We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Helpful staff, great location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Magic Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Magic Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 349 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Helpful staff, great location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

I can't recommend this hotel enough! It isn't your traditional hotel but that's what separates it from the rest. The staff are excellent and no question was too difficult for them. The complimentary laundry service was fantastic, the room cleaning exceptional!

Within walking distance of Hollywood Blvd which is ideal for doing tours etc. We went to P!NK in downtown LA and the next day they had a poster for our little daughter. Nothing was too hard for the staff and they always greeted us with smiles during our stay!

When we come back we will be staying here again!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,220
    564
    121
    51
    23
See reviews for
1,386
777
67
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
126 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

We stayed here for one night with our kids after reading all the suberb reviews. Excellent location on walking distance from the Hollywood 'circus'. The welcome was great. It's pleasant to be really welcomed in a hotel - including a 'champagne' and treat for the kids. Staff is very friendly and helpful. The room we got on the inner court on the ground floor was very spacious. A large sleeping room, a kitchen a living/dining and a bathroom. Terrace door with direct access to the warm pool. Kids happy - parents happy. Great.

BUT. 1) the hotel is quite WORN OUT. The furniture, the bathroom, the window blinds. It leave a bit cheapy hostel feel, which i basically don't mind - but for 255 US$ per night i expect more maintenance. 2) The worst thing however, that really made me disappointed was the total worn out and DISASTER SOFA-BED. as we stayed with four in the room/apartment, the additional bed a pull out coach. No problem for me - if i's a decent one. It was not. The matrass is very thin, you feel the frame work underneath. The bed sags. I had a very bad night. 3) The BREAKFAST IS VERY POOR. Just few croissants, muffins, yoghurt and cerials. No cheese, meat, egg, vegies etc..

CONCLUDING: Nice fun staff. Nice place for the kids. But for $ 255 for a night, they should really take their core purpose as hotel (not as kids etertainment park) more serious.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor courtyard are really ice with direct access to the terrarce and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dirkaarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager, General Manager at Magic Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Hello,
I was so sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. If you can send me a message and let me know the room you stayed in, I would appreciate it. We've replaced older sofa beds with extra thick (8.5") mattresses which are much better than your typical sofa bed experience. If there is one that needs to be replaced, that's something we would do right away. My apologies that it wasn't done before your stay. I'm also sorry that you felt the hotel was worn down. We're an older building and we take the maintenance very seriously. While it's not perfect, we really want to be in great shape for our guests.
With regard to the breakfast; it's true...it's not a hot breakfast, nor do we ever claim that it is. One of the best bakeries in Los Angeles (Susina Bakery) bakes our pastries overnight and delivers them fresh each morning. These pastries include very flaky croissants, Apricot/Ginger Scones, Chocolate Chip /Sour Cherry Scones, Blueberry Scones, Banana Muffins, Blueberry Muffins, and Bran Muffins. We also have bread for toast, a variety of cereals, variety of yogurt, variety of fruit, instant oatmeal, hot chocolate, tea, coffee.
As far as Hollywood being a circus, well.....it can be kind of crazy at times...but we are one block removed from Hollywood Blvd, which is a plus. A lot of our guests love that we're just one block to the Chinese Theatre, the Dolby Theater (where the Oscars are held) and so many restaurants and shopping at the Hollywood/Highland Center.
I was a bit lost on your comment about how we shouldn't focus on being an entertainment park for kids. While we're extremely family friendly, we're hardly trying to be an entertainment park for kids. I wouldn't want to give readers the false impression that we're larger than we are, or have more amenities than we do. We're a smaller independently owned hotel. We want our guests to enjoy themselves here and relax...couples, parents, kids...everyone.
Thank you for writing.

Sincerely,
Darren Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

If you are wanting to hit the tourist hotspots of LA like Hollywood Blvd, Universal etc then this is the perfect place to stay, especially if you are a family. It is an older apartment building converted to a hotel, but very clean and spacious. The staff and service are outstanding.

Room Tip: Rooms around the pool are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shaun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Island, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

This is a fantastic place to stay. Staff so helpful and friendly,no request is too much. Kids loved the snacks and pool. So close to centre of town. Great breakfast! Would certainly recommend to anyone.we loved our stay.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
159 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

This hotel kind of reminds me of the old TV show Melrose Place because it is converted apartments all surrounding a swimming pool. The apartments are spacious, though a little on the old side. What others have said about this hotel with regard to the amazing staff I can support. Nic, Nic, Kevin and Gretchen were very sincere and gracious in offering their help and hospitality. The location is a two block walk from Hollywood Blvd, right near the shopping of Hollywood and Highland where you can see the Hollywood sign and very close to the Chinese theater an El Capitan where they film the Jimmy Kimmel show. We enjoyed the location, I was thinking of staying near Hollywood & Vine initially but think this is a better choice because of what it is near.
We walked everywhere around Hollywood but did take a taxi to and from the airport and to and from Santa Monica.
We did have one issue with heat not coming on initially in the apartment, but someone came up and fiddled with it to fix it. We stayed in an upgraded suite overlooking the pool. It was a nice atmosphere though we did hear some traffic early morning from the bedroom. Nevertheless I am willing to give this property 5 stars because of the outstanding service -- they make you forget about the negatives.

Room Tip: upgrade to a balcony overlooking pool. It is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JKim27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Los Angeles is not my favourite place to visit in America but when you do wish to visit this is definitely the place to stay. It is super close to the Hollywood Boulevard. Of course we wanted to visit Universal Studios and it was an easy walk from this hotel to the subway and a quick 10mins by train to the theme park.

The hotel itself is located on the bottom of a hill. There is a great Japanese fusion restaurant at the top of the hill that the hotel can help you book. The views are great and so is the food. Ask the friendly people at the front desk they will be able to organise anything you want and point you in the right direction with a variety of maps and highlighters.

Not to mention supply you with all manner of candy and chips. There is a huge list and you only have to ask and it is all complimentary.

We were in a room that had a bedroom, bathroom, living room and kitchen. If you are travelling with a family or like to self cater than the kitchen is well equipped and would be great. We thought since we were in America we had to try some of the large array of random frozen convenience foods and so did use the oven on one occasion.

The bed was comfortable and there was a huge tv in both the living room and bedroom so I didn't miss out on the cable TV shows that I had become addicted to on our month in America.

The breakfast was nice and a good way to start the day. We brought the trays back to our room some mornings and ate out around the pool the other day.

The service was impeccable, location was great and hotel was nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bethybobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparta, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

Pros - one of the friendliest and most customer focused smaller hotels you could find. No extra charges, everything including breakfast, laundry, wifi, snacks and more are complimentary.
Cons - bathroom a little dated but it's a small gripe which doesn't compare to the standard of service you get.

If we are ever staying in this area again we will be staying here. The kids loved it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SazRoscoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager, General Manager at Magic Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Hi SazRoscoe,

Thank you so much for writing a review. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your experience so much.
Our goal is for our guests to come and relax, and not worry about a bunch of little extra charges. So yeah, most of the extras are with our compliments.

Some of the bathrooms are a bit dated. We are currently working on a couple of them....as I write this. Please let me know the next time you come back.

Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Darren Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#3 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
The Garland
#10 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,886 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#18 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,052 reviews
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
Westside
Hotel Bel-Air
Hotel Bel-Air
#2 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Castle Hotel

Property: Magic Castle Hotel
Address: 7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-8603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magic Castle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Hollywood Walk of Fame, and the Hollywood/Highland Center. We feature mostly very large One-Bedroom Suites. We also have smaller "Single" rooms, which are great for short stays and we have Two-Bedroom suites that sleep up to six people. All suites have a full kitchen, dining area, living room with pull-out sofa, and either one or two private bedrooms. We don't just talk about amazing guest service...we live it. Come and experience a truly unique and independent hotel. Enjoy the complimentary snacks available 24 hours a day, complimentary breakfast, and complimentary WiFi. Turndown service every night, and a newspaper delivered to your door each morning. Also enjoy access to the private club, The Magic Castle. There are age and dress code restrictions, so please ask us about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Magic Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Castle Los Angeles
Hotel Magic Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing