
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (544)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
N ew Jersey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

My husband and I stayed for 5 nights and also had other family members staying at the hotel. We stayed in a studio on the second floor and it was spacious enough for the 2 of us. The staff knew it was my husband's birthday and on the day of our arrival they had wine, chocolate cake and a card for him waiting in the room. I had also booked dinner at the Magic Castle to celebrate his birthday that evening. The Magic Castle is a private magician's club and you have to know a member to be admitted unless you stay at the Magic Castle hotel. It was a super great evening with lots of magic shows that are very fun and entertaining although I would not rave about the food. Back at the hotel the staff are so very accomodating helping with your travel , restaurants and sight seeing plans. The hotel is not luxurious but it is comfortable and clean. The continental breakfast is very nice and can be enjoyed poolside. The free snacks and DVD's are a great treat and parking is only 10.00 dollars a day. It is a quick and easy walk to the Hollywood walk of fame and the metro is nearby for a quick , cheap and easy way to get to Universal studios. On Thursday night the hotel staff recommended the farmers market up on the hill that had good views, delicious foods, the best gourmet ice cream sandwiches I have ever had and wine and beer was avaiable with live music. The observatory was another great free treat that was nearby. You have to allow for time to wait on line to see through their telescope. The night we went we got to view Saturn and there is no charge for your visit. This was our first trip to LA and we hope to go again and stay at this hotel. We highly recommend it

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheAcks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2011

we arrived mid afternoon greeted with lemonade in champas glasses. This hotel was our last stop i had heard great things on here. Our room was not ready which we were a tad surprised at is was about 4pm. We werent too bothered sat around pool after driving for most part of day and the staff raced to help take bags to room for us. My 8 year old daughter was a tad disappointed the hotel was not part of the castle and we did get a tad confused when we arrived parking at the castle not the hotel. Parking was $10 a day bargain.
ROOMS-
we had a two room unit, older but refurbished. Massive fridge, full kitchen, large tv. one king and one queen bed couch and chair coffee table desk lamps. Clean tidy. Bathroom had sep bath and shower not anywhere to put your toilet bag but there is a bench outside door with a mirror. The best smelling soap youll ever smell. The beds are so comfy

I have two negatives- 1- the noise coming from the road was very loud. Busy most part of the night and i was super thankful i had ear plugs. I dont think you would get this from all the other rooms, ours just was directly onto front.
2- our room was not inside the unit complex but on the outside which did concern me that anyone can just walk up to the door and windows. Most of the windows are second story but the one near the front door did not have a lock we realised when going to bed however the second wed mentioned it the next day staff had fixed it within 30 mins. I would have still felt safer inside the complex as everyone has to walk through the office to get inside.

FREE SNACKS - surprised they still offer this after our three kids kept them busy. Not once did the staff blink an eye at the amount of snickers and cokes my teen sons requested. They even sent my husband out with some to the car for our plane ride home on checkout.

STAFF were simply amazing. Couldnt help enough from directions and maps to special requests. little notes in the rooms

BREAKFAST- loads of cereals, toast juice, hot choc coffee tea etc, some pastries and fruit bowl. My only suggestions would be to change it up every couple of days perhaps put different pastries for the customers staying a few days.

LOCATION- excellent not right on main strip but a stones throw away.

We are very happy with this hotel and thank the Magic Castle for making our last few days fabulous in the USA before we returned to Australia

Room Tip: request to be inside the complex
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Australianberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2011

The staff at the Magic Castle Hotel can not do enough for you from the moment you check in until the moment you leave. We arrived much earlier than the advertised check in time and were greeted warmly (with a drink) and advised that we could have one of the two rooms we had booked immediately and that the other would be ready in an hour. The check in process was one of the most thorough I have received ranging from information on the complimentary breakfast, the pool, the complimentary mini bar available at reception, the free DVDs for use, free laundry detergent, the list goes on.
For our family day at Disneyland one of the members of staff even researched the best means through which to travel to and from Disneyland. When this turned out to be via hire care, he then went about booking it for us and arranging to have it dropped off and picked up at the hotel by the hire car company.
While the rooms are probably only 3.5 stars at best, they are very clean, comfortable and ours had a kitchenette and dining area which was great given that we were travelling with our two young children. The free wireless internet was very reliable and the room itself was also very quiet and peaceful from a sleeping perspective.
The final 'magic' part of the visit was on check out when we were advised that we could keep one of our two rooms until 6pm at no extra charge given that we had a late night flight out of LA. Extremely generous and extremely unexpected.
This hotel thoroughly deserves the ratings it is receiving on TripAdvisor and is one that I wouldn't hesitate in recommending to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderers98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2011

This is an older hotel - so don't expect new finishes. However, it is spotlessly clean and charming. We had a one bedroom suite, which seemed huge! All the employees we came in contact with were fabulous. Customer service is definately valued at this hotel. This is now our go-to hotel in the Los Angeles area!

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AussieOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2011

A most wonderful hotel in a top location, just 10 minutes by foot from the Hollywood Walk of fame and the Kodak Theatre. The Hollywood/Highlands train station is also nearby. Very friendly and helpful staff, large rooms with kitchen, free continental breakfast, free internet and quiet rooms added to its charms. Have stayed here twice and would certainly come back if we were visiting Los Angeles again

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms may lack privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richardtaylor10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2011

We booked two apartments (one and two bedroom) 6 months ahead based on great Trip Advisor feedback, as we were travelling from Australia with extended family and wanted to be sure of getting something clean, reliable and convenient to Universal Studios and Hollywood Boulevard. The hotel lived up to all of our expectations. Our apartments were spacious and clean, and met our request for rooms poolside and next door to each other. The staff were super-friendly and helpful. Loved the simple touches like the pocket size instructions for taking the train to and from Universal Studios, and the iced water and cucumber on tap at reception 24 hours a day. Would stay here again any time.

Room Tip: Overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BMWRJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#3 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,029 reviews
The Garland
#9 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,839 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#15 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#17 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,034 reviews
Westside
Hotel Bel-Air
Hotel Bel-Air
#1 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Castle Hotel

Property: Magic Castle Hotel
Address: 7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-8603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magic Castle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Hollywood Walk of Fame, and the Hollywood/Highland Center. We feature mostly very large One-Bedroom Suites. We also have smaller "Single" rooms, which are great for short stays and we have Two-Bedroom suites that sleep up to six people. All suites have a full kitchen, dining area, living room with pull-out sofa, and either one or two private bedrooms. We don't just talk about amazing guest service...we live it. Come and experience a truly unique and independent hotel. Enjoy the complimentary snacks available 24 hours a day, complimentary breakfast, and complimentary WiFi. Turndown service every night, and a newspaper delivered to your door each morning. Also enjoy access to the private club, The Magic Castle. There are age and dress code restrictions, so please ask us about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Magic Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Castle Los Angeles
Hotel Magic Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing