We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Home away from home - 10 out of 10!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Magic Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Magic Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 349 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Drouin, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“"Home away from home - 10 out of 10!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

My family and I (from Australia) stayed at the Magic Castle from May 19 - May 24, 2012 on the last leg of our trip in the USA and I have to say, out of all the hotels we stayed in, it was the best! From the moment you check in it truly feels like home away from home. Our one bedroom suite was a great size after staying in small hotel rooms. The location of the hotel is fantastic, so close to everything.

The wonderful staff could not do enough for you and always showed interest in what we were doing. The room was always nice and clean and lovely to come back to at the end of our long days sightseeing in Hollywood. The complimentary continental breakfast consisting of cereals, toast, pastries, fruit, yoghurt, juices, tea and coffee was always appreciated.

The complimentary snacks and also the icy poles by the pool (which I have never encountered before in any hotel) were very much enjoyed. The pool was lovely and the hotel also supplied balls, etc for the kids to play with in the pool.

We had a wonderful time in Hollywood which was just made even better by this hotel. Thank you so much to all the staff for giving us a memorable stay, we will recommend your hotel to everyone and hope one day we get to come back and stay again!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank samantha t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,978 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,220
    563
    121
    51
    23
See reviews for
1,386
776
67
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Had a great four night stay at Magic Castle last week. Magic Castle staff were amazing, helpful and considerate. How they keep track of all the guests names and faces still amazes me!

I had a basic room (no kitchen), but it was plenty big enough for me. Comfortable bed and not very noisy (considering its location).

The location was fantastic, just a block from Hollywood Blvd and Grauman's Chinese Theatre. Staff were really helpful at suggesting local restaurants in a range of price ranges.

All in all, a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rach48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Checked in and the front office manager noticed my wife was pregnant. He knew it was our anniversary and came out with 2 champagne flutes filled with lemonade. The property is very clean. Our room was dated but I knew that going in. It is the staff that kills you with kindness.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GHoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager, General Manager at Magic Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
I'm so happy to hear of your great experience!! We are lucky to have Zeeshan and I can't wait to share your comments with him. Zeeshan was working here before I started with the hotel almost nine years ago. He is a true professional! Best of luck with the baby. It was probably a good idea to get away before the baby is here. I hope you got some sleep. Please come back with your baby one day so he or she can enjoy the pool and get spoiled by us.

Sincerely
Darren Ross
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

I have been meaning to write this review for ages but am only just finding the time now (8 months after our stay!) I can’t say enough about the Magic Castle. From the moment you walk in the door to the time you leave, you are made to feel so welcome. We stayed twice on an extended trip to the US (start and end) and both times were very happy.

The rooms are clean and well set out (it’s not the Ritz so don’t go in expecting marble bathrooms!) and the access to a kitchen is invaluable for those on a budget. We also loved the snacks and DVD’s that were available for a night where we were too exhausted to venture out! We also spent a bit of time in the lovely pool.

As others have stated, the service is really what sets this place apart. On our last stay, we asked if we could store some luggage at the hotel so we only needed to take carry-on luggage for a Hawaiian jaunt. They couldn’t have been more accommodating to our email request and Nick ensured our two large cases were kept safe and sound for the week we were in Hawaii.

Position to Hollywood Blvd a plus if you wish to spend time in that area. We had a car and parking was reasonably priced at $11 per day (from memory) and it was very easy to find our way to pretty much anywhere from the hotel.

All in all, a fantastic stay and I have been recommending this place to EVERYONE I know when they say they are heading to LA! Can’t wait to come back ourselves!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CarmenWBendigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

We were here for 4 nights. Great location, just a short walk to Hollywood Boulevard. Rooms were clean & tidy and the kids loved the warm pool. Breakfast was pretty good by the pool and the kids loved the complimentary snacks and drinks. Great staff make this place a good stay along with facilities that you don't expect for this price. Go to the Magic Castle brunch next door if you get a chance as it was impressive.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mr_PC66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

We only stayed here one night, on our road trip from Monterey to Las Vegas, and was our first trip to Los Angeles.
Our short stay was a very pleasant experience. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, and we made use of the free drinks, snacks and DVD rental.
We understand that all the rooms in the hotel are slowly being refurbished but our room was still to be done, hence why only 4 stars out of 5.
If we happen to pass by Los Angeles again, we would stay here.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

We stayed at the Magic Castle from 30 April 2012 - 4 May 2012. The room is clean and has all you need including an ipod docking alarm clock, flat screen television and DVD player.

The breakfast is more than adequate and included tea, coffee, juices, cereals, pastries, toast and yoghurt.

The staff are an absolute credit to this hotel. Each staff member that we encountered were friendly and very helpful. They have ready printed instructions on how to get to Universal Studios which are very handy and easy to follow.

Great location - short walk to the Walk of Fame, Madam Tussauds, Kodak Theatre etc. Maybe 5 minute walk to the train station.

The hotel offered free DVDs, chocolate bars, potato chips and soft drinks. It also has an onsite laundry, but bring your own laundry powder!

All in all a fabulous little hotel and I would definately recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MACA33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#3 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
The Garland
#10 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,885 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#18 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
Westside
Hotel Bel-Air
Hotel Bel-Air
#2 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Castle Hotel

Property: Magic Castle Hotel
Address: 7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-8603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magic Castle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Hollywood Walk of Fame, and the Hollywood/Highland Center. We feature mostly very large One-Bedroom Suites. We also have smaller "Single" rooms, which are great for short stays and we have Two-Bedroom suites that sleep up to six people. All suites have a full kitchen, dining area, living room with pull-out sofa, and either one or two private bedrooms. We don't just talk about amazing guest service...we live it. Come and experience a truly unique and independent hotel. Enjoy the complimentary snacks available 24 hours a day, complimentary breakfast, and complimentary WiFi. Turndown service every night, and a newspaper delivered to your door each morning. Also enjoy access to the private club, The Magic Castle. There are age and dress code restrictions, so please ask us about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Magic Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Castle Los Angeles
Hotel Magic Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing