We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Magical Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Magic Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Magic Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Cottage Country, Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Magical Stay”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

My family stayed at the Magic Castle Hotel March 15, 16 and 17th and we had the best customer service of our lives!! The staff were "over the top". As the other reviews indicate, the staff were warm and friendly and couldn't do enough for us! We felt like were VIPs the whole time we were there. Kudos to Darren and his staff. Prior to visiting, I had emailed the GM, Darren as I had concerns about my elderly parents staying there with some mobility issues. Darren sent me a video via email showing me where their room would be in relation to the front desk, which showed me that other than the 13 steps to get into the hotel, there was very little walking for them. Darren also emailed a few days prior to our arrival to say he was sorry that he wouldn't be able to meet us during our visit, as he would be out of the country. And then, while we were there, and he was away, he emailed me to "check in" with me to inquire how things were going and to let him know of any concerns...I mean who does that??? But the thing that we were most impressed with was this - on returning to our room one night, we found a collage that the staff had done, representing some experiences that we had encountered during our sightseeing excursions. They were hilarious. They had been very creative and did a wonderful display of stars on our wall with funny captions. It was priceless. Oh, it also came along with a lovely card from them as well. Thank you Kevin! And if that wasn't enough, when we checked in at our next stop in Palm Springs, they had called ahead and had arranged with our next hotel to leave us chocolate covered strawberries with a lovely card saying "we hope the rest of your california vacation is wonderful...from the Magic Castle Hotel". Again, who does that???? Thank you Mallory!! I understand from the next hotel we stayed at, that this involved about 18 phone calls back and forth to arrange this. The customer service is why they are rated #1. I don't expect to ever experience this level of customer service anywhere else until I return to the Magic Castle again, which I certainly will. All the staff were fabulous, but the main ones we interacted with were Nick D, Kevin and Mallory...my goodness.. you are all top notch! And, as everyone has already said in the reviews, there is complimentary snacks availabel 24 hrs/day. Even when we were going out on excursions the front desk always made sure we had alot of snacks for the road. The beds were comfortable, the breakfast was great and the rooms were fabulous. They were spotless, huge and comfortable. Parking was not an issue. We had a very large 10 passenger van which couldn't fit into their regular parking garage, so they would move the hotels own vehicle to let us have their spot. There are no suggestions or complaints that I can write about. We were a party of 7, had 3 rooms, and we were all very, very happy there and we were sorry that we had to leave. Had we known how fabulous it was, we probably would have not booked our next few nights in Palm Springs and would have just stayed at the Magic Castle. Thank you Darren and team!!!!

Room Tip: I think all the rooms would be good. We were worried about traffic noise, but we didn't hear an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1234Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,978 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,220
    563
    121
    51
    23
See reviews for
1,386
776
67
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, Connecticut
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We just got back from a week long vacation to Los Angeles and couldn't have asked for a better place to stay! For starters, the location can't be beat. It's less than a five minute walk to Hollywood Blvd! The staff were all wonderful and went out of their way to make sure we had what we needed. They even left a birthday cake, birthday card, and balloons on the bed when we first arrived because they knew I was celebrating my birthday while we were there. The free breakfast every morning was very tasty, especially the scones!! They also provide you with a menu of snacks and beverages that are all complementary. It was like having a free vending machine at are disposal. The room itself was comfortable and clean. I will say that the walls are rather thin. The hotel definitely attracts a lot of families and we heard a lot of kids running around and being a little loud outside. This might be because we were facing the pool. Luckily, the noise was never while we were trying to sleep so honestly it wasn't that much of a bother. Parking was a piece of cake at the garage underneath the hotel and the price to park is way cheaper than any other hotel in the area. Overall, we had a wonderful experience and we couldn't recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank filmgirl325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Fl
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We started our trip out to California and this was our first stop !After battling the hectic , crazy traffic of Los Angeles we were warmly greeted by the hotel staff who kindly upgraded our room to a bigger suite! The hotel was adorable ! Reminded me of the apartment complex where melrose place was filmed. I loved the cozy friendly vibe of the hotel! The are so eager to please and make sure you have everything you need! My daughter loved the fact that if she wanted a candy bar she could just go up to the front desk and ask for one. Our room had a small kitchen and we walked everywhere around the hotel and felt extremely safe! Really wanted to try to go to the magic castle magic show but unfortunately no children allowed until brunches and we were not in town on the weekend. When we first arrived we walked to in and out burger and saw Emma Roberts grabbing a burger with her fiancee. The room was extremely quiet and I think it was the best sleep we had on the entire trip! . If you want a cozy friendly hotel that is convenient to all of the sights of hollywood this is the place. The customer service was phenomenal and rose above even the five star hotel we stayed in at the wharf in San Francisco . The only challenging part was the tight parking garage, My husband stressed every time we had to park the car in the tight garage but overall was the best customer service experience of our whole california trip!!

Room Tip: We had a quiet room in the back , but the balcony rooms overlooking the pool although probably noisi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank llb876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Thank you so much to the staff at Magic Castle. We travelled all over SoCal for Spring Break and this was our last and best destination. We felt so cared for and loved everything from the free snacks, DVD and food that was delivered. The place is old and mismatched but so clean and charming. The location is great if you are touring Hollywood. My preteen boys enjoyed the space and pool. Thank you again for making our trip special.

Room Tip: We have room 216. Very large and facing the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kmiles2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We were going to a wedding in Los Angeles and traveling with an 11 year old. This place was home away from home with the most amazing staff. Two blocks from Hollywood Boulevard it was quiet and felt safe. We took a long walk along the boulevard taking in the sights. The staff go above and beyond to make your stay a fantastic experience. We wish more hotels would aspire to be more like the Magic Castle. Our 11 year put the snack list to good use nightly,he couldn't believe it was free. We tell everyone about Magic Castle.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OldTraveller55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Like many other reviewers we were quite blown away by the experience from the moment we arrived well in advance of check-in time. Our mountain of baggage was whisked away for safe-keeping and our rental car safely stowed in the garage below. We set off for a long hike around Hollywood to blow away the 20 hours of travel cobwebs and returned later to a very spacious and
well appointed suite, no 213, that had all one could possibly need. Service was was of the highest order possible,personal and personable, everyone a star in their own right, with no request too much trouble . Free laundry service, beautifully done in a matter of hours - how cool is that? The staff at Magic Castle understand what service is all about and could certainly could teach some of their grander cousins a few things about running a successful hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel in late February. The staff are truly customer oriented. We felt welcome the moment we arrived and were treated like family. We felt like we were home staying there, so much so that my grandson would say too bad we couldn't live here. My grandson could not get over the free snacks,he even got a BAG of goodies one night while we watched a free DVD rental from the hotel.
The breakfast was great, I recommend the croissants, they were my favorite. The hotel was very clean and in a great location. Walking distance to Hollywood Boulevard, which is a must see, even just to walk along and people watch.
The staff were helpful recommending restaurants and sights. The location was handy to everything.
I would definitely stay there again and recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Zanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#3 of 348 in Los Angeles
2,062 reviews
The Garland
#10 of 348 in Los Angeles
2,884 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#13 of 348 in Los Angeles
1,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#18 of 348 in Los Angeles
2,048 reviews
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 348 in Los Angeles
1,314 reviews
Westside
Hotel Bel-Air
Hotel Bel-Air
#1 of 348 in Los Angeles
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Castle Hotel

Property: Magic Castle Hotel
Address: 7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-8603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magic Castle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Hollywood Walk of Fame, and the Hollywood/Highland Center. We feature mostly very large One-Bedroom Suites. We also have smaller "Single" rooms, which are great for short stays and we have Two-Bedroom suites that sleep up to six people. All suites have a full kitchen, dining area, living room with pull-out sofa, and either one or two private bedrooms. We don't just talk about amazing guest service...we live it. Come and experience a truly unique and independent hotel. Enjoy the complimentary snacks available 24 hours a day, complimentary breakfast, and complimentary WiFi. Turndown service every night, and a newspaper delivered to your door each morning. Also enjoy access to the private club, The Magic Castle. There are age and dress code restrictions, so please ask us about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Magic Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Castle Los Angeles
Hotel Magic Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing