We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for families”
Review of Magic Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Magic Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Ideal for families”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Me and my family stayed at Magic Castle Hotel at the new years eve. At the time of check in the people of the front desk welcomed us with soft drinks,snacks and a very good humor! They are the soul of the Hotel,always smiling.Free snacks available all day,free movies as well. Breakfast is included,and served every morning on the patio next to the pool.Parking has a good price,11 U$ per night.That said I think the rooms need some improvements.The room that we stayed is more like an apartment,with kitchen,one bedroom.But the air co doesn't work properly and extremely noisy.I can't imagine stay there in summer!! The blinds didn't close enough(broken) to darken the room,so early in the morning...sun in your face! The beds and sofa bed was very nice.The carpets look old.But the room is very clean,the housekeeping made a good job. Wifi was not good.I think the Hotel is very nice for families,the price is good,the pool, free snacks all day...but it need some renovations.

Room Tip: We stayed at the room with street view. the view was a square in front of the Hotel at the second fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kriza38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,056 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,282
    576
    123
    51
    24
See reviews for
1,430
799
68
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2014

From the arrival to the departure, continually impressed with the front office friendliness, care for all needs and requests, etc. We continue to recommend this to all.
The level of staff care and attention was as good as at any 4 or 5 star hotel where we've stayed.

Room Tip: We have some physical issues and so asked for easiest accessible room and were given that; and were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank healthygal13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wagga Wagga
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

A very friendly welcome on arrival, nice cool drink. Rooms are large, with a full kitchen and very comfortable beds. Excellent location, within walking distance to everything. Lovely breakfast and free snacks and drinks anytime. Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Joanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed in January after 5.5 weeks travelling. Even though we were tired after a long trip we were blown away by the warm hospitality that greeted us at Magic Castle. The rooms are massive, unlimited free snacks ( and I mean unlimited) and great location one block from Hollywood blvd. Parking is also free and the breakfast was perfect. This place is a gem, wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank disney09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, CA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

First realize that this is an older apartment building, painted shocking yellow and revamped as a hotel. Plush, it is not. The rooms are apartments with separate living and bedrooms, a small dining table, nice large tv and a good sized kitchen. A family with children would be comfortable here. There are no elevators so ask for ground floor if you have mobility problems.

Breakfast is included & continental. Some pastries, yogurt, cereals. OK but nothing special

Parking is $11/day and is gated and enclosed. You can easily walk to Hollywood and Highland where there is the Walk of Fame and Grauman's with its movie star handprints in cement. Also close by is a movie theater, the El Capitan. At Hollywood and Highland is a metro station. One block East on the metro is the Pantages Theater where there is generally a play-musical; we took the metro and saw Book of Mormon.

Be advised that they will tell you that staying at the hotel grants you admittance to the old Magic Castle which is a private club right next door. However, realize that admittance is $30/person and you will be expected to buy dinner. Our dinner for two was $145. It was pretty packed, the magic shows filled fast and we only saw one show for our $30.

The hotel staff is indeed young, helpful and friendly.

So, comfy, homey and serviceable the Magic Castle Hotel is, but if you are looking for glamour look elsewhere.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ADG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohiopyle, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Great Staff and Service, Old Hollywood Charm, the location is in the center of everything. We will be back next year when visiting Los Angeles. The pool was relaxing after a long day out and no request as many have said, are always meet.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

THE SERVICE YOU RECIEVE FROM THE STAFF HERE IS 5 STARS ALL THE WAY... The rooms are clean and modern, they are very kid friendly.. Can swim in the pool anytime u like, unlimited free snacks and movies.. They even do your washing for Free!!!! You drop it off in the morning and by that afternoon it's back in your room gift wrapped on the end of your bed. International phone call rates are super cheap, water pressure is amazing... Plus for those aussie travellers you will be pleased to find they even have vegemite at brekky!... I didn't want to leave! The staff are what make this hotel a must stay... And not just one particular staff member, but all of them.. How they do it has me beat. Plus the location is unbelievable.... Literally 3 min walk to Hollywood boulevard and mans Chinese theatre!! I'm soooo going back here to stay every time im in Hollywood.

Room Tip: Any and all of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brooke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#4 of 350 in Los Angeles
2,149 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#18 of 350 in Los Angeles
3,660 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#15 of 350 in Los Angeles
1,900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Garland
#12 of 350 in Los Angeles
3,028 reviews
Westside
Hotel Bel-Air
Hotel Bel-Air
#1 of 350 in Los Angeles
706 reviews
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Castle Hotel

Property: Magic Castle Hotel
Address: 7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-8603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magic Castle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Hollywood Walk of Fame, and the Hollywood/Highland Center. We feature mostly very large One-Bedroom Suites. We also have smaller "Single" rooms, which are great for short stays and we have Two-Bedroom suites that sleep up to six people. All suites have a full kitchen, dining area, living room with pull-out sofa, and either one or two private bedrooms. We don't just talk about amazing guest service...we live it. Come and experience a truly unique and independent hotel. Enjoy the complimentary snacks available 24 hours a day, complimentary breakfast, and complimentary WiFi. Turndown service every night, and a newspaper delivered to your door each morning. Also enjoy access to the private club, The Magic Castle. There are age and dress code restrictions, so please ask us about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Magic Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Castle Los Angeles
Hotel Magic Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing