We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it”
Review of Magic Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Magic Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Sarpsborg, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“We loved it”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights(June 26-30) during our two week visit to the US. I usually don't stay at the smaller hotels like this, but after these four days I have changed my opinion. You feel welcome from check in to check out. They serve a small but tasty complimentary breakfast and they offer you a free mini bar. Just say what you want from a list and you get it. My son just loved this!

We stayed in room 114 which is one of the small rooms with one bed and bathroom. It was more than enough for us. We mostly use the room for sleeping. The whole hotel was clean and the swimming pool in the middle was so nice to relax after a long day sightseeing.

The locked car park under the hotel was great too. They charge you a small fee, and you can come and go as you want. Just use our room key.

The only small glitch was that they did not automatically give you new shampoo when the old one was empty.

All the staff was great and serviceminded. I am sorry for not remembering your names(not my strong side), but you are all great assetts to this hotel.

Would definately stay here if we were to returnere to LA in the future!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lars H A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,040 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,268
    575
    122
    51
    24
See reviews for
1,419
796
68
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (560)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

I love the people working in Magic Castle. The interior arrangement with the rooms looking at the pool feels like home away from home! The best park is u are allowed to request for snacks and drinks from front desk anytime of the day. Rooms are clean and spacious for 1 bedroom suite.

Only have problem with small carpark and bed comfortness.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank snowei1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Round Rock, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I cannot praise this hotel enough. The staff was fantastic--helpful in every way and took great pride in doing their job well and caring for the customers. The rooms are comfortable and stylish and huge. We stayed in a two bedroom suite and had more than enough room-full kitchen dining room and living room. Three flat screen TV's. The continental breakfast and the snack bar was a definite hit with our family We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a two bedroom suite (more like an apartment) and were surprised that for a very reasonable ra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LonghornTrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We are a family of 6 and to be honest we booked this more as a random place... we were blown away the room was amazing, service second to none and they even had free snacks for the family (which I have to say we did not use but still impressed). We got a refurbished room that was really good, and a lot larger than we expected, and for a family of 6 it still had lots of room.
Thanks for the great service and great rooms ! next time we will Stay Longer. Hopefully 2015

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OnlyStraightTalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

We checked out of the magic castle this morning, we stayed there for three days during our stay in LA, I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough, the staff could not do enough for us, nothing and I mean nothing was too much trouble. We had a two bedroom suite, it was spacious and very clean and we walked straight out onto the pool area. There were snacks and drinks always readily available. Each day I used LA fitness on the hollywood boulevard and was reimbursed by the hotel my fee. We were shuttled to the hollywood bowl free of charge. Fantastic stay, thanks everyone so much, can't wait to return.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Claireypat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights as part of our USA holiday. We had high expectations after the reviews on here but we were really disappointed in this hotel. First of all, we couldn't fault the service, every staff member we dealt with was very friendly & helpful. The location was good too, only a 5 minute walk to the Chinese Theatre etc. We also loved the free snacks & drinks they gave out, the breakfast was good & the free wifi was great.

We were extremely disappointed in our room. For 2 adults it was really small, old & run down & badly needed renovating. The walls were dirty, there was a towel rack IN the shower so there was nowhere to put clean towels while you or someone else was in the shower. There was no shelf in the shower for shampoo etc. The shower head also had green mould around where the water comes out from, it was disgusting! (see picture of the shower head i added!). There was liquid spilt all down the bathroom door that hadnt been cleaned in ages. The air conditioner was really loud & full of dust, so loud that we couldnt even sleep with it on. The steps around the pool & up to the rooms were all old and chipped. Basically the whole area needs renovating. We were so cramped the whole time. We asked if we could move to a different room but they only offered us a room at their sister property in a different location a long way up the hill where we would have had to get driven to. They didn't offer us another room in the part we actually booked even tho many of the rooms we walked past looked empty.

After we returned from our holiday we had a $4 charge on our credit card from them. When I contacted them they said it was for a bottle of water in our room after checkout but we never touched any water bottles in the room! It was only $4 so it didnt matter & they refunded us when I said we never had the water but I was still annoyed we were charged for something we didnt have - even if it was a small amount!

Overall we were really disappointed in this hotel, even though we had fantastic service it was not worth the money we paid & I definately wouldn't stay again as the room itself was not nice at all. We were so cramped the whole time our room was tiny, old & badly needed renovating.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Pinkstarz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

The Magic Castle hotel was the first stop on our recent 3 week holiday to the US. The staff were so lovely and helpful, and provided really great advice. I don't want to single any one person out as they were all totally amazing. The hotel was perfect for families - we had a 2 bedroom suite with separate kitchen/living area which was awesome. The kids loved the free 24/7 snack bar - and the staff even brought icy poles to the pool area for the kids while they were swimming. The location is great - so close to the action but not on the main drag. The neighbouring gym that guests of the hotel are able to use for free was also great. We also enjoyed the free breakfast. We saw a brunch show at the adjoining Magic Castle Club (a perk of being a hotel guest) and really enjoyed it (they even gave my husband a gift for fathers day which was a lovely touch). Of all the places we stayed during our trip, Magic Castle was definitely the favourite by far and we would love to return some day!!

Room Tip: Family suites were awesome. The suites facing the pool area may be quieter than the ones closer to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#4 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,129 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#19 of 351 in Los Angeles
3,591 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#15 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Garland
#13 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,990 reviews
Westside
Hotel Bel-Air
Hotel Bel-Air
#1 of 351 in Los Angeles
701 reviews
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Castle Hotel

Property: Magic Castle Hotel
Address: 7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-8603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magic Castle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Hollywood Walk of Fame, and the Hollywood/Highland Center. We feature mostly very large One-Bedroom Suites. We also have smaller "Single" rooms, which are great for short stays and we have Two-Bedroom suites that sleep up to six people. All suites have a full kitchen, dining area, living room with pull-out sofa, and either one or two private bedrooms. We don't just talk about amazing guest service...we live it. Come and experience a truly unique and independent hotel. Enjoy the complimentary snacks available 24 hours a day, complimentary breakfast, and complimentary WiFi. Turndown service every night, and a newspaper delivered to your door each morning. Also enjoy access to the private club, The Magic Castle. There are age and dress code restrictions, so please ask us about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Magic Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Castle Los Angeles
Hotel Magic Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing