We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical people magical place”
Review of Magic Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Magic Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed there from the 26th of December to the 31st. We were comfortable and the one bedroom apartment was spacious. The receptionist was so energetic helpful I have no words to describe. Thank you Magic Castle staff for giving us a lovely time. My son is on gluten free food and the manager even got us gluten free bread.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Rukie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,354 - 1,360 of 3,155 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

The Magic Castle Hotel is by far the BEST hotel that I've stayed at. From the minute we arrived the staff were brilliant. We were welcomed with sparkling lemonade in champagne flutes and had our bags taken to the room for us. During our whole stay, the staff were incredibly helpful. Free drinks, snacks, movies. Everyone staying at the Magic Castle is in good spirits, and there's a reason for it! Would recommend to everyone I know. The hotel itself is a bit outdated on the outside but rooms are renovated nicely and so spacious.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank StephForrester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Have to admit we pulled up and thought oh! But that saying, never judge a book by it,s cover really is true for magic castle! We stayed in many places in America and this wins hands down!, From the time we pulled up in the car, Kevin was there to meet us, took all 5 very large suitcases in and got us settled in the lovely pool area with drinks and snacks! We had been flying from Australia so we were all a bit jaded! All the staff here were friendly efficient, knew the area and just made our stay so lovely. The heated pool was fantastic and our apartment/suite was clean and spacious. Location , location fantastic, one block from Hollywood walk of fame and hollywood and highland station. My children would rate this place as 20/10 free snacks and drinks any time!!! Wonderful, highly recommend but it really was the staff that made it so great, congratulations!!

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool would be the best but we were in a family suite which was in an annexe, lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This was by far my family's favorite hotel ever. I had done much research on trip advisor and read all the reviews here. We were staying over Christmas so was important for me to find a personable hotel for that time. We were greeted by Kevin & Nick D. and our entire family received a sparkling lemondade welcome and introduction to the property. When they told us about the FREE unlimited snacks and DVDs for room use my kids went nuts. When they told us about the FREE unlimited laundry service I went nuts (particularly since this was day 6 of our vacation) The hotel is charming, our King room was huge, with a pullout for one kid and a cot for the other. A full kitchen with a reasonably priced food store blocks away. Free breakfast, the scones were great each morning. The pool was heated great kids loved being there and we watched from our balcony as it's courtyard style layout. The location is PERECT. We walked to Hollywood Blvd. each day, and our drive to Warner Bros. studio took 10 minutes. Very centrally located and with LA traffic so important. Very safe area walking around, they provided a map and would literally help us with anything for questions, reservations, etc. Nick D and Kevin knew our names the entire time -- met "the other" Nick and the ladies on the staff were equally as kind and accomodating. I have never stayed at a hotel (other than a B&B) that the staff was so incredible! There are no elevators, but they helped carry our bags to our rooms. Garage right below the hotel and only $11/day to park -- in LA that is incredible. Only thing to keep in mind is with the courtyard style if people are in the pool you could hear some noise -- it never bothered us and wasn't for long, but wanted to mention, you'd want to book a room in the back if that would be an issue for you. We wanted to be poolside up with a balcony for the location and couldn't have been happier. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone that wants to visit Hollywood!! My kids asked me to always find a hotel like this when we travel.....if only that were possible!!! Thank you Magic Castle Staff for making our Christmas this year special!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Just absolutely loved this place. After being on the road for 3 weeks, this hotel is the best by far. The rooms are huge, a one bedroom suite was ample space for a family of four with 16 and 19 year old boys. We had a balcony overlooking the heated pool that was perfect. The complimentary snacks are extremely generous and we certainly made good use of this offer. They also offer complimentary laundry service which was amazing. We handed in 3 bags of washing which was returned the next day clean, folded and wrapped in brown paper tied up with string...amazing customer service. The best part of this hotel is the staff...... nothing is too much trouble and they are incredibly friendly which makes this such a special place. Highly recommend this hotel. We didn't really want to leave.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Of all of the hotels we stayed in this was the best!! We stayed in $1000 a night rooms during our US trip and I would still pick the Magic Castle as my favourite!

Yes it's an older style hotel renovated to be comfortable but it's clean and comfortable and has a shower that has great pressure and temperature!! This place has everything you could want and more. From the moment you walk in to the moment you leave the staff are amazing and make this a place you want to visit again and again. The staff are a fountain of knowledge and Kevin, Mallory and Nick we're so helpful in every way. (I hope they are well paid because they deserve every cent!)

The location is perfect just one block back from Hollywood Blvd. It is close to shops, entertainment (highly recommend the El Capitan theatre) and sightseeing transport. Ask the staff and they will help with all of your trip planning. Even trips to Disneyland!

The free snacks (chips, chocolates and soft drinks) are perfect for families with kids who always want to eat at the strangest times! The dvd library also came in handy when we were just too tired to explore any more. The rooms were spacious with everything you could possibly need including an oven we never used! The pool was perfectly heated (in winter) and had an array of pool toys and towels available. My one and only complaint was the beds we're a little hard but I like my bed to be really soft so that might just be me!! The continental breakfast had more than enough variety from scones and muffins, to toast (with vegemite!!), oatmeal, yoghurt, fruit and tea and coffee. The newspaper each morning was also a nice touch. I cannot compliment this place enough and wish we had spent more time there. When we go back to the US this place will be at the top of my list!

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room which was perfect. I can't imagine there being a bad room at this pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed for 5 nights over Xmas in a one bed apartment. Very spacious, very clean. Staff great. Lovely warm pool, hotel provide handy warm bathrobes which were nice to wear down to the pool. Pool two mins from your room, which makes a change from a 15 min hike when in big hotels.

The only issues I had were that the windows don't open and the air con is very very old and very very noisy. We didn't have a balcony and I think this would have made our stay so much better, as we would have had fresh air and could have sat out there having a drink etc. we had to prop our door open in the end for cool air. Lots of people smoke out on the balcony.

Also the kitchen is quite poorly equipped, only 3 spoons and forks etc and no toaster. It's for a snack really, not cooking. Bear in mind no lifts, so if you park in the garage under the hotel and are on second floor, it can be tough with a lot of very heavy luggage. Maids are superb, service for laundry and cleaning brilliant. Bed was huge and very very comfortable.

The hotel is great, I'd stay again, but I'd request a balcony room and I wouldn't stay in August when it's really hot, as the air con in our lounge was terrible (room 107).

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony and one with updated air con
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tescoqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#16 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,073 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#20 of 355 in Los Angeles
3,886 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#4 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#18 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,180 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 355 in Los Angeles
807 reviews
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Castle Hotel

Address: 7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-8603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £171 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magic Castle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Hollywood Walk of Fame, and the Hollywood/Highland Center. We feature mostly very large One-Bedroom Suites. We also have smaller "Single" rooms, which are great for short stays and we have Two-Bedroom suites that sleep up to six people. All suites have a full kitchen, dining area, living room with pull-out sofa, and either one or two private bedrooms. We don't just talk about amazing guest service...we live it. Come and experience a truly unique and independent hotel. Enjoy the complimentary snacks available 24 hours a day, complimentary breakfast, and complimentary WiFi. Turndown service every night, and a newspaper delivered to your door each morning. Also enjoy access to the private club, The Magic Castle. There are age and dress code restrictions, so please ask us about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Magic Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Castle Los Angeles
Hotel Magic Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing