We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most amazing hotel - Don't stay anywhere else”
Review of Magic Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Magic Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Most amazing hotel - Don't stay anywhere else”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

I have just left after my 3rd stay at the Magic Castle Hotel. I traveled this time with my mother and stayed 5 nights.

The service has always been awesome but this trip the staff were AMAZING.

My mother fell over and broke her arm on our 2nd day in the US and on day 3 I was booked to go to Universal Studios. Mum was at the hotel and the staff went to the pharmacy to get her medication, got her flowers and a get well card, made sure she had popcicles when she was up sitting by the pool, did all our laundry and just took great care of her.

The free snacks and drinks are an awesome bonus.

I don't want to name specific staff as every single staff member provided EXCEPTIONAL service

We stayed in Room 101 which faces the road - some people mention rooms that face the road can be quite loud with road noise - but we didn't have any issues with that at all.

The set up is great - kinda like Melrose Place - with the apartments surrounding a pool.

The pool is 24 hours and was always clean and tidy, with towels always available.

Breakfast is good and filling with a variety of fruit, yogurts, cereals, pastries and bread. I don't drink coffee but my mother tells me the coffee is very good.

You are a short walk from Hollywood Blvd and all the action, also a short walk to the Subway to get to universal studios

We got to go to the Magic Castle on one night for Mum's birthday which was great. Good food and a great show.

There is only one negative - smoking in the courtyard. If there was no smoking in the courtyard this hotel would be PERFECT

Not much else I can say but this should be your only choice of accommodation if you are staying in Los Angeles.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiwizuzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,040 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,268
    575
    122
    51
    24
See reviews for
1,419
796
68
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (560)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bayonne, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

How is it that this hotel is ranked on tripadvisor.com as the best hotel in Los Angeles? It's definitely the work of a marketing team because this hotel doesn't even come close to being the best in L.A. I was born and raised in the city, and can tell you that without a doubt it doesn't even come close. At most it might deserve two stars.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Evan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager, General Manager at Magic Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2013
Hi Evan E.

I’m not sure if you actually stayed at our hotel, or are giving your opinion based on having grown up in Los Angeles. I’m always concerned when someone reviews a hotel on TripAdvisor and says things like, “This is definitely the work of a marketing team,” which directly accuses us of fabricating reviews on TripAdvisor. That is a very serious accusation and one we don’t take lightly…and isn’t true.

We’ve earned our high rating on TripAdvisor the old fashioned way: by providing our guests with a higher level of service than they expected. When you look at the whole package of what we offer including offering large suites for families, being located about a block away from the Chinese Theatre and other famous sights, providing Complimentary Snacks 24 hours a day, serving a fantastic Complimentary Continental Breakfast, and more…..it all amounts to an extraordinary experience for our guests.
We know who we are. We are not a five star hotel in terms of facility, although I do believe our level of guest service is. We’re able to provide guests with touches of luxury they aren’t expecting and most hotels simply don’t provide at all.
We are not for everyone, no hotel is. We are a different type of hotel. We’re very proud of how we make our guests feel and how instead of being simply a place to sleep, we’re able to create lasting memories for so many guests.

Sincerely,
Darren Ross
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

wow where to begin?

Stayed here last year with friends and we were blown away. Like alot of others we booked based on trip advisor reviews and they definitely dont let this place down! the property is older but that is insignificant in comparison to the amazing service you receive as soon as you walk in the front door!
We were greeted so warmly with cold cucumber water whilst we checked in and then escorted up to our room. We had a 2 bedroom suite overlooking the pool. lounge and kitchen are huge and bedrooms are great. only downfall i had was the bed was quite uncomfortably hard, bit disappointing when you have been flying for over 20 hours and just want to pass out!

Reception is 24 hours a day and has a list of free snacks you can go and help yourself any time you want - i have never seen this before and was very impressed.

Breakfast is served outside around the pool and they give you a daily newsletter, which was great to inform us that ellen degeneras was receiving a star on the hollywood walk of fame that day.....we would have had no clue otherwise!! the other amazing touch is the manager- darren - comes out and introduces himself and makes sure your having a nice stay! was very suprised as i have never seen that either.

Were lucky enough to visit the magic castle - what an amazing venue!!! very classy, very exclusive and just amazingly cool!

Overall you cant fault the price, the rooms, certainly not the staff (who went above and beyond for my friends we were celebrating an anniversary - they came home to flowers, champagne and chocolate cake after just a request from my friend to point him in the direction of a florist) and the location is amazing!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emzz_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

This unique hotel really makes you feel like you're truly on vacation in LA. We enjoyed free snacks from the front lobby (you have to ask, so it limits taking more than you should), the popsicles by the pool, a generous continental breakfast, a spacious suite and the ever-smiling staff. We even did all of our laundry, with the staff happy to exchange bills for quarters and provide us with laundry detergent.

One big negative I observed was that they do allow smoking in the outdoor common areas; that is, in the courtyard and in all balconies surrounding the pool. It may be true that most guests do not smoke, but all it takes is one guest to light up and the smoke is dispersed throughout the poolside courtyard. There are large ashtrays outside the rooms and small ones on balcony tables.

The second negative is that the grout in our bathroom was black with mildew in some spots. I wish housekeeping could tidy that up a bit with a squirt or two of bleach.

Oh, and there was a third negative: Hauling our luggage to our room on our own. There were no luggage carts (too many stairs and narrow areas) and no one to serve as bellhop. We enjoyed the welcome glass of champagne, but were immediately sweating up a storm trying to manage our luggage on our own.

I did see written in reviews that the Magic Castle Hotel is a non-smoking hotel but it is not 100% smoke free, so if you have any issues with smoke, this may not be the ideal hotel for you.

Room Tip: If you don't like the smell of smoke, request a room away from the common areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimbers W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager, General Manager at Magic Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Hello Kimbers W,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience. The fact that there were spots of what appeared to be mildew in your room is completely unacceptable to me, and I know to our staff as well. I am sincerely very sorry that this was in your bathroom. I am reviewing this with Housekeeping, it's far below our standards.
With regard to you having to take your own luggage. We have staff to assist with luggage 24 hours a day, It is unacceptable that we didn't offer assistance. It's because we have stairs, we're careful to have staff on duty 24 hours a day who can assist.
The smoking issue is tricky. it's true, all of our rooms are non-smoking so guests don't have to worry about their rooms smelling of smoke. Guest can, for now, smoke in the courtyard. Based on your helpful comment, and others, I'm considering discontinuing smoking in the courtyard and leaving the front of the hotel available to smoke.
I would love to hear from you directly with regarding some details of your stay, if you don't mind.
Also, I appreciate you titling your review "A Few Minor Negatives", but to us these are all significant breakdowns in the service and not even close to our usual high level of service.
By the way, you mentioned you did laundry. We started a new service a few weeks ago, we will now be happy to do your laundry for you...at no charge. Just hand it to us, and we'll we wash and fold it for you.
I hope you will come see us again and I look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,
Darren Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

The hotel is located parallel to Hollywood boulevard. Centrally located.The rooms were very clean, well maintained,average size, The staff are very friendly.good continental breakfast provisions. Secure underground car park. No elevators. So if you happen to carry a large suitcase with you and your allocated room is on the second floor. Then you will have to carry it all the way upstairs. Swimming pool seems nice, clean with average size. Free snacks were supplied. Overall experience was good.

Room Tip: Good centralised location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conheand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We read all the tripadvisor reviews and were sold on this property. It is older for sure, but the staff is the best ever. We were here for several days and could not have been happier. They gave us some terrific referrals on things to do and places to eat. We had a car so we were able to take advantage of some of the spots that were a greater distance away in Beverly Hills and West Hollywood area. We can't recdommend this any higher if you are coming to Hollywood this is the spot.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager, General Manager at Magic Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
David S,

Thank you so much for writing a review. I was very happy to read that you had such a great experience with us. I do hope that you'll come back and see us very soon.

Thanks again.

Sincerely,
Darren Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

Extremely nice staff, very professional, helpful. They are all very dedicated to guests.
We stay in a renovated suite. Very large, by clean and quiet.
Bathroom is good but need a real renovation. Taps are not new. The bathroom does not meet the standards we would expect for a renovated room.
Location is excellent. One block from hollywood bvd.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ParisTraveller1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#4 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,125 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,861 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#18 of 351 in Los Angeles
3,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Garland
#13 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,982 reviews
Westside
Hotel Bel-Air
Hotel Bel-Air
#1 of 351 in Los Angeles
700 reviews
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Castle Hotel

Property: Magic Castle Hotel
Address: 7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-8603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magic Castle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Hollywood Walk of Fame, and the Hollywood/Highland Center. We feature mostly very large One-Bedroom Suites. We also have smaller "Single" rooms, which are great for short stays and we have Two-Bedroom suites that sleep up to six people. All suites have a full kitchen, dining area, living room with pull-out sofa, and either one or two private bedrooms. We don't just talk about amazing guest service...we live it. Come and experience a truly unique and independent hotel. Enjoy the complimentary snacks available 24 hours a day, complimentary breakfast, and complimentary WiFi. Turndown service every night, and a newspaper delivered to your door each morning. Also enjoy access to the private club, The Magic Castle. There are age and dress code restrictions, so please ask us about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Magic Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Castle Los Angeles
Hotel Magic Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing