We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky, accommodating, very reasonable - recommended!”
Review of Magic Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Magic Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quirky, accommodating, very reasonable - recommended!”
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights at start of road trip. Staff were fantastic - I mean really really helpful, including angle grinding a lock off one of our bags. Superb concierge function. Great location for seeing the touristy Hollywood bits. Nice pool (quite small), rooms were large and comfortable. Not the last word in up to the minute luxury - but not chain hotel bland either. Free breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickKosky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,997 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,234
    566
    122
    51
    24
See reviews for
1,397
781
67
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Great clean hotel really close to Hollywood Blvd you can walk easy (even 13yr daughter walked it). You can get free soda n snacks and even tho its so close to Hollywood blvd you don't hear the noise and we're in a suite over looking it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tony l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2012

If you are EVER staying in LA and choose not to stay at the Magic Castle you are making a huge mistake. Their staff are amazingly helpful and welcoming, the suites are beautiful, the pool is stunning and the level of service is second to none. Never in my life have I been so impressed as I was during my four day stay here.
During our stay my mother in law wanted to watch Pretty Woman, but someone had already borrowed it from the selection of DVD's at the front. Not 10 minutes after we were at reception inquiring about it, comes a knock at the door to our suite. One of the staff members hands my mother in law a BRAND NEW copy of the DVD and bag of chocolate covered cherries!

Phenomenal in every way!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012 via mobile

My family stayed at the Magic Castle during a recent visit to LA. While I'm used to dealing with non-gluten friendly breakfasts at many hotels, I happened to mention it to the front desk staff during my first morning on site. Later in the day when we returned from our morning out, they called to see if they could drop a "surprise" by the room. They had shopped for me at Trader Joes and brought GF cereal, bread and an assortment of fruit and rice milk. Very unexpected and wonderful. Thanks again for your concern and thoughtfulness Magic Castle.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank pw16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Everything you read below is exactly true, :)
Excellent & warm welcome from the team, and ongoing top notch service during our stay. Everyone is doing its best to make you feel comfortable. Free snacks & soda, DVDs, directions, a pefect 10.
Suites are great and with all amenities required.
The 24/24 swimming pool is lovely.
The free breakfast is very simple, but nothing's more needed to get going in the morning.
Free Wifi, really appreciated. 10$ a day parking a real value in L.A.
And all this is a 2mn walk from the Chinese theater.
We'll be back, ASAP.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ljud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We drove to LA from the OC for a concert at the Hollywood Bowl. We arrived without reservations and stopped in to find a room available. From the moment we arrived we felt welcome. EVERY staff person we encountered was courteous, helpful and attentive. They even shuttled us to our concert. Our room was quiet and clean. The queen beds were very comfortable. The complimentary Continental breakfast was above average with a nice selection of choices. It was extra nice to eat at the shaded poolside with staff available if anything was needed. In addition, the "anytime" front-desk snack selection was, not only a surprise but a huge perk. Our 16 year old LOVED this. The location is close to so many of Hollywood's great places to visit. The underground parking lot is gated and feels safe. We will, without a doubt, return to the Magic Castle Hotel. An overall GREAT experience. 100% Satisfied

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keli714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012 via mobile

Very good location in Hollywood !
Very very helpful staff. A lot of advice from the front desk, they booked ticket for us an lived them in our room with a personalized message.
Very large rooms with everything you need.
Free snacks (the kids loved it!)
The courtesy driver that drive you to a nearby restaurant.
You really get your money worth. The service is like in high end hotels, the ones with personalized service.

Helpful?
Thank Viva_badabing_s
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#3 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,089 reviews
The Garland
#12 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,910 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#20 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
Westside
Hotel Bel-Air
Hotel Bel-Air
#1 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Castle Hotel

Property: Magic Castle Hotel
Address: 7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-8603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magic Castle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Hollywood Walk of Fame, and the Hollywood/Highland Center. We feature mostly very large One-Bedroom Suites. We also have smaller "Single" rooms, which are great for short stays and we have Two-Bedroom suites that sleep up to six people. All suites have a full kitchen, dining area, living room with pull-out sofa, and either one or two private bedrooms. We don't just talk about amazing guest service...we live it. Come and experience a truly unique and independent hotel. Enjoy the complimentary snacks available 24 hours a day, complimentary breakfast, and complimentary WiFi. Turndown service every night, and a newspaper delivered to your door each morning. Also enjoy access to the private club, The Magic Castle. There are age and dress code restrictions, so please ask us about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Magic Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Castle Los Angeles
Hotel Magic Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing