We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and price”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Magic Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Magic Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 349 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location and price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Great little hotel in a great location just a short walk all the action in Hollywood Blvd. The included continental breakfast is a nice touch. Staff all very friendly and helpful. Only downside is that you have to lug your luggage down a large numbers of stairs to get to reception and the rooms are quite small and the airconditioners noisy. If none of these annoy you this is a great little welcoming and value hotel in Hollywood

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are at back but the downside is number of stairs to get back to the Lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,978 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,220
    563
    121
    51
    23
See reviews for
1,386
776
67
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

This place is great for a few days as it is basically on Hollywood boulevard. The cucumber water was fantastic
The rooms were not as clean as they could be and you can tell that the bed linen was very cheap

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Livi769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager, General Manager at Magic Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Magic Castle Hotel. I’m so glad you like the cucumber water…..it’s very refreshing on hot Los Angeles summer day.
I was very concerned to read that your room wasn’t as clean as could have been. I would love to follow up with this and hear any details you might have. If you could contact me, I would appreciate it.
With regard to the linens we use, you mentioned that they were “very cheap”. We use a 250 thread count cotton blend bed sheet, along with a 100% Goose Down Duvet on top, with a 100% Egyptian Cotton Slip Cover on it. I realize that the linens can be subject to personal preference and did want to let other readers know what we use.
Thank you again. I do hope you will come see us again soon. Please let me know if you do and I’ll make sure we make up your room special for you.

Sincerely
Darren Ross
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Spent 7 nights in a 2 bedroom suite.....wonderful!! Travelled from UK & first time to USA for my 13 & 9 year olds. They loved it so much, I thought my youngest daughter might turn orange with all the Doritos on tap!!! Super comfy beds, 3 flat screen TVs. Kids loved the pool & mum & dad loved sitting by the pool. Cannot praise the staff/service enough. Excellent location, felt very safe. Will be back for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emilymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Stayed at Magic Castle Hotel for 3 nights in June. Great service, kids loved the snacks available at any time and the dvd's, and the pool which was right outside our room. The balcony was a good spot to watch the kids in the pool.

We had a one bedroom apartment... the king size bed was so comfy and the kids were happy on the pull out sofa in the lounge. The 2 large tv's in both the lounge and bedroom were great....we didn't have to watch constant disney channel with the kids.

Breakfast included is very good. We especially loved the pastries. Yum!!!

The staff gave us easy driving directions to The Grove, to Mulholland Drive to see the Hollywood sign and to Universal Studios. The room was very spacious. Glad we stayed here and would definitely recommend if staying in Hollywood.

Room Tip: Room 205 is good....only up one lot of stairs, has a balcony, is clean, heaps of light and very spac...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank DJane01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

We had read the reviews on Tripadvisor prior to booking. Almost without exception everyone raved about the customer service; now I know why. We spent our first 4 nights of a month long trip to the US here in June and we couldn't have started at a better hotel.
The downside, if there was one, was that the rooms are a little dated but we expected that from the reviews.
They were clean and comfortable and very spacious, something we appreciated even more after we spent the next two weeks in a shoebox in New York. The hotel provided a very nice and fresh continental breakfast together with unlimited complimentary softdrinks, chocolate and snacks; day and night.
But the Customer Service is what sets this Hotel apart from any other we've stayed in around the world; it truly was unbelievable. Imagine, when asked if they had a laundry room, being told 'Yes, if you'd like to leave your laundry with us, we'll do it for you free of charge'
We declined, my wife likes to do her own, but that was typical of the level of service this hotel offers. From travel info, to restaurant recommendations, to bookings and transfers, nothing was too much trouble for this hotel's wonderful staff.
The hotel has a well maintained heated swimming pool and boast a great location being only a five minute stroll from Holiwood Bvd.
Would I go back? You Bet. Would I recommend it?100% Fabulous stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norcross, Georgia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

Even a month later, I’m still thinking about the wonderful stay my husband and I had at the Magic Castle Hotel. From the warm and welcoming staff (we were met with delicious drinks upon arrival) to the gigantic one bedroom suite to the all-you-can eat complimentary refreshments to the more than filling breakfast – everything was fantastic! Unfortunately, we didn’t have time to make use of the free DVD service or the gorgeous pool, but we definitely will on our next visit. When the staff found out we were there for a taping of “The Soul Man”, they even surprised us with an adorable welcome card and gave us a bag of gourmet popcorn. How thoughtful and amazingly wonderful!

Seriously though, we simply can’t figure out what took us so long to find this truly magnificent place. We’ve stayed at so many hotels in the Los Angeles Area – from the Beverly Hills Hotel to Loews Hollywood to the Hilton at Universal – and none of them compare in service and amenities. Staying here was a vacation in itself. While as a guest, you will find yourself within walking distance to all the attractions near Highland and Hollywood, but you will probably be like us and not want to leave the comfort of the Magic Castle Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tripre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Wow - The Magic Castle Hotel in Hollywood is great. The people working there could give seminars on customer service. As an example, we asked one evening about the menu of a restaurant nearby. In addition to giving guidance about what to order, they handed us a menu. We decided it wasn't right for our children, so we set the menu back on the counter and headed outside, figuring we would find another place nearby. When we got outside the door, the kind woman at from the front desk chased us down and gave us several other options. When we indicated that we would like one, she went back inside an gave us a coupon for $5 off our meal. From housekeeping to front desk personnel, all went out of their way to keep customers happy. The front desk provides free snacks around the clock, and frequently made rounds to the kids at the pool with popsicles.

Our room at the Magic Castle Hotel was more like an apartment. It was huge. We had a bedroom with two beds, bathroom, full kitchen with dishes, etc., dining room, and living room with foldout sofa bed. It was awesome and very comfortable. The shower even had 2 shower heads, and spa-like products. The room had some minor details that made it seem dated, but the overall feel and furnishings more than made up for that. And, significantly, everything was very clean. It was also quiet. You could hear an occasional siren from an emergency vehicle, but no noise from other guests, etc. Also, when we made our reservation, I requested a crib. Upon arrival, the crib was set up in the room, along with a box containing baby shampoo, powder, etc., a kid size robe, and a rubber duck. Very nice touch.

The hotel has a terrific location just about one block from Hollywood Boulevard. Even with young children we were comfortable walking to/from the sites. There were many restaurants nearby; short drive to the Hollywood Bowl; short walk and drive to view the Hollywood sign; etc.

The pool was a little small and deep for our kids. The hotel made up for that, however, by providing floaties, wings, and pool toys. They also offered goggles. Also, although we didn't have time to view/do them, the hotel had DVD's to borrow, and activities for the kids. The television also came with more than a sufficient number/selection of channels.

The complimentary breakfast was really nice. Sometimes we had a tough time finding a table, but made due on chairs by the pool. They offered coffee and juice, about 8-9 cereals, yogurt, fruit, baked goods, etc. We were all more than satisfied starting our day here.

Our family was thrilled to have stayed at this hotel. If ever traveling in the area again, we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#3 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
The Garland
#10 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,885 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#18 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
Westside
Hotel Bel-Air
Hotel Bel-Air
#2 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Castle Hotel

Property: Magic Castle Hotel
Address: 7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-8603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magic Castle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Hollywood Walk of Fame, and the Hollywood/Highland Center. We feature mostly very large One-Bedroom Suites. We also have smaller "Single" rooms, which are great for short stays and we have Two-Bedroom suites that sleep up to six people. All suites have a full kitchen, dining area, living room with pull-out sofa, and either one or two private bedrooms. We don't just talk about amazing guest service...we live it. Come and experience a truly unique and independent hotel. Enjoy the complimentary snacks available 24 hours a day, complimentary breakfast, and complimentary WiFi. Turndown service every night, and a newspaper delivered to your door each morning. Also enjoy access to the private club, The Magic Castle. There are age and dress code restrictions, so please ask us about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Magic Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Castle Los Angeles
Hotel Magic Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing