We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE MAGIC CASTLE DOES IT AGAIN!”
Review of Magic Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Magic Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 354 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I once again just completed a stay at the Magic Castle Hotel and, as in the many times before this, it never disappoints. The attendants were outstanding, the room was super comfortable and I loved the new HD big screen TVs. It is probably the most convenient lodging in the area, right in the middle of Hollywood, within 10 minutes walk from beautiful Runyon Canyon Park, minutes from great restaurants, and a quick ride through Cahuenga Pass into the San Fernando Valley and the deserts and mountains. It is also about a 45 minute ride to the coast in city traffic, which is outstanding. Although budget is not the sole determinant for where I stay, this hotel is surely the best bang for your buck and, because of the convenience, amenities, location and hotel personnel, although I do have a choice, I would stay no other place in L.A. The General Manager, Darren Ross, is the best!

Room Tip: Any room is fine. Rent a small car as the parking spaces in the garage, like all other hotels and ap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,502 - 1,508 of 3,127 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2013

Room wasn't exactly what I booked so my daughter had to sleep on a sofa bed. Still a nice big room with cooker and massive fridge. Air con was very noisy. Décor of room was past its best. Liked the free WiFi. Pool was smaller than it looks in the photos. They could have more tables for breakfast - sometimes had to hang around waiting for tables to free-up. Location is very good within easy walking distance of Walk of Fame and the Chinese theatre and the Dolby theatre/mall.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We arrived at the hotel after a terrible long flight from Sydney . Staff were very helpful with checking in and all the directions of good restaurants etc. Staff booked tours and restaurants and even tried to get my car hire place to come to me rather than me having to go to them. The apartment was very spacious and I would not stay any where else in LA. Great location,great staff and great home away from home.

Room Tip: Get the one bedroom apartment if you want a kitchen and extra room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank activeanne684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Magic Castle surpasses all other hotels on their customer service. Upon arrival and throughout your stay you are welcome to complimentary snacks at the reception. Got dirty laundry? No problem, the front desk has complimentary liquid detergent for the washer and dryer avaiable to guests for $1.25 (college style). Complimentary on demand, newspaper at your front door, choclate on your pillow at night, and wireless internett for all. They even have a list of DVDs you can borrow from the reception. They have complimentary shuttle to Yomashiro (this excellent Japanese restaurant on top of the hill with gorgeous vies of LA). Got any questions, concerns, no worries, the staff at Magic Castle will print out anything and everything youneed of movies playing in the theatre, concerts, maps, book additional transportation, even give you a recommended list of activities in nearby cities. Every morning for breakfast they have these small signs on the table giving you an overview of todays special activities in Hollywood (like say someone is getting a STAR on the walk of fame), and a list of concerts.

We never tried the pool, but it seemed very enjoyable for other guests.

We had a standard room, but the room was nice. Cool, not noisy & clean. It also looked and felt modern and not worn. There were couples, singles and families staying at the hotel. The hotel is small, and the noice level quiet.

Everything in LA is spread out, so if you want to stay in the Hollywood area this is a great location. Less than 5 min walk from the Chinese Theatre. On the street behind Hollywood Boulevard, yet very quiet and none trafficy.

If you decide to stay here you must muts MUST take them up on their offer and visit Magic Castle. What a magical place :) The dinner is actual quit pleasing since it is mandatory, and though teh wait in lien for shows can be a bit teadious, the whole place is surrounded with fun artifacts, posters, pictures. It is quite the experience. I know, and I would too if I lived in LA, book this hotel soley for teh purpose of visiting Magic Castle.

Room Tip: We had the simple room, and it was OK for us. But if you are staying longer it might be more coforta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeannethN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Great little hotel in a great location just a short walk all the action in Hollywood Blvd. The included continental breakfast is a nice touch. Staff all very friendly and helpful. Only downside is that you have to lug your luggage down a large numbers of stairs to get to reception and the rooms are quite small and the airconditioners noisy. If none of these annoy you this is a great little welcoming and value hotel in Hollywood

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are at back but the downside is number of stairs to get back to the Lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

This place is great for a few days as it is basically on Hollywood boulevard. The cucumber water was fantastic
The rooms were not as clean as they could be and you can tell that the bed linen was very cheap

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Livi769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager, General Manager at Magic Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Magic Castle Hotel. I’m so glad you like the cucumber water…..it’s very refreshing on hot Los Angeles summer day.
I was very concerned to read that your room wasn’t as clean as could have been. I would love to follow up with this and hear any details you might have. If you could contact me, I would appreciate it.
With regard to the linens we use, you mentioned that they were “very cheap”. We use a 250 thread count cotton blend bed sheet, along with a 100% Goose Down Duvet on top, with a 100% Egyptian Cotton Slip Cover on it. I realize that the linens can be subject to personal preference and did want to let other readers know what we use.
Thank you again. I do hope you will come see us again soon. Please let me know if you do and I’ll make sure we make up your room special for you.

Sincerely
Darren Ross
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Spent 7 nights in a 2 bedroom suite.....wonderful!! Travelled from UK & first time to USA for my 13 & 9 year olds. They loved it so much, I thought my youngest daughter might turn orange with all the Doritos on tap!!! Super comfy beds, 3 flat screen TVs. Kids loved the pool & mum & dad loved sitting by the pool. Cannot praise the staff/service enough. Excellent location, felt very safe. Will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emilymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#16 of 354 in Los Angeles
2,004 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#4 of 354 in Los Angeles
2,183 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#19 of 354 in Los Angeles
3,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#17 of 354 in Los Angeles
2,160 reviews
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Castle Hotel

Address: 7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-8603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £174 - £343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magic Castle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Hollywood Walk of Fame, and the Hollywood/Highland Center. We feature mostly very large One-Bedroom Suites. We also have smaller "Single" rooms, which are great for short stays and we have Two-Bedroom suites that sleep up to six people. All suites have a full kitchen, dining area, living room with pull-out sofa, and either one or two private bedrooms. We don't just talk about amazing guest service...we live it. Come and experience a truly unique and independent hotel. Enjoy the complimentary snacks available 24 hours a day, complimentary breakfast, and complimentary WiFi. Turndown service every night, and a newspaper delivered to your door each morning. Also enjoy access to the private club, The Magic Castle. There are age and dress code restrictions, so please ask us about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Magic Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Castle Los Angeles
Hotel Magic Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing