We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal Magic Castle!!”
Review of Magic Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Magic Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Phenomenal Magic Castle!!”
Reviewed 9 October 2012

having returned recently from a 10 night stay at The Magic Castle, I have been considering how best to describe them in a review, astounding?, outstanding?, amazing? it could have been any of those but I went in the end for phenomenal!

it's the level of service that needs to be mentioned first, of course all the other reviews refer to it so I'm not saying anything differently but the service levels provided by every single member of staff are extraordinary. It seems almost unfair to single any of them out but I'm going to anyway! from the moment we arrived, quite late at night after 'surviving' Los Angeles Airport we were met with a very warm welcome, despite being the last guests of the night to show up, Gabi was extremely welcoming and full of information for us regarding our room (we had requested a balcony room and opted for the guarantee to do so) and the local area, marking local attractions, grocery stores etc on a map for us and other information regarding the free snacks list, excursions and attractions etc. About half way through all of this, her colleague appeared with a drink for all of us to welcome us to the hotel - the extra touches go a long way.

Before I go on, I must also mention Frank, The stuntman, superman, maintenance manager who is always on hand should something need sorting out, the young man at breakfast who is always there to tidy your table and provide a cheery word, and Zeeshan, Nick and the little firecracker, Lisa A at reception who explodes every time she sees you with showers of hints and tips and snacks and drinks - brilliant!

The suite we had was wonderful, spacious, well and comfortably furnished and kept spotlessly clean by the wonderful housekeeping staff - who were always pleasant and ready to provide anything we needed like an extra towel here or some kitchen roll there, in fact, after they had noticed we had been making a snack and a drink or two and using the kitchen, all the things needed to wash and wipe crockery and cutlery with, washing-up liquid, dishcloths, tea towels etc miraculously appeared for us! We opted to go for the balcony guarantee, which I believe was $25 per night and it was very nice to have somewhere to sit with pool view and away from any noise from the road.

Breakfast is provided free in the lobby and you can eat it there on the patio where they set up the tables for you, or take it away to your room - the breakfast itself was very good, offering a wide range of kelloggs cereals, several delicious pastries, bread for toast, teas, coffees, juices and fruit and yogurts - all you could want to stock up for the days sightseeing ahead.

As others have mentioned, the location of this hotel is also fantastic, you are a block from the action of Hollywood Boulevard and the Chinese Theatre, Dolby Theatre, Tour Buses etc.. and it felt safe to walk to and from the hotel whatever time of the day or night we were doing so.

It was a pleasure to meet and chat with Darren Ross, the Chief Operating Officer at breakfast as he wandered round to check that everything was OK with the guests, on our final day, he even managed to extend our room for us (which had already been extended once by reception) to the time of our transfer departure which was another great little touch and something you'd normally expect to pay for in other hotels - but not here. Our bags were also collected from our room and taken to the lobby for us, completing the all-round service experience of excellence.

So, if you are looking for a place to stay in Hollywood, stop now because you just found the best one! for value for money, location, comfort and service levels, you surely can't beat the Magic Castle Hotel. I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the road and opt for the balcony guarantee if this is important, I think it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,040 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,268
    575
    122
    51
    24
See reviews for
1,419
796
68
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (560)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mildura, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

When we stayed here last week, what a great surprise to find vegemite on the breakfast buffet. We hadn't eaten any for 3 weeks and it was like gold to have some on our toast thank-you....
We were treated with the best of care and the free snacks, drinks and dvds were a great bonus that no other hotels had offered us over our 3 week tour. We were upgraded to a two bedroom suite which was also just wonderful. It is not a 5 star, but it has 5 star service, we will definately be back again one day. Very clean hotel, very kind and accommodating staff. Well done you deserve a 5 star rating.

Room Tip: Ask for 3rd floor /top floor at back end of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wentw101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We booked this hotel beacause of the reviews on Tripadvisor. It seemed to have more positive than negative and we hadn't been to LA (or the USA) before so took the plunge. We were so glad we did! It was close to Hollywood Blvd & so easy to get to the freeway even for us Aussies! We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit with our own entrance and had parking under the hotel. The unit had a kitchen, dining & lounge area which for 4 of us was perfect. The staff were always friendly and helpful too. I would stay here again and this time longer than 3 nights!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyB6264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We stayed at the Magic Castle with a group of 10 friends when we journey to Cali for a concert at the Hollywood Bowl. Everyone in the group loved this hotel and said they would stay here again when in Hollywood. Having a suite with a kitchen was terrific. We stayed in one night and had a cocktail party, it sure was nice to have kitchen to prepare food and drink. The pool was warm and invitiing, the staff was wonderful and very helpful, the beds were a bit firm for our taste but not uncomfortable. Bed comfort is extremely important to me and my husband.

It was great to be able to walk back to the hotel from the Hollywood Bowl after our concert! Yes, people do walk in LA. The hotel shuttled our group to the Bowl pre-concert. No parking hassles for us! We would definately stay here again next time we attend a show at the Bowl. Thanks Magic Castle.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alchandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2012

This is an excellent place to stay while vacationing in LA. It is within walking distance to Hollywood Blvd and easy to get to many attractions and the freeway. The rooms were clean and spacious, ours had an eatin kitchen and a small but attractive pool. Breakfast was included each morning and a large assortment of snacks and drinks was available 24 hours a day-no extra charge. The best part of the hotel was the service. The entire staff was friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting LA.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbhaley225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowral, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

This hotel was listed as the number 1 hotel to stay in L.A. by Trip advisor when I booked - and I understand why!
Set only one block back from the action of Hollywood Boulevarde an easy walk that is well lit at night. The hotel itself is clean, the 2 bedroom apartment that we had was very comfortable for our family of 5, we looked out over the pool - which was very pleasant. The complex felt safe too.
Based on all of the above I would highly recommend it! However - to top of all this brilliance is that staff that work here. The front desk, the porter, the cleaners everybody was just so friendly; nothing was too much of a problem - from supplying the kids with snacks/drinks; to explaining the area, to even providing guests with the metro cards for the rail/buses; to giving the kids balls to play with in the pool.... they were lovely!! It was a shame to have to leave....

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BecB38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We started off at the Magic Castle Hotel as part of a three week road trip of the USA. The majority of the hotels (10 stops) were booked as part of a package, but due to the glowing reviews on Tripadvisor we decided to book this one off our own back.

We booked a "Single Queen Bed" room which was plenty big enough for a couple like us. Customer service was excellent from arrival, offering us maps and directions for attractions we wanted to visit. Pool open 24hrs and a welcome break from the big city.

Although customer services was "excellent" room could do with a refresh hence "very good" rating. Paint work badly scratched in places, and multiplugs used to connect electrical applicances rather than installing new socket. Air-con was noisy. That said this did not significantly effect our stay.

Breakfast was good (cold continental style) and nice to be able to eat outside in the sun. Free Wi-Fi also which is a great to get on the net to make additional plans when there.

Please see my review of the "A day in LA" tour that we took when we were in the city which was a great way to get to see all the key areas.

Free minibar was brilliant - however please note stock up on bottled water elsewhere as this is the only thing they charge for and it costs $$$. CVS/Walgreens/Fresh and Easy within easy walk.

A very short walk to Hollywood Blvd and the associated tourist attractions. Whilst I probably wouldn't return to LA (a commment on the city not the hotel!) if I did I would choose Magic Castle Hotel again.

Room Tip: Try and get a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evilempire13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager, General Manager at Magic Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Dear Evilempire,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. I was so happy to read that you enjoyed the service you received.

With regard to the “Single Queen Room” you stayed in. There are a couple of the smaller rooms that are scheduled to be painted, and upgraded. The air conditioning units are new in most of these seven rooms within this room category. Based on your description, I do believe I know which room this was and we will get to work on this one immediately, I’m sorry about the chipped paint in that room…that’s not good…we’ll fix it.

Yes…we do charge $4 for the 1 Liter bottle of Fiji brand water found in the guest room. We also serve complimentary ice cold cucumber water in our lobby for the entire summer and when it’s warm outside. We also have a pitcher of water available during the complimentary breakfast. Just so the readers know, we have approximately 40 snack items that are completely free. These items include a nice variety of canned soda, many different types of chocolates, candy, chips, granola bars, popcorn, pretzels, and more. These items are available to you, at no charge…24 hours a day.

I’m sorry that you didn’t love Los Angeles, but should you return…I do hope you will come and stay with us again.

Thank you again.

Sincerely
Darren Ross
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#3 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,125 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,861 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#18 of 351 in Los Angeles
3,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Garland
#13 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,982 reviews
Westside
Hotel Bel-Air
Hotel Bel-Air
#1 of 351 in Los Angeles
700 reviews
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Castle Hotel

Property: Magic Castle Hotel
Address: 7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-8603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magic Castle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Hollywood Walk of Fame, and the Hollywood/Highland Center. We feature mostly very large One-Bedroom Suites. We also have smaller "Single" rooms, which are great for short stays and we have Two-Bedroom suites that sleep up to six people. All suites have a full kitchen, dining area, living room with pull-out sofa, and either one or two private bedrooms. We don't just talk about amazing guest service...we live it. Come and experience a truly unique and independent hotel. Enjoy the complimentary snacks available 24 hours a day, complimentary breakfast, and complimentary WiFi. Turndown service every night, and a newspaper delivered to your door each morning. Also enjoy access to the private club, The Magic Castle. There are age and dress code restrictions, so please ask us about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Magic Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Castle Los Angeles
Hotel Magic Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing