We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Magic Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Magic Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2014

What a great place to stay, close to everything with great staff who were extremely helpful. Rooms were large units with kitchen so you could cook yourself a meal if you wanted. Lite breakfast served each morning and free, yes free chocolates, sweets and drinks.
Highly Recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,260 - 1,266 of 3,168 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

We were so welcomed to the hotel and the rooms were wonderful however we were flying out at 10pm so booked 1 room for a second night so our young son could rest before we left for the airport. We were told by Gretchen that if we left by 4-5pm to come and see them and they would be able to refund the room charge as they would be able to clean it and use it for another guest. She repeated definitely come and see them for a refund if we checked out early. Official check out time is 3pm. I attended the front dest to check out at 3.45pm and asked the man on the front counter he said no way and we had to pay the full fee. I explained what Gretchen had said and he said no way again. I then said I needed to pay for a bottle of water and also one call I had made. He snorted at me like I was an idiot for being honest about having used these things and wanting to pay for them. He made me feel like an idiot and this experienced really soured our whole experience at the Magic Castle Hotel. We went from thinking we would definitely stay there again and would recommend it to all of our friends to deciding we would not ever stay here again or recommend it. I wouldn't have asked about a refund if Gretchen hadn't been so insistent. A real shame that this one man's attitude ruined our experience here. Other than that the rooms were great and the rest of the staff couldn't be faulted.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nerida S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager, General Manager at Magic Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Nerida,

Your review of your experience with us was very concerning to me. I’ve talked to Gretchen about this situation, which she remembers quite clearly. She, with very good intentions and in good faith, was proactive in offering you some savings if you left for the airport by a certain time. This had to do with our specific flow of business that day. We are able to offer this at times for guests leaving on late flights. Gretchen remembers our staff member going back to her office and confirming this was ok to refund that last night to you. Instead of Gretchen just saying, “yes”, she repeated what she had told you which was if you could leave the room before 3pm, it would be refunded. This was because our housekeeping staff was still on property then and would have enough time to clean the room and allow us at least the chance of selling it that night. Because Gretchen didn’t just say “yes”, our front desk agent took it literally, and denied the refund because you were leaving at 3:45pm. This clearly should not have happened. We’re not such sticklers about these things at the Magic Castle Hotel. I wish our front desk agent had gone back to Gretchen, or you would have requested to speak with her at the time, and it would have been cleared up. Gretchen feels so terrible about this and she had nothing but very nice things to say about you. She really wanted to this for you. We of course are still going to honor a refund, so please contact me directly at darren@magiccastlehotel.com and we’ll get it going.
With regard to our staff member making you feel the way he did, I’m so sorry. I can tell you this is completely inconsistent of how we are as a company and this situation is being handled.
One more item, just to make it clear for any readers out there. You indicate that our official check out time is 3:00pm, it is not. Our check out time is at 11:00am. If possible, we can sometimes offer later check outs depending of the day of business.
Again, my apologies on how this situation really just broke down on our end. It’s extremely rare that it happens and I’m sincerely sorry.
I look forward to hearing from you soon so we can make this right.

Sincerely
Darren Ross
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Such a great place to stay while in L.A. The rooms are extra large: we had 2 queen beds in one room and a large sofa bed in the lounge, as well as a kitchen and bathroom. Great location - one block from Hollywood Blvd (if that's what you like) and a metro station (one station to Universal Studios), parking onsite and easy access to everything in L.A. The front-of-house staff are great, particularly Kevin and Mallory, who seemed to be on duty most days we were there. Cool drinks on arrival; no question too hard or too absurd; complimentary breakfast daily; bottomless complimentary snacks; same-day laundry done free and returned wrapped in brown paper and string with a sprig of lavender; lovely cool water in the foyer to quench a thirsty traveller's thirst after a day out...the list goes on! Gretchen even offered to organize to get groceries in for us, as we were staying a week. The sparkling swimming pool is central to the hotel, an excellent place to sit and savour the wonderful breakfast pastries. It is clean and everything is in good working order (well, one of our a/c's wasn't, but was being looked into). We took up the offer of entry into the Magic Castle Club (next door) which is only open to members, unless you happen to be staying at the hotel - what a marvelous experience! Like nothing we've ever done before - dinner was absolutely delicious, and then we saw several magic shows which still have us confounded. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies overlooking the sparkling pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel on my honeymoon with my husband and 3 year old son. The location of the hotel is perfect just one street away from the Hollywood Walk of Fame. The staff at this hotel totally make the stay! They were so friendly from day one until the day we left. The staff offered us complimentary snacks whenever we required and even offered to go to the store for anything we needed complimentary again of the hotel. We arrived to a lovely card, wine and cake for our honeymoon too. The room was very clean and comfortable. There was a very wide range for breakfast too. I will definitely be going back and also recommending to all I know.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Jenna198787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The building is an old Hollywood Hills apartment building converted into a hotel about 30 years ago. Apparently they were originally very large two bedroom apartments which have been split into one very small room, and a large suite. The suites contain cooking facilities which is nice if you play to stay for a while. The rooms are not well insulated for sound so quite a bit of noise from the adjacent room/s

The staff was friendly, super accommodating, helpful, all around nice people. Their attitude was enough to override the negative factors which I mention below.

But be aware this is not a 5 star establishment, the single rooms are small, sparely furnished, a bit of mold in the shower. In our room the clock radio could not be set as an alarm despite our best efforts, the telephone was not functional. Hence the front desk had to arrange for someone to come up to the room for wake up call. Which they did exactly on time. I glanced through the door of one of the suites as I walked down to pick up breakfast for my wife and me, they appear well kept, and frankly rather spacious.

They serve a continental breakfast, plenty of food, good coffee, nothing too fancy but adequate and filling. If you are from Aus. they have Marmite for your toast or muffins.

Self-parking is available for $11.00 a night and since street parking is virtually non-existent it is a must if you are driving. They are associated with Yamashiro Restaurant and can make reservations there for you and provide shuttle service up to and back from the restaurant. Very friendly, cooperative and helpful driver who doubles at the night maintenance staff person. The price for the single room we had was reasonable, not a bargain but certainly not highway robbery in a city noted for that practice.

There is a restaurant on site which we did not use, apparently it is very highly rated, but with a requirement for formal (tuxedo I presume) dress. See the restaurant reviews for details, as we did not use it.

Room Tip: Book a suite if you can and the single rooms are "tight".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ted C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed at the Magic Castle for two nights late March '14 and couldn't have been happier with the experience. We arrived after a long flight right in the middle of the breakfast rush but we were made to feel very welcome and shown every courtesy. The hotel is so close to tourist sights you can walk most places. Our room was quite small but fine for us. The breakfasts by the pool were excellent and the staff were really wonderful.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Vicki J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

From the 1950’s neon yellow exterior, one would not expect to find such a relaxing and wonderful inn on the interior. On the same parcel as the famed Magic Castle, this small hotel is a terrific find in the middle of Tinsel Town. Located a block from the Roosevelt Hotel, Grahmns Chinese Theater, Madame Tussaud’s Wax Museum, and the Stars Walk of Fame on Hollywood Boulevard, the Magic Hotel has very clean, simply furnished rooms, super comfy beds, quiet rooms without street noise, plus a staff that aims to please. Our party of four booked room 106, a two bedroom/two bath suite with a full kitchen and living room to celebrate an anniversary. A bottle of wine, a cake, and card awaited us upon our arrival as well as a list of complimentary snacks available at the front desk. Rose petals adorned the bed of the anniversary couple-very sweet. WiFi is included, however there is a $12 parking fee. A substantial continental breakfast is included in the room rate consisting of juices, coffee, tea, cereals, croissants, breads, yogurt, and fruit. The heated pool is open 24 hours and is a great way to unwind after walking the streets of Hollywood. Nicola and all the people working at the hotel are super friendly and offer the best customer service you’ll experience at any hotel, thus a 5 STAR rating. It’s small and not fancy but filled with a happy star-studded ambiance. We loved our stay and will definitely be back again to book an evening at the Magic Castle to enjoy the magic shows and food.

Room Tip: For a party of four book room #106 which is 2 bed/2 bath with kitchen/LR. Roomy and quiet next to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StarLady99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager, General Manager at Magic Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Wow....thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review. I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed it. Please come back and make it a tradition to celebrate your anniversary with us!

Sincerely,
Darren Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#15 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,100 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#5 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,285 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#22 of 355 in Los Angeles
3,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#20 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,188 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 355 in Los Angeles
824 reviews
Westside
Hotel Bel-Air
Hotel Bel-Air
#1 of 355 in Los Angeles
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Castle Hotel

Address: 7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-8603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £163 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magic Castle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Hollywood Walk of Fame, and the Hollywood/Highland Center. We feature mostly very large One-Bedroom Suites. We also have smaller "Single" rooms, which are great for short stays and we have Two-Bedroom suites that sleep up to six people. All suites have a full kitchen, dining area, living room with pull-out sofa, and either one or two private bedrooms. We don't just talk about amazing guest service...we live it. Come and experience a truly unique and independent hotel. Enjoy the complimentary snacks available 24 hours a day, complimentary breakfast, and complimentary WiFi. Turndown service every night, and a newspaper delivered to your door each morning. Also enjoy access to the private club, The Magic Castle. There are age and dress code restrictions, so please ask us about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Magic Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Castle Los Angeles
Hotel Magic Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing