We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and service”
Review of Magic Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Magic Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 353 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2012

My family and I all met at the magic castle for my Dad's 70th birthday celebtation. We had originally booked the hollywood hills hotel (their sister property) but were plesently surprised to find out that we had all been upgraded to the Magic castle hotel on arival. They had a cake and card waiting for my dad in his room, made all reservations for us and had a shuttle to take you to yamishiro's and the magic castle. My family really enjoyed the 24 hour free snacks and could not stop raving about the service we recieved! My dad is already talking about making a yearly trip! We will for sure be back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krisyten28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,760 - 1,766 of 3,122 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2012

My friends and I could not believe the service at this hotel. We were just sitting around the pool enjoying the evening. A maid was setting out towels on the pool chairs and asked us if we needed anything. We said, sure, we would take some popcorn. She came out with it already popped! We were amazed that she took the time out of her busy schedule to attend to us! All of the employees were the same way! Other hotels could certainly take a lesson from The Magic Castle staff! There is none other like it! Would definitely stay here again. Oh yes, and FREE SNACKS ANYTIME! AWESOME!

Room Tip: Ask for lower level in the hotel if you don't want stairs. There are no elevators to the upper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flowerlady1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

I stayed at this hotel around Sept 2010. It was voted as #1 Hotel in LA at that time, so I decided to stay. The building is old, when we arrived at night it did looked creepy. The rooms were clean, but the bathroom were a little bit dirty. Well, overall stay for 3 days are perfect, two bedrooms and one sleeper sofa accommodate all of us (party of 8). What I love is the location, it's only 2 blocks away from the famous hollywood walk of fame. For me personally, it perfect. But others said it's creepy and old blablablabla.. but what do you expect? great locations, great price, a little creepiness wouldn't kill ya!

Breakfast are good also, regular ones.. bread, cereal.. things like that. We (who come from the country where we eat rice 3x a day) had no problem at all eating the breakfast provided. :) And also the receptionists were all nice.. they were very helpful, like when we needed some huge trash bag, they provided for us, also for the sodas.. We asked for 2, they gave us like 6?? NICE!! And not only sodas, couple of snacks I remembered. Purrfeeecctt.. Since we need that for our 2.5 hours to san diego :)

So far, Got no complaints about this hotel. :) Love it. Would stay again?? Definitely.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank riki_wijaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Great hotel. The first room we had was large but not kept well, scuffs on the walls, doors and old decor etc. Room was next to all the air con and very noisy so had to change. The second room was much better and modern and facing the swimming pool.

The staff are all great, very helpful, they washed some of our clothes because we just landed and were very hungry and went out for food! Got a welcome drink from them.

The pool was clean, free snacks were amazing - so much choice.


Great hotel - would highly recommend

Room Tip: Get a room around the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank craigmmorq4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We really enjoyed a four night stay at the Magic Castle with our son, daughter in law and two grandchildren. The two spacious fully equipped apartments we had were a little old and tired, but spotlessly clean and comfortable. All the staff are exceptionally helpful and friendly (to the children as well as the adults) and eager to help with everything, touring advice, sourcing travel options, arranging taxis, baggage etc. Continental breakfast is free and available to help ourselves to take back to our apartments or to sit at lovely tables around the pool. Fruit and chilled cucumber water (unusual but surprisingly refreshing) was available all day. Free snacks of chocolate, chips etc and cans of soft drinks are available all day from reception. The swimming pool is a welcome respite from the heat. Staff came around offering icy poles frequently. The hotel is situated less than five minutes walk from Hollywood Boulevard with shops, restaurants, street entertainers etc. If we returned to Hollywood we would definitely stay at Magic Castle and highly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor and our room backed on to the side street, which was quieter than our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chappyMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We (a couple) are staying here at the moment, half way through a 4 day stay. This hotel is very close to Hollywood Walk of Fame, Graumann's Chinese Theatre, El Capitan, Madame Tussauds, Ripleys, shopping centres, tourist shops, restaurants, tour companies, basically everything. The staff are fantastic, you are treated like a VIP!! Love the endless supply of snacks. The rooms are huge, ours seems like it has been mostly refurbished recently, just the bathroom looks a little tired. Laundry facilities, heated pool, wi-fi, free breakfast. Full kitchen facilities.
Chose this property after reading it's reviews on Trip Advisor and am very pleased with our choice.
Free snacks, Location and absolutely amazing Staff make this property great!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

So the name is a bit cheesy but when you consider that it is attached to the Magic Castle Club (only 2 ways to dine and see a 'real' magic show is to be a member or stay at the hotel) and only 5 minutes stroll to downtown Hollywood strip, its already a great choice.

On arrival the front desk staff were busy with other guests but within a few moments, turned to acknowledge our party of 3. "I'll be right with you Sir". Not often done these days.

While we were waiting another staff member came and gave us some refreshments - much appreciated on a very hot and humid day.

After sorting out the other guests, our check-in was fast and efficient and performed by Nick. He's super friendly and is a wealth of information. Gabrielle (Gabby) was also excellent. Our bags were brought up to the room (room 215, top floor and NOTE: no lifts so this hotel is not suitable for people who has difficulties with a lot of stairs).

The open plan room is spacious with a large lounge area (sofa converts to bed), dining area and reasonable size kitchen. Separate bathroom+toilet and master bedroom. Did find a few small red ants in the master bedroom and bathroom but this is the only minor fault that is easily rectified. The rooms are by no means new as they were old apartments that have been converted to a hotel but they are comfortable and clean.

Apart from water (chargeable item), the front desk provides all your snacks and non-alcoholic drinks for *FREE*. No minibar charges EVER. Coke, lemonade, chips etc are always available 24hours for *FREE*.

Bonus: there's a laundry room here - it's 1.50 the to use washing machine and the same for the dryer. Washing liquid is free from the front desk. A godsend when you are on an extended vacation.

All the staff appeared to be genuinely cheerful and happy to help at all times and nothing is ever too much trouble.

On checkout we were going to walk about 700metres to a bus transfer station (have to cross a few major roads) but we had really heavy luggage (one bag was 30+kg). They gladly helped us out by loading our bags and us into their little run-about car which generally does not leave the property as its used to transfer guests up and down the very steep hill to the nearby restaurant.
I was certainly very impressed by all the staff at this hotel. it's the little things that makes your stay better than OK. I can highly recommend this hotel to all travellers.

Room Tip: If you don't like stairs, ask for a room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheUnicorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#16 of 353 in Los Angeles
1,995 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#4 of 353 in Los Angeles
2,178 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#19 of 353 in Los Angeles
3,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#18 of 353 in Los Angeles
2,158 reviews
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Castle Hotel

Address: 7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-8603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £172 - £340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magic Castle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Hollywood Walk of Fame, and the Hollywood/Highland Center. We feature mostly very large One-Bedroom Suites. We also have smaller "Single" rooms, which are great for short stays and we have Two-Bedroom suites that sleep up to six people. All suites have a full kitchen, dining area, living room with pull-out sofa, and either one or two private bedrooms. We don't just talk about amazing guest service...we live it. Come and experience a truly unique and independent hotel. Enjoy the complimentary snacks available 24 hours a day, complimentary breakfast, and complimentary WiFi. Turndown service every night, and a newspaper delivered to your door each morning. Also enjoy access to the private club, The Magic Castle. There are age and dress code restrictions, so please ask us about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Magic Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Castle Los Angeles
Hotel Magic Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing