We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, ideal location”
Review of Magic Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Magic Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 352 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights and was not disappointed. The hotel was very clean and beds comfy. It has a great location, only minutes from all the shops and restaurants. The swimming pool was an added bonus where we had our breakfast each morning. We were made very welcome and the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debs1925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,097)
There are newer reviews for Magic Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,196 - 1,202 of 3,097 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

Brought the wife, daughter and daughter-in law out for a few days of retail therapy. The staff at the Magic Castle could not have been better. The rooms are more like an apartment with large bathrooms, kitchen, and dining area. The magic show and dinner were delightful and better than anticipated. Thanks Magic Castle. Look forward to returning soon!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here with another couple and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The customer service in this hotel is the best I have ever come across. The facilities are fantastic - pool open 24/7, included breakfast and all day snacks, free laundry service and free movie rental. They were extremely accommodating with all of our requests and even allowed us a late checkout for free. Wish that we could have stayed longer. Would definitely recommend this place to anyone travelling to the Hollywood area and would go back again and again!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank kirp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Could not recommend this hotel more highly, neither could the kids! This place takes kid friendly to a whole new level. The staff are the most helpful and friendly hotel staff have every come across - they are genuinely interested in making your stay special and go above an beyond - icy poles delivered to the pool, free snacks on demand, free breakfast, complementary laundry service, 'magic bag' gifts in the room, toys at breakfast - simply astounding. We are checking out tomorrow and the kids don't want to. In addition to this, the rooms are large, spotless and well appointed. The location is excellent - a very short walk to Hollywood Boulevard and close to Sunset Boulevard. Would recommend and will return. Thank you to the awesome staff - keep up the great work!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anita2574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

My family and I stayed here for two nights whilst travelling down the west coast on the 8 & 9 April 2014. We have stayed at many five star hotels and this is up there with the best of them. You are greeted by staff with a smile who are genuinely pleased to see you and bend over backwards to make your stay as pleasing and rewarding as possible, nothing appears to be too much trouble.
Checking-in was quick and we were met with a nice soft drink served in a flute, we were immediately offered a variety of snacks and drinks which were free and in abundance for the duration of our stay.
The hotel is convienant lay located and is painted bright yellow and easy to find (more about this later).
The hotel has a secure underground car park which is accessible 24 hours and costs an additional $11 which is cheap considering the location.
Our room, a one bedroom suite was on the ground floor and easily accommodated the five of us with all out luggage and Knicks-knacks that we had accumulated during our arrival in the states.
The room had a small compact kitchen which include fridge, microwave, cooker and tea, coffee making condiments - for the boys reading this two large TV's receiving cable and sports channels - for the girls a large quantity of DVDs were available free of charge!
Breakfast is included in your stay and can be taken on the patio next to the pool and is enough to tide you over till lunch ( cereal, juice , toast, croissants , cake and fruit ).
Using this as a base you can access all parts of L A be aware of the traffic and allow plenty of time for your journeys. We found it easier to walk to Hollywood Bvd and the Chinese theatre also good location for pictures of the 'Hollywood' landmark.
Back to the hotel - the two delightful young girls on the reception were able to assist us with tours, maps and points of interests, nothing seemed too much trouble even the manager came out to speak and bid you a good day.
It won't be long before this place will be booking six months in advance so get in quick and you won't regret it it gets a full five stars from my family.........

Room Tip: Ground floor suite was exceptional value
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

What a great place to stay, close to everything with great staff who were extremely helpful. Rooms were large units with kitchen so you could cook yourself a meal if you wanted. Lite breakfast served each morning and free, yes free chocolates, sweets and drinks.
Highly Recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We were so welcomed to the hotel and the rooms were wonderful however we were flying out at 10pm so booked 1 room for a second night so our young son could rest before we left for the airport. We were told by Gretchen that if we left by 4-5pm to come and see them and they would be able to refund the room charge as they would be able to clean it and use it for another guest. She repeated definitely come and see them for a refund if we checked out early. Official check out time is 3pm. I attended the front dest to check out at 3.45pm and asked the man on the front counter he said no way and we had to pay the full fee. I explained what Gretchen had said and he said no way again. I then said I needed to pay for a bottle of water and also one call I had made. He snorted at me like I was an idiot for being honest about having used these things and wanting to pay for them. He made me feel like an idiot and this experienced really soured our whole experience at the Magic Castle Hotel. We went from thinking we would definitely stay there again and would recommend it to all of our friends to deciding we would not ever stay here again or recommend it. I wouldn't have asked about a refund if Gretchen hadn't been so insistent. A real shame that this one man's attitude ruined our experience here. Other than that the rooms were great and the rest of the staff couldn't be faulted.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nerida S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager, General Manager at Magic Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Nerida,

Your review of your experience with us was very concerning to me. I’ve talked to Gretchen about this situation, which she remembers quite clearly. She, with very good intentions and in good faith, was proactive in offering you some savings if you left for the airport by a certain time. This had to do with our specific flow of business that day. We are able to offer this at times for guests leaving on late flights. Gretchen remembers our staff member going back to her office and confirming this was ok to refund that last night to you. Instead of Gretchen just saying, “yes”, she repeated what she had told you which was if you could leave the room before 3pm, it would be refunded. This was because our housekeeping staff was still on property then and would have enough time to clean the room and allow us at least the chance of selling it that night. Because Gretchen didn’t just say “yes”, our front desk agent took it literally, and denied the refund because you were leaving at 3:45pm. This clearly should not have happened. We’re not such sticklers about these things at the Magic Castle Hotel. I wish our front desk agent had gone back to Gretchen, or you would have requested to speak with her at the time, and it would have been cleared up. Gretchen feels so terrible about this and she had nothing but very nice things to say about you. She really wanted to this for you. We of course are still going to honor a refund, so please contact me directly at darren@magiccastlehotel.com and we’ll get it going.
With regard to our staff member making you feel the way he did, I’m so sorry. I can tell you this is completely inconsistent of how we are as a company and this situation is being handled.
One more item, just to make it clear for any readers out there. You indicate that our official check out time is 3:00pm, it is not. Our check out time is at 11:00am. If possible, we can sometimes offer later check outs depending of the day of business.
Again, my apologies on how this situation really just broke down on our end. It’s extremely rare that it happens and I’m sincerely sorry.
I look forward to hearing from you soon so we can make this right.

Sincerely
Darren Ross
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#4 of 352 in Los Angeles
2,167 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#20 of 352 in Los Angeles
3,749 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#17 of 352 in Los Angeles
1,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#19 of 352 in Los Angeles
2,150 reviews
The Garland
#14 of 352 in Los Angeles
3,083 reviews
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Castle Hotel

Address: 7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-8603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £166 - £334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magic Castle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Hollywood Walk of Fame, and the Hollywood/Highland Center. We feature mostly very large One-Bedroom Suites. We also have smaller "Single" rooms, which are great for short stays and we have Two-Bedroom suites that sleep up to six people. All suites have a full kitchen, dining area, living room with pull-out sofa, and either one or two private bedrooms. We don't just talk about amazing guest service...we live it. Come and experience a truly unique and independent hotel. Enjoy the complimentary snacks available 24 hours a day, complimentary breakfast, and complimentary WiFi. Turndown service every night, and a newspaper delivered to your door each morning. Also enjoy access to the private club, The Magic Castle. There are age and dress code restrictions, so please ask us about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Magic Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Castle Los Angeles
Hotel Magic Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing